Backup delete

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Chroma, Nov 27, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chroma

    Chroma Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    I perform a FULL system and file backup at the end of each month. I back up to a 2nd HD exclusively for that purpose. I currently have 5 backup sets that are starting to eat my 2nd hard disk. I am unable to find any reference to deleting backup sets. Do I simply use normal Windows 'Delete' or ...what? While I usually jump in boots and all, in this instance, I am not willing to experiment in case I stuff my backups or Acronis' ability to recover a crash. Please advise and thanx!
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    The .TIB files are just regular files and can be deleted as such. Assuming you have named the files so you know the "set" names, there shouldn't be any problems deleting them.
     
  3. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    I am guessing that you have never run a restore of your system or files (data?). You have presumably created a TI rescue CD made sure it can see your drives. You may even have gone as far as the last page of the recovery screen but have not pressed the Proceed button. I was also very reluctant when I first started using TI. After all why take a risk testing a recovery if nothing is broken. OTOH testing through to completion in an entirely safe way can put your mind to rest and remove all doubts.

    Christmas is rapidly coming so add a replacement hard drive to your wish list. You will then have the basic equipment to restore in complete safely to the replacement drive. Swapping over drives is a bit of a chore but is a quite straightforward operation.

    The first time I did a real restore it was thrill and relief to see it really worked :thumb: . Now you may feel that changing over hard drives is inconvenient and why have a spare drive laying about doing nothing.
    For me the answer was to install a drive caddy fitment in a spare bay at the front of the PC tower. With a pair of drive drawers changing over drives becomes almost as easy as swapping CDs.
    The extra hard drive can now easily be updated by restoring the latest image to it.

    I actually added a third drive in a drawer to my collection. So I now have a stock of good full and tested images on a second internal hard drive and two ready to go main hard drives outside the computer.
    Any hard drive failure can be solved in minutes and even a rare image faliure is trivial to correct.

    I apologise for this long post and repeating this way of working but it really is the Bee's Knees.

    Xpilot
     
  4. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Drive drawers are how all drives should be mounted -- why should it be any harder tochange drives in this day and age?

    And besides the latest tech, I think it's neato that we're hip, now, today on this forum! ;-)


     
  5. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    Hey Shieber,
    What are you on... and can I have some?

    Xpilot
     
  6. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    It is worth repeating about the removable drive caddies ... don't know about the Bee's Knees though :D :D

    Later: Okay I consulted my Google Gods ... they agree ... it is the Bee's Knees. They also suggested Cat's Whiskers :D
     
  7. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Powdered bee knuckles; it's the cat's pajamas, man ;)

     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.