Back-up stops before it finishes

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by PortVista, Sep 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PortVista

    PortVista Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Posts:
    16
    I'm on Vista 64, latest TI build. Every time I try to back up files it stops about 1/3 the way through. Cancelling doesn't cancel. It keeps trying to run, although there is no disk activity. It's just stuck. Sometimes I can remove the folder it got stuck on and it will continue a little further.

    The only way I can do a back-up is to do a full image backup. Is this common? I remember having issues the last time I tried TI. I'm trying to back-up a folder about 30GB and 10,000 files. Is that too much for TI? Is there another software package available that works? I doubt I can really trust any Acronis product...
     
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Run chkdsk /r on the drive and try again. You have the latest build of what version?
     
  3. PortVista

    PortVista Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Posts:
    16
    Thanks I'll try that and post my results. I was thinking of defraging, but you're right chkdsk is what I want to do. It's Home 11.8101
     
  4. PortVista

    PortVista Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Posts:
    16
    The Chkdsk didn't make it work. Any other ideas?
     
  5. BlackJack3

    BlackJack3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    I have the exact same issue on Vista 64 bit. It let me back up an entire disk but when trying to back up 20 or so GB or music files it hangs up randomly at some point during the backup process. I have to restart my PC to get TI running correctly again.

    I'm wondering if it's a 64 bit issue.
     
  6. WineGuy

    WineGuy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Posts:
    19
    I've had what sounds to be a similar problem, running on Vista32. I've been trying unsuccessfully to get resolution for two months. You might want to look at the additional detail of my problem, as I've spent these weeks in resreating / gathing data / sending to tech support:

    WineGuy

    Recap of my ATI v11 problem:

    I am just trying to make a large (roughly 300MB) new full 'My Data' backup. True Image Home v11 is installed on my Windows Vista 32 machine. I am trying to back up data from my normal internal HDDs to a USB connected external 1TB HDD.

    I follow the wizard along the "My Data" path for a 'new full backup' to an Acronis Backup Location only limit set is 800MB max size) that I have set up on the external HDD and things begin well. However, after about two hours (never stopping exactly on the same files or %, but roughly at just over 100MB being backed up), the system pops up C++ Runtime error windows (blank/empty) and True Image locks. When the C++ windows are closed, Vista says that it must stop the ATI program.

    True Image has stored a .TIB file, but all attempts to access the file yeilds a message that "An error occurred when opening the bacup archive. Cannot continue the operation due to either the backup is corrupted or..." The Event Log almost always has no error message noted (just stops after a "Create Full Backup..." informational message. I know of no way to further debug the problem.

    I've tried some smaller 'Data' backups; they all complete correctly. A system image backup also completes successfully (roughly 150MB). I even used Vista Backup as a test, and it completed successfully (standard data, not Premium image). I've tried dozen of variations in selecting the data: by 'type' (music, image, etc.), by location (drive D:, etc), etc.; all fail in the same way. Any assistance would be much appreciated.


    Discussion on my posts at: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=214381
     
  7. PortVista

    PortVista Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Posts:
    16
    BlackJack and WiseGuy, just confirming with you -- but to add -- I've been using TI since version 10, running on XP and Vista32 and Vista64 and on various different hardware, usually just backing up to another SATA drive in the same machine, but also to network drives occasionally. None of that matters.

    As you've experienced, a full image works fine, while choosing a folder usually fails. It appears the background thread that is doing the back-up crashes at some point, where there is a greater chance of it crashing the larger the back-up, such as 20+ GB. Smaller back-ups tend to work.

    So seeing is how this is a 2 year old problem, is there software out there that can accomplish this reliably? Norton claims to do this...
     
  8. WineGuy

    WineGuy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Posts:
    19
    PortVista,

    After reading your post (about this being a two year old problem) and realizing that today was the two-month anniversary of my purchase of ATI v11, during which time I have not been able to back up my system, I got frustrated. I'd simply had enough with nonfunctional software and no-help support. I had to go up to a local store for a part, and while I was there, I asked around about backup products. I purchased (somewhat on impulse, which I seldom do) a copy of Norton Ghost v14 that was recommended. I came home, had the software installed and making exactly the backups I needed in no time (making no claims that it will work for you). Following that, I used the first Acronis software which seemed to have worked properly for me, the Removal Utility. I finished that up by opening a new service request, asking for a refund; we'll see how successful I am with that ;-)

    WineGuy
     
  9. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Bummer. I don't think they will give refunds beyond 30 dyas and those, supposedly, are like pulling teeth.
     
  10. PortVista

    PortVista Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Posts:
    16
    I will give Norton a try. I never liked any of Norton software though...
     
  11. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    There are other alternatives that might suit.

    Paragon -- Shadow Protect -- others -- even ATI 12, when it's released might be a worthy candidate depending on whether it's a fixed ATI11 and put on a new dress or the same old broken ATI11 in a new dress.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.