AX64/Realcopy - Image Backup - General Discussion

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by wajamus, Nov 25, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,235

    This is a known issue and it affects some PC configurations (it might just be an issue with some XP systems but I am not sure about this). It has to do with USB ports in some way so if you have a PS2 mouse you can use it to do the restore using it.

    I am sorry I cannot be more definitive about this as I have not paid too much attention to the discussion in the AX64 thread on this issue as it does not affect me,,,,,,, the part about the PS2 mouse I am certain of so it would be a solution for you until the issue is resolved by the developers.
     
  2. ijskonijn

    ijskonijn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Posts:
    19
    I've got no ps2 mouse. In the past I've tried Shadowprotect, IFL, ... Never had problems with the mouse. I don't want to buy a new mouse, the minimum you would expect is a working mouse....
     
  3. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,235
    The mouse works for most folks but with some PC configurations the mouse fails. The developers are working hard to resolve the issue and perhaps submitting a support ticket and providing the logs they ask for will help them solve the problem.

    Perhaps you could borrow a PS2 mouse. I wish I could offer more in the way of assistance at the moment but........
     
  4. mxyzptlk

    mxyzptlk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Posts:
    150
    Location:
    Indonesia
    Does keyboard navigation work in the recovery environment?
    I'm sorry I didn't try it myself, but I believe it's a recommended practice for any software.
    If it does, then at least you can navigate yourself there. It can't beat the mouse, but for the time being you can still use the environment.
    If it doesn't, then I think this is the time to suggest this to the developers. It shouldn't be that much difficult.
     
  5. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,466
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Good morning, your Impness...

    Looks like they missed the recommendation... tried everything under the sun, to no real avail.

    I really do SECOND this motion (and will ask for the feature). There are clearly defined keyboard equivalents for an MDI (multiple document interface and they should be available. Right now there's no way to "maneuver" among the 3-panes in the browser and I couldn't really get to the MENU bar with all the active keys.
     
  6. wajamus

    wajamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Posts:
    321
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi Guys,

    We will be looking into the keyboard recommendation, this no mouse issue is a high priority.

    Thanks guys.

    Regards,

    Waj

     
  7. mxyzptlk

    mxyzptlk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Posts:
    150
    Location:
    Indonesia
    Good evening, Mr Frog
    (Hope I got this correctly, I think my morning is your night :) )

    Aren't we glad that our suggestion was approved so readily :cool:
     
  8. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,466
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Good job on clock management, Imp of the East. Of course the last time I was in your neighborhood (Bali and the Kimodo Islands), I couldn't tell day from night for about 2-days!

    Yuppers! I only wish they were just as fast concerning the bathroom request for this forum. :gack:
     
  9. concuncon

    concuncon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2013
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    United States
    I also agree with keyboard navigation. Well it's even better with a simple recovery environment with only keyboard menu choices (up up down down), less headache and mistakes can be made. I've had some instances in the past where some software couldn't display properly on the screen, but since the interface was so simple I could guess and navigate around just fine.
     
  10. mxyzptlk

    mxyzptlk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Posts:
    150
    Location:
    Indonesia
    You were at the Komodo Island? And you survive? :eek:
    Must be a hell of adventure, last time I checked, they eat frogs :ninja:
    This I couldn't get. Does this relate to your signature? My sympathy, then :D
     
  11. normanbg

    normanbg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2013
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    Israel
    Any progress on the Windows XP front?

    Norman
     
  12. clubhouse1

    clubhouse1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Posts:
    1,124
    Location:
    UK
    I hope they just finish AX64 with the current problems ironed out, leave it in its original concept and do all the fancy partition options and other tools in Real Copy....Lets have one fully functioning product....As I've said before it the simplicity that makes this program so wonderful...I think a large user base and non-tech nuts would be happy with AX64 as is.
     
  13. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    +1 That's what I think as well.
     
  14. normanbg

    normanbg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2013
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    Israel
    This IS the Realcopy thread. And what exactly does 'fancy partition options and other tools' have to do with being able to run under Windows XP? That is a huge potential user base (of mostly 'non-tech nuts') you are giving up on.

    Norman
     
  15. clubhouse1

    clubhouse1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Posts:
    1,124
    Location:
    UK

    You're jumping the gun!....As I understood AX64 in its original concept was supposed to run on all platforms...(you may have noticed I did say with the current (XP?) problems ironed out)....It was its simplicity that attracted me to AX64....As I said I'd like to see it remain as it is...Less the XP problems and any other platform related kinks put right:-* ....Then the developers can concentrate on a bells and whistles product with Real Copy....Anyway, that's just me, and what I'd like.
     
  16. normanbg

    normanbg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2013
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    Israel
    AX64 does run on XP, Realcopy does not. But AX64 does not support multi-partition disks and, from the looks of things, probably won't for some time, whereas Realcopy does. That's why I posted the query in the Realcopy forum.

    Norman
     
  17. clubhouse1

    clubhouse1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Posts:
    1,124
    Location:
    UK

    Aha, I see what you mean now, I thought I was in the AX64 thread, my apologies.
     
  18. normanbg

    normanbg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2013
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    Israel
    Accepted. Now perhaps someone (Wajamus, Isso, ...) will respond to my original query: "Any progress on the Windows XP front?"

    Norman
     
  19. flatstuff

    flatstuff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    Canada
    I was actually wondering about this also...can they co-exist with each other?

    Terry
     
  20. Jim1cor13

    Jim1cor13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Posts:
    473
    Location:
    US
    Hi flatstuff :)

    As to your question, here is a link to a post from Wajamus referring to one of my test results. The simple answer is no, RC and ax64 cannot be used together due to how they both track volume changes. More here:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=2290421&postcount=4880

    Hope that helps :)

    Jim
     
  21. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    well i have someone who was having some issues with backup solutions. they re a friend not really a client. he asked about new backup programs and i was showing him some newer ones via a test machine. and after some more use of the newest realcopy beta other than the gui it is working nicely. im not fond of the gui though it is a very simplified one. but after about 10 days and a number of restores to test it out in different ways it has worked perfect. we will continue to let it run and see what happens at the 30 day and 2 month marks of continuous use.

    im hoping you guys do in fact keep moving forward on this. any idea when the next version will be out for beta?
     
  22. mxyzptlk

    mxyzptlk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Posts:
    150
    Location:
    Indonesia
    I believe, for the time being, they are concentrating more on this, a sister software which has the core imaging function.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.