Avira's Firewall In Internet Secuirty.

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Fajo, Jul 16, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    Ok I'm testing out Avira's Internet Security. (Arup you got to me... So I had to try it :p ) anyways I'm curious how the firewall is. is it decent what. need some feed back cant seem to find any in the forums. :D
     
  2. Arup

    Arup Guest


    Fajo,

    Glad I got you into it :)

    I just use router so don't use Avira firewall but from what I hear, its just a basic firewall not in the league of powerful players like Comodo but it gets its job done.
     
  3. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    Ill keep it on for the heck of it... the rules I have setup in my router send a message to me if something try's to get Thur. but again its a router and not perfect. so I use it for default why I'm trying it out.
     
  4. Arup

    Arup Guest

    A good router works pretty securely if you have it set right, adding a software firewall is like double filtering.
     
  5. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,785
    Nothing coming in will ever get past even a cheap NAT router, so the only real reason for using the software firewall would be to try to catch outbound traffic.
     
  6. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812

    Aye that's the main reason for the firewall is outbound.. the router I have works awesome for inbound, tho it is limited in what it can do. only enhancement it has is 3rd party Firmware that I modified a bit to make the firewall more to my liking. The firewall in avira seems to do what I need for outbound. just a few things blocked here and there. guess there in lies the question. what is a good Outbound firewall.. will avira be able to grab programs that try to access. I used to use ZA, tried Comodo uninstalled it 10 min later. my mouse needs less ware and tear, Online armor lags the crap out of my games to the point the mouse don't even respond. and this is on a modern gaming computer, I need something that wont kill my computer but does a decent job.

    Edit.

    Tho in my few days of testing I have been very impressed with the performance of Avira. to the point I have dished out the cash for the product. with the problems of Eset lately (I wont go into it read there forums.) Having something stable with no issues or having to work around problems is a refreshing experience. Now I just need to get this firewall worked out And I'm good. If anyone has anymore insight into Avira firewall if not thanks for the time :)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 18, 2008
  7. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    Does the Avira firewall give the IP address (and site name) of where the outbound connection is going?
     
  8. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    I disabled it. Looking for another option when it comes to outbound protection. but for the short time I used it No I don't recall it giving that information.
     
  9. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    lol, and you see my point in the Avira AV thread ? lol that is too funny.

    I thought many times about trying this firewall. Why are you deciding not to use it?

    I too have been looking for a 'different' firewall for quite some time now. Because I want to use my computer primarily for coding or tweaking, gaming, entertainment (movies/music) and some imagery. Not to mention it has to surf as well.

    I used to use to use Outpost, and I have often thought of going back to it and making 2 rules. Allow or Deny. But I keep telling myself to resist that urge and find something small, light and pretty much pop-up free.

    I have used SoftPerfect. You open up ports and that is about it. I have been playing with DC Firewall, but it seems flaky. Lately I have been trying out iSafer again. It is a bit flaky, or maybe tacky and unrefined. But it is simple to understand. If it ain't allowed, then it is blocked. Add the application and suddenly it is not blocked. No pop-ups required. Might be more work, but much much simpler to maintain. Using that alongside xp firewall.

    I am interested to hear what it is about the avira firewall that makes you disable it. Do you think there is some slowdown in online gaming due to it? I think a lot of firewalls do that. How about rule creation? Is it straight forward, as in a few clicks and done. Or painstaking, as in 6 + clicks on 3 tabs type painful.

    As for doing DNS resolution, that is a great thing to have in a firewall. iSafer does that. But there are better ways to see what is going on without a firewall being involved if that is what you want. Logging included.

    Sul.
     
  10. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    Im thinking about just using the Firewall in Avira.. its nothing fancy but it does get the job done. and little pop ups I just need outbound and my inbound is fully protected.


    Edit.
    I just enabled it. It's just a simple allow or Deny firewall. for programs I need to find one that allows me to block websites along with other programs. I play many different games some load there damn website first and lag you for 20/30 sec so I block them. this is the main reason I'm looking for website blocking also.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 18, 2008
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.