BackDoor.optix.BL

Discussion in 'Trojan Defence Suite' started by walnut, Apr 27, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. walnut

    walnut Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Posts:
    1
    I have question avg found a virus on my system called BackDoor.optix.BL when it deleted it I keep getting a error on my system evertime I start up saying c:\windows\servet32.exe will not load. I can not pull up task manager or half the other programs I get. I can not restore to an earlier date. is there anything I can do without having to reload the system ?
     
  2. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Hi Walnut, welcome; What did TDS find for you in the meantime?

    If the nasty is still on your system please submit to submit@diamondcs.com.au to make sure it was really what AVG said it is.

    Maybe you can try to run the spybotS&D with the registry repairs
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=15913
    or first the hijackthis from this link and we might be able to see first if there is anything in the autostart what needs correction.
     
  3. Gavin - DiamondCS

    Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
  4. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    What kind of registry cleanser is that Gavin? Especially for this case or is it for more occasions? (always good to know so we might be able to help more users with that)
     
  5. Gavin - DiamondCS

    Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    This just resets the associations for .EXE .COM .BAT etc since SubSeven 2.2, Optix Pro and a few others replace

    * %1

    with

    * %1 trojan.exe

    so that both the EXE you clicked, AND trojan.exe run every time you run the EXE (or COM, BAT, etc)
     
  6. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Thanks to let us know Gavin, so a new one for our first aid tool kit.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.