Backkup Locations ATI 2009 HOme

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by 62cwil, Feb 3, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 62cwil

    62cwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Posts:
    57
    After a months use I think I have this issue figured out but want to get opinions. Originally, I set up an Acronis directory with 3 sub directories. One for Image backups, one for email backups and one for file backups. As long as I make sure when I backup I browse to the right one it goes to the appropriate one. If I forget it goes to a directory in Acronis called My Backup . I also note if I go to manage files only the ones in My Backup showup and I can tell which ones they were because I had put a comment. In order to delete and older backup in one of the 3 files I had setup I literally have to go to explore and go to them. Am I correct to think the best way from a management standpoint is to always go to the My Backup directory as if I want to delete old files and do it from there.

    If this is the case I plan on deleting all older backups and starting over from beginning on backups.
     
  2. Faust

    Faust Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Posts:
    258
    You are just setting yourself up for a fall. What Acronis does really really well is full image backups and restores. Forget email backup this has always been a somewhat hit and miss application for Acronis. I would forget data too and just stick with full images. Storage is so cheap now there is little point bothering with separate backups, if anything goes wrong simply restore full image and within thirty minutes everything is back as it was at the last backup.
     
  3. robertpri

    robertpri Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Posts:
    43
    I was going to open a new thread, but this one seems right. My 17 day old AsusG50V was returned from asus tech. It made the trip because vista would not boot [again] so I used the ATI restore disk.

    Fine, it booted, but although it could 'see' my D data drive, it could not recognize any of the tib acronis backups that I had made.

    It also could not see my ext drive where two more backups were waiting.

    So, finally my question: just where should one have the image? I don't EVER want to go through a complete re-do again. Already done it three times!
     
  4. 62cwil

    62cwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Posts:
    57
    Faust, I understand what you are saying. I will take your advice on the file backups but not sure about email. For instance I am now using the new 9707 build I think it is and just last week I had a problem with my email working correctly so I crossed my fingers, closed my eyes and hit restore email and in min's it was done and I checked and my email was back working fine and have had no problems since. I guess what I am saying especially since I am a heavy email user and maintain several 300 + distribution lists for two clubs I am in I would rather not restore the entire image file if it was only email. Hope that makes sense and appreciate any feedback. *puppy*
     
  5. como

    como Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Posts:
    498
    Read the sticky at the top of the forum "PLEASE READ BEFORE YOU POST" and try the suggestions listed under "Problems with Acronis bootable rescue media or Acronis Startup Recovery Manager." If these suggestion don't help then contact Acronis Support on their Live Chat line.

    If your Linux based rescue disk cannot see your other drives where your images are stored then you will be unable to restore an image as restoring from Windows also uses the same Linux environment.

    The other suggestion is to make a BartPE or VistaPE disk which loads Windows
     
  6. como

    como Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Posts:
    498
    Why not try Microsoft Backup for Outlook?
     
  7. 62cwil

    62cwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Posts:
    57
    My preference is to use the same program
     
  8. Faust

    Faust Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Posts:
    258
    If you do a search you will find email backups work for some but do not work for many and even when they work for some they don't do so consistently. I can back up a full image in around 22 mins for 80 gig. I can restore the entire image if needed. I set scheduler to do full images backups and to delete on a FIFO basis after two backups and to two different locations. This ways I always have 4 full images spread across the week so everything is current. I assume you are only backing up email in case of disaster? My argument is why not do full images as they tend to be the most reliable backups. I have used email backup before and like you it worked fine or so I thought - what it failed to do was properly restore the archive folders. Fortunately I was able to copy my archive emails from the full image so was able to paste them back into the Outlook.
     
  9. 62cwil

    62cwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Posts:
    57
    By doing it that way can I mount an image and just extract the email stuff vs the entire image.
     
  10. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Yes. From an image archive, you can restore or recover single files or folders; or when image is mounted, you can copy/paste files from the mounted image into another location of your choice. I heartily concur with Faust about the need and ease of creating full disk images. Testing the function is the way to make your choice.

    Added:
    Many of us use other means to additionally backup our personal data. Even Windows copy/paste to another drive or DVD, or Karen's Replicator, etc. I would also seriously consider an alternate type backup for your email--something beside TI. Testing should be an important part of your intended recovery procedure. You should always have a Plan B should Plan A fail especially if you have files which would be difficult to replace.
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2009
  11. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    What version & build of TrueImage are you using?

    One of the required keys to recovering your system is a functional TrueImageHome Rescue CD. It is this CD which will enable you to restore your system either to its existing drive or to a new or larger disk. Your best chance of success when restoring the system drive is when booted from the Rescue CD.

    Once the TI Rescue CD is created, a very important next step is to boot from that TI Rescue CD to test its functions. Once booted, then to perform actual backups; validations; and actual restores to your old or another test disk.

    You may still be able to get your system restored but you will need to get your Rescue CD functioning. If using the most recent release 2009 build 9709, I suggest you contact Acronis support (via your registration page) and use the LiveChat feature to request a new download with different drivers. If using an older version prior to 2009, then I suggest you download the trial version of the latest build and see if that version will find your missing drives so you can recover your system archives.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.