Backing up Admin settings

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by 1006, Aug 4, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 1006

1006 Registered Member

Hi Guys,

Im new to Acronis and i would like to know if its possible to create an image or a backup of my administrative settings such as active directory, dhcp. dns etc. Or if possible just an image of the operating system with all the settings excluding the data.

Thanks Guys!

2. 1006

1006 Registered Member

any help guys?

3. Acronis Support

Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

Hello 1006,

Thank you for your interest in Acronis Disk Backup Software.

Please accept our apologies for the delay with the response.

I'm afraid that none of the currently available Acronis True Image versions is capable of backing up applications settings separately. The current versions of Acronis True Image do not allow one to backup Windows settings excluding the data files either. The ability to backup applications is going to be implemented in the future Acronis True Image versions, but exact time frame for this is not decided yet. At the moment, Acronis True Image allows one to create two types of backups: disk\partition images and file-based backups. In order to be able to restore your system to a working\bootable state we recommend creating disk\partition image of the entire hard drive. You can also backup your system partition separately if there are no dependencies between this partition and other partitions, i.e. there are no applications installed on another partitions or system files located on another partitions. Otherwise, operating system may not function properly after the restore. We therefore recommend keeping Windows along with all it's system\configuration files and applications installed on a system partition. In this case you will be able to backup system partition only decreasing the size of the resulting backup archive in such a way.