backing up multiple drives with ifw

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Banshee, Jan 11, 2015.

  1. Banshee

    Banshee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    543
    I just started trialing image for windows. I would like to back up 2 (or more ) drives at the same time.I checked the TBU forums and also the knowledge base there and it does look like I need to use scripts to do what I want.
    I read this http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/kb/article.php?id=295 but I'm not any wiser.

    Is there any easier way to do multiple backups without messing with scripts ? If not, fool-proof instructions on how to back up 2 drives in one go would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Banshee,

    I saw your thread in the TeraByte forum and you don't have to use the Profile.cmd method. Let IFW create your scripts and then use a Call script. I think it is easy. Need help?
     
  3. Banshee

    Banshee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    543
    Brian K,

    That was actually not my thread but I would sure need some help. I let ifw create my scripts and saved them and they look like so:


    I named the first c.bat -> start "" "C:\Program Files (x86)\TeraByte Unlimited\Image for Windows\V2\imagew.exe" /b /d:w0@0x1 /f:"E:\Backup-w0-0x1-$~YYYY$-$~MM$-$~DD$-$~HHMM$" /comp:14
    I named the second d.bat -> start "" "C:\Program Files (x86)\TeraByte Unlimited\Image for Windows\V2\imagew.exe" /b /d:w2@0x152 /f:"E:\Backup-w2-0x152-$~YYYY$-$~MM$-$~DD$-$~HHMM$" /comp:14


    How would I create a script ( a call script ?) that calls the above scripts in succession ? First c.bat and when ifw is done d.bat ?


    Thanks a bunch.
     
  4. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Banshee,

    Change the name of the following folder to your preference. Create E:\scripts. Put both of your above batch files in the folder. In the folder create a batch file named call2.cmd. In call2.cmd type the following code and Save.

    Code:
    @Echo off & cls & setlocal
    call "E:\scripts\c.bat"
    call "E:\scripts\d.bat"
    :: End of script
    Right click each of your batch files and click Edit. Remove Start "" (can't have these in a called batch file). Also, add the /uy switch. You should have...

    "C:\Program Files (x86)\TeraByte Unlimited\Image for Windows\V2\imagew.exe" /b /uy /d:w0@0x1 /f:"E:\Backup-w0-0x1-$~YYYY$-$~MM$-$~DD$-$~HHMM$" /comp:14

    "C:\Program Files (x86)\TeraByte Unlimited\Image for Windows\V2\imagew.exe" /b /uy /d:w2@0x152 /f:"E:\Backup-w2-0x152-$~YYYY$-$~MM$-$~DD$-$~HHMM$" /comp:14

    Done. Right click call2.cmd and click Run as Administrator. If you like, you can schedule call2.cmd. It can run completely invisible if you wish.

    If E:\ is not a USB HD and you have Win8 I'd add this switch to the end of each batch file.

    /nousbpwrfix

    It makes IFW start 10 seconds faster in Win8.
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2015
  5. Banshee

    Banshee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    543
    Off to try this.Thanks for your help ! Will report back.
     
  6. Banshee

    Banshee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    543
    Brian, it works a treat thanks a ton !!
     
  7. Banshee

    Banshee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    543
    [QUOTE="Brian K, post: 2446429, member: 28538"

    If you like, you can schedule call2.cmd. It can run completely invisible if you wish.

    [/QUOTE]

    How do i get it to run invisible ? thx
     
  8. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Excellent.

    To make it run invisible, schedule call2.cmd and put a dot in "Run whether user is logged on or not". You see nothing. No command window or IFW GUI.
     
  9. Banshee

    Banshee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    543
    Nice, thank you. One more question. Would it be possible to have ifw restore those very same images unattended ? That is Restore C, reboot, restore d, reboot/shut down ? I think i read it is also possible to have ccleaner clean up temp files and all that before backing up/restoring.

    Thanks again (and again)for your help Brian.
     
  10. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Sure. Numerous ways.

    If you have BIBM you can use BootNow to run a script in an IFW, IFD or IFL partition. Can be scheduled.

    You can setup a USB Flash drive to run an auto restore script. (any of the 3 apps)

    You can create a bootfile to run an auto restore. (any of the 3 apps). I've been using this lately in a UEFI system. Double click and walk away.
    The bootfile method can be scheduled.

    http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/howto/howto-ifl-bootfile.htm

    http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/howto/tbwinre_tutorial.htm

    You only need a single script to run both restores, one after the other, same session.

    For backups, you can call a Ccleaner script before the backups.
     
  11. Banshee

    Banshee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    543


    Brian,

    I got to and completed step 6 and now I'm stuck. :confused:

    Thanks
     
  12. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Banshee,

    For the time being, ignore steps 7, 8 and 9. More later.

    In step 10, double click setupifl.bat. Don't run it as an Administrator. This will create 3 files in C:\ILBOOT. Run run_ifl.bat as an Administrator. Your computer will restart into IFL.
     
  13. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Once you are happy the bootfile method works we can set about creating your restore scripts.
     
  14. Banshee

    Banshee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    543
    I have done this. double clicked on setupifl.bat without running it as an admin. all was good. The min I ran run_ifl.bat as an admin my computer restarted into IFL but my screen showed only the following:

    -------------
    Syslinux 4.03 2010-1'-22 edd copyright 1991-2010 H peter.....

    ERROR: No configuration file found
    No DEFAULT or Ui configuration directive found!
    Boot:

    --------------


    I had to restore an image.
     
  15. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Banshee,

    I don't know. I suggest you post the above details in the TeraByte forum.
     
Loading...