Backup image size before and after HDD optimisation

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by Grasmith, Mar 29, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Grasmith

Grasmith Registered Member

Hi folks

The following is a bit long-winded I'm afraid.

I have been using Drive Backup 9 Pro for approx 2 yrs to image my HDD on a weekly schedule.

Over the weekend, I decided to do a complete "spring clean" of the drive:- remove temp files, cull the registry and consolidate free space/defrag.
    It is the first time that I have done this in the 2.5 yrs of ownership of my notebook.

"CCleaner" presented me with 200 lines of redundant registry entries, and approx 6GB of temp files!

So, backed up Hdd (image file size 62GB) and "killed" the lot.
    Rebooted to make sure I still had a viable m/c. Everything o.k

Used "MyDefrag" to optimise the drive then another backup to preserve it all.

It was the image size of this last b/up that caused the alarm bells to ring, it being reduced from the above mentioned 62GB to just 38GB.

Is there anybody out-there who can can either reassure me that the reduced image size is to be expected or that I do, in-fact, have a problem.

Thanks in advance.

2. Paragon_Tommy

Paragon_Tommy Paragon Moderator

Hello Grasmith,

Might be a good idea to do the full backup after accomplishing your "spring cleanup".

As a note, typically when you backup, the archive should only be the size of your data, not the partition size or its capacity. If you still think the report is in error, I would recommend running a check disk of the hard drive with /r parameter. With normal compression, archives should be around 80% of its original data size.

Finally, you can use the File Transfer Wizard under Tools to browse into your archive and sample the data. Double click the archive file and move any files you want to sample to the clipboard.

3. Grasmith

Thankyou for your reply, Paragon Tommy.