Backing up from external USB 2.0 Hard Drive

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by au701948, Jan 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. au701948

au701948 Registered Member

I am just beginning to use True Image 10 and wanted to verify a few items:

1) If I had to boot using the Acronis system disk, would it put me in an environment that will automatically support my external 2.0 USB drive, where my backup will be located?
    2) Are the Recovery instructions fairly straight forward?

Sometimes this kind of answer is difficult to get clearly when trying to read a 95 page User Manual onscreen.

Thanks

2. seekforever

seekforever Registered Member

Your USB drive should be supported from the recovery CD. However, every now and then there is a model that doesn't work properly or suffers from poor performance. These problems are usually due to a poor driver on the recovery CD which is Linux-based.

If this happens, you can contact Acronis and they may be able to provide you with a .iso image of the recovery CD with a better driver. The other option is to create a BartPE disk which is Windows-based and contains good drivers.

If you aren't familiar with BartPE do a Google search on it and have a look at this thread:

https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=162424

The chances that your USB drive will work with no problem is quite good but I mentioned the options just in case.