Backing up data stored on an NAS

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by hustiniano, Nov 12, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hustiniano

    hustiniano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    Hi
    I have just bought Acronis True Image so I can backup all teh data I have stored on my howm metwork - all stored on an NAS. But when I use the program, it does not seem to give me the option of doing a disck image on anythong other than my c drive. It allows me to do file backups of data on my NAS, but not a disc image. File backups take forever, and I bought Trueimage as I thought it would be quicker to back up thsi way.

    Please help
    Thanks
     
  2. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    I don't have a NAS but I think your problem is that TI Home is able to do image backups from a local disk. You can store your image and restore it from a remote disk but you can't image the remote disk.

    TI, I think, is considering your device as not belonging (in the local sense) to your computer.

    I don't know if TI Workstation gets around this problem assuming my analysis is correct.
     
  3. Unit01

    Unit01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Posts:
    59
    Seek is fairly well on the money.

    Because NAS is Network Attached Storage, its connected to the network, not to your actual PC, thus your PC does not have direct access to the disk IO controllers (Only the NAS interface), it can't send / receieve the required information to read the sectors to do the disk image.

    Thus file / folder backup only.

    Workstation will certainly let you backup to a NAS deice (as you've found with home) however because of the same paragraph above, you'll encounter the same thing.
     
  4. hustiniano

    hustiniano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    Many thanks for the replies - disappointing though they are. I guess I was misled about what the software could do

    Thanks again
     
  5. Logger

    Logger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Posts:
    17
    The TI "Differential Backup" option works reasonably quickly with my NAS box. I have 4 PCs set to do this automatically once a week.

    My NAS has the ability (which I have not used) to directly connect to the PCs NIC instead of via a switch/router. I don't suppose this would make a difference because the NAS drives would still appear as Networked rather than local. and even if it did, it would sort of defeat the purpose of having a NAS.

    Still, the TI/NAS solution works well enough for me.

     
  6. Ozmaniac

    Ozmaniac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Posts:
    254
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Seek Forever is correct.
    The True Image Home products (8.0, 9.0 and 10) all have only local imaging. You can store images elsewhere on the network and you can retrieve them from there, but you can't create an image of anything other than a local drive.

    True Image 9.1 Workstation does have the ability to image a NAS or a remote PC. You must have a license for each PC that is being imaged i.e. you can't create an image of PC #1 and PC #2 on a single license.:cool:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.