B1143 and Acer_F1_Intel_ChipSet 30hour restoring??

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by flemse, May 31, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. flemse

    flemse Guest

    This problem is comming back; Long restore time; I using the rescue cd!

    Regards
    Flemming
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello flemse,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please accept our apologies for your inconvenience. You have the new system, it is possible that our drivers are not optimized for you. We will resolve this problem in the next build.

    Thank you.
    --
    Irina Shirokova
     
  3. Flemse

    Flemse Guest

    The long restore time is not in the old Version 9xx, why is this problems comming back?

    //Flemse
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Flemse,

    Since there was no problems with some particular build could you please let us know what build that was? Also please let us know your full hardware specification. Some drivers may have been changed to optimize the performance on other hardware but they may be not optimized for your particular system. Once you provide us with the information about your hardware we will be able to discuss the problem in more specific terms.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  5. iflyprivate

    iflyprivate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Posts:
    125
    I apologize if this comment sounds like Acronis bashing. It's not meant to be.

    It IS meant to be a reminder to Acronis of the kinds of problems we users face along with our continued hope that Acronis finds the proper path to satisfying the majority of users' needs.

    Unfortunately, Acronis has inadvertently established a track record of fixing one bug and breaking something that previously worked.

    That is what I hope they do not do in the future. The apparent Acronis desire to be all to everyone in one product drives them to hastily release product patches they call builds.

    As I said before, TrueImage 8 does some things extremely well, most things fairly well and too many things poorly. It's a beta product in every sense and that's a shame in my opinion because it places such an unexpected burden on the user.

    I believe that if Acronis focused their efforts on optimizing TI8 for the majority of popular hardware & software platforms and actually tested their product before releasing these patched builds then Acronis would have a more reliable and valuable product.

    I don't know what the best path would be for Acronis to follow to attempt to include every user's configuration in an all-in-one TI8 product version as they seem to be trying to do.

    But I do know from experience that what Acronis is doing is not working either for them or for their many frustrated and disappointed users who report problems in these threads.

    Worst of all is Acronis' pervasive practice of sending individualized email solutions to users who report problems in these threads. That practice is a slap in the face to all who follow these discussions and is a tremendous disservice to all of us who may experience similar problems in the future.
     
  6. Flemse

    Flemse Guest

    The problem is that restoring ACER F1 trake more than 30 h with version 8 b 1143.

    Please look in to the version 8 b 935 because this is working!!!

    Regards
    Flemse
     
  7. iflyprivate

    iflyprivate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Posts:
    125
    Adding to the confusion........

    I have build 826 installed on my hard drive and also created the rescue CD.

    If I try to create/restore an image with the rescue CD it takes hours. I can complete the same task from the hard drive under Windows in 5-6 minutes.

    1) Why does the full rescue CD have different/missing/un-optimized drivers while the hard drive installed version is complete?

    2) Isn't creating a FULL version of the rescue CD supposed to be the same as the installed program?

    My hardware: Dell Inspiron 6000d laptop, Pentium 4 760 2GHz, Windows XP.

    Acronis, what am I missing here?
     
  8. beenthereb4

    beenthereb4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    568
    As you know, the boot CD is Linux - completely different operating system and drivers- however, this sounds like a perfect candidate for the BartPE plugin. Then you can load and use the Windows drivers.
     
  9. iflyprivate

    iflyprivate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Posts:
    125
    Good suggestion for me, thanks. My limited tech knowledge doesn't always lead me to experiment with the obvious. I'll try it and report back.
     
  10. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello iflyprivate,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    The drivers for Windows are created by the device manufacturer usually. Some devices are able to work with Windows drivers, however. You may have seen that, for example, when you install Windows on the computer with modern videocard the only possible resolution is 800x600 and the refresh rate is 60Hz. After you install the driver that is provided with the videocard by the manufacturer you obtain much higher performance. This happens because Windows has only simple video driver that works with all videocards.

    The similar situation takes place with Acronis True Image. It contains drivers that suits most of hardware so that you will be able to restore the image to as much types of hard drives as possible. But in case of Acronis True Image we often need to write drivers ourselves because there is no open source drivers for the particular device that we can add to the CD. Acronis Development Team is constantly improving the drivers especially those for the latest hardware so that our customers could use modern computers with our software.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.