AX64/Realcopy - Image Backup - General Discussion

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by wajamus, Nov 25, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wajamus

    wajamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Posts:
    321
    Location:
    Australia

    Hi Selukwe,

    Just to clarify things again:

    We intend to have two products, AX64 Time machine and Realcopy. Both products will get new names. That's how we came up with the name suggestions 'Realcopy TimeMachine' (AX64) and 'Realcopy Image Pro' (AX64 with all of Realcopy's features).

    New versions of these do not have a fixed release date, but we hope to have a new Realcopy with AX64 features out by mid-Jan. The never version of AX64 will be out much before then, albeit possibly with a new name.

    The next release of AX64 will have a revamped quick-restore that is 100% stable. Although the hot restore works well, it is prone to interference from third party apps.

    There is a beta of Realcopy available at Realcopy.com. This application is more in line with applications like Acronis. The version out now does not yet include AX64 features like Backup Browser or quick restores.

    Cheers,

    Waj
     
  2. Selukwe

    Selukwe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Posts:
    86
    OK. So I got this correctly as I was referred to current Realcopy download, which is not what I had in mind... Looking forward to the next AX incarnation release, 'Realcopy TimeMachine' or whatever else you finally decide to call it...:)
     
  3. wajamus

    wajamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Posts:
    321
    Location:
    Australia
    Yes, you thought correctly :)

    Guys, please don't confuse the new beta of Realcopy with the 'integrated' product that is due for release early next year.
     
  4. wajamus

    wajamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Posts:
    321
    Location:
    Australia
    JoeBlack40, currently Realcopy is free as it is still too early to put a price tag on it. When the dust settles, the app is stable and we're ready to commercialize it, we may have a free software in the same vein as Macrium Reflect. That is, there is a free version with all the essential features available, but some great features will be missing.

    Thanks!
     
  5. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    Thank you for your reply,i'll watch closely this thread and the products.
     
  6. AllThingsGeek

    AllThingsGeek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    United States
    How about:

    RealTime Rescue Essential
    RealTime Rescue Pro

    For the AX64 renamed app and the advanced product respectively...those names give a nod to both former products, defines what it does and what the level of function each provides.

    :)
     
  7. wajamus

    wajamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Posts:
    321
    Location:
    Australia
    Thanks for the suggestions AllThingsGeek!
     
  8. Grumpa

    Grumpa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Posts:
    30
    Location:
    US
    Sorry, there can never be enough name suggestions:

    DriveProtect Go (Essentials)

    DriveProtect Pro

    The name says what it is doing.
     
  9. normanbg

    normanbg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2013
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    Israel
    Perhaps, but I really would like to hear about the new beta release, and beyond.

    Norman
     
  10. Manny Carvalho

    Manny Carvalho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Posts:
    270
    The Way Back Machine.

    Perhaps not original but then you could call it Mr. Peabody instead.
     
  11. Selukwe

    Selukwe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Posts:
    86
    It's not only the way back but also the way forward (if you went back before, that is...) :)
     
  12. andylau

    andylau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Posts:
    696
    Just downloaded the beta version, it seems no settings for users to choose compression level(just on or off is not enough), destination of image file and so on.
    I hope it can have a bit more settings for users.
     
  13. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,466
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    AndyLau... the snapshot SOURCE and DESTINATION devices are set up upon your first run (you choose them) and there is NO CHOICE with snapshot compression... it's ON all the time.

    That's it for the current version... the product will grow as it matures.
     
  14. andylau

    andylau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Posts:
    696
    Yes, I just take a look again, there is a browse option for destination.
    But compression is off by default(I use it in WinPE).

    I am talking Realcopy, not AX64.:p
     
  15. wajamus

    wajamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Posts:
    321
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi Andy,

    Yes indeed, Realcopy allows you to browse to folders and set your own destination. I'm glad you found this option. You can also restore from network shares. If you assign a network share as a drive letter, you can browse to it from Realcopy and add the backup to the dashboard.

    I'm glad you are trying it out. Please share your feedback if you can. User feedback will help make a better 'integrated' (AX64+Realcopy) product. So far on Wilders the the main issue is UI related with the consensus that it is simple, but not intuitive. The good is that the main features seem to be pretty stable.

    We appreciate any feedback, the good and the bad.

    Waj


     
  16. Manny Carvalho

    Manny Carvalho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Posts:
    270
    The WABAC machine always brought Mr. Peabody and Sherman back home.

    ~ Removed Attached Copyrighted Image ~
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 6, 2013
  17. CrusherW9

    CrusherW9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    Location:
    United States
    I tried/am trying out Real Copy and I made an image yesterday around 4pm. I set it to make incremental images every day at midnight. Midnight rolled around and it worked as expected. Great. Later, I restored to the midnight image to see how quickly/well it worked. The restore took a REALLY long time to complete. It took maybe 30 minutes to get to about 40% done, at which point I decided to go to bed. There was an option in the pre-os boot confirmation screen, something like "Quick Recovery", that said disabled. I woke up this morning and tried to log in to my pc. As soon as I hit "Log in" after typing in my password, I got a blue screen. I restarted and tried a few more times and I kept on getting blue screens in different places. I then restored an image I had from a AX64. I was still going to give Real Copy another shot but when I went back into Real Copy to turn on the quick recovery option that I saw, I couldn't find it.
     
  18. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,466
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Crusher... I believe the current BETA copy of RealCopy has the QuickRestore method disabled due to some testing problems with SSDs.

    BUT... the regular restore should NOT have given you a BSOD.
     
  19. djg05

    djg05 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,563
    Had a quick play with Realcopy today.

    Made an image of the C drive and went without any problems. Speed seemed about normal.

    Created rescue media on USB stick. Last 10% took a long time to complete.

    Tried a restore using the USB stick but the WinPE would not establish. Got as far as a mouse cursor on a blank screen. Left for 10 minutes but no change. Re made the media on the same stick and also on another of different make but the same result. I know both sticks are ok as they have been used successfully on another.

    I also found that when you go to select a destination for the image the list scrolls of the bottom of the screen with no way to get to the bottom apart from moving the window further up the screen.

    Then installed on my laptop but the boot media and encryption would not install so I disabled them on the install menu, then it installed ok.

    Selected a destination on the network but when selected it default back the host drive.

    In both cases the network although shown could not be accessed.

    I thought the interface of the program was ok in as much as I could easily find what I wanted to do.

    Hope this helps.
     
  20. wajamus

    wajamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Posts:
    321
    Location:
    Australia
    Thank you for the comments guys.

    Restore issues should be resolved when we replace the RC restore engine with AX64's. This will essentially give you the stability of AX64 with RC's features (so multi-partition backup, backup browser, scheduler and so on).

    We are very busy at the moment but hope to have a new version of AX64 coming to you guys very soon.

    Thanks for the feedback so far, we really appreciate it :)

     
  21. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,228
    Location:
    US
    Waj, thank you. Version 1_3_7 (or however it is correctly called) has worked perfectly for me for a week now. Any newer version, fantastic. :cool:

    Acadia
     
  22. andylau

    andylau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Posts:
    696
    Imaging speed is fast, but the compression rate is low comparing to such as Acronis and TeraByte.
     
  23. oliverjia

    oliverjia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,903
    second this. In fact, the many other imaging software that claim to be "fast" are all proved to have low compression efficiency. The two products you listed, Acronis and Terabyte are the only two ones I identified that have the best compression ratio and at the same time, have very good speed, especially Acronis. The speed is faster than most others, while the compression is the best (when use high compression).

     
  24. mxyzptlk

    mxyzptlk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Posts:
    150
    Location:
    Indonesia
    However, re: Acronis, the "assurance" is just not there.
    Not to mention the bugs which not only aren't squashed, but even reborn...
     
  25. normanbg

    normanbg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2013
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    Israel
    What about XP? I can't even install RC, let alone check it out.

    Norman
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.