[B&R 15 Home] Archive not added to database

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by Samoreen, Feb 23, 2015.

  1. Samoreen

    Samoreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    Posts:
    19
    Location:
    Samoreau, France
    [Using Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate]

    Hi,

    I have setup a daily incremental backup of disk C using the Retention Wizard for VD. Sometimes, the PC is not running at the time when the incremental backup is scheduled. So in that case, I run the script manually later, from the Schedule panel. In that case, the newly created archive is not automatically added to the Archives database. I have to add it manually.

    IMHO, this is not the expected behavior and I consider this as a bug. The script should always do the same job, be it launched by the Windows scheduler or manually.
     
  2. sunrisecc

    sunrisecc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Posts:
    74
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Whenever I run my job manually, I always just add the archive to the list manually.

    This has been true for B&R 14 and before.

    Previously I opened a ticket and nothing ensued. There may even be a topic here for the same problem.
     
  3. Samoreen

    Samoreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    Posts:
    19
    Location:
    Samoreau, France
    Thanks Seymour.

    I will open a ticket too.
     
  4. Samoreen

    Samoreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    Posts:
    19
    Location:
    Samoreau, France
    Hi,

    Here is the answer from the support. This should solve the problem for me, assuming I'm understanding the message correctly..

    There is an option to set the task to run as soon as possible in Windows Scheduler in case if it didn’t run in time. In case if you run it manually – this a completely differs from script operation and it is blocked with HDM. In case if you want to add this operation to database it’s required to press F5 after the script finished manual operation and this will update database.
     
  5. sunrisecc

    sunrisecc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Posts:
    74
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Thank you. I didn't know about the F5 will update the database.
    Again thank you.
     
  6. Samoreen

    Samoreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    Posts:
    19
    Location:
    Samoreau, France
    > There is an option to set the task to run as soon as possible in Windows Scheduler

    Note that this option is only available in Windows 7 when the task has been re-configured for Windows 7. When Paragon B&R creates the task, it should take the Windows version into account. By the way, a backup program like Paragon B&R should not rely on the Windows scheduler. It should implement its own scheduling service and allow setting advanced options directly from the program. It's rather ridiculous.
     
  7. sunrisecc

    sunrisecc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Posts:
    74
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    I finally had a real occasion to try the F5 trick just now. It works.
     
Loading...