Avira's AVnotify overrode LocSecPol

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by dan_maran, Mar 5, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    ** NOTE: With this post I am not upset or bad mouthing Antivir in any way. I just don't like the idea that a program ignored a local security policy **

    I have AVNotify blocked via the local security policy, yet today it lauched a Ie window. I am looking more into it now.

    Below is the update log from today the next block is from yesterday:
    Command line code used to spawn the window:
    Code:
    "C:\Program Files\AntiVir PersonalEdition Classic\avnotify.exe" C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\AntiVir PersonalEdition Classic\TEMP\AVUPDATE_45ec3d71\SPECIALSECOND\message.idx
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2007
  2. DaveD

    DaveD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Posts:
    54
    That would certainly be interesting if they found a way around the local security policies method for blocking it. Keep us posted on this.

    I can confirm that the method used for XP Home Edition where logging into the hidden Administrator account still works successfully to block the notifier.
     
  3. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    I dumped AVIRA regardless of it's detection rate. That idiotic popup (namely AVNotify) is the most annoying frigging b.... i've ever seen on PC. In my whole life. And what's even worse, AVIRA guys are working so hard to avoid users from disabling it it's absolutelly ridiculous. I wonder who's even using it. I'm quiet sure most of users here will just dump it because of this stupid popups even if it's detection rate is 99,99% in all tests. It's nothing worse than online game collapsing to taskbar just because this dumb popup appeared. Not to mention some games don't like Alt-Tab (AVNotify does this) and they just crash or lock up. So i still prefer avast! even though it lacks some features, it has avast! Pro links in trey bar menu and requires annual registration. At least it doesn't friggin' interrupts my work when it decides to ruin the day... like AntiVir does.

    :thumb: to AntiVir engine and signatures team and one MAJOR :thumbd: for programmers and staff in the PR/GUI department. Thats just too low...
     
  4. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    I created rules for the Prefetch folder and the avnotify.dll also today so we will see what happens...
     
  5. DaveD

    DaveD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Posts:
    54
    I agree with you 100% that the AVNotify nag screen is the most annoying thing out there. However, it does only take a small amount of time using one out of the two different techniques to block it depending on which version of Windows you are running.

    It actually has some amazing features that other free antivirus programs don't have for automating things. I have been setting it up on other peoples systems after doing my PC cleanup jobs. I am able to set them up scheduled to update several times per day and run full system scans in the middle of the night at like 3am or so. Those full system scans can be set to automatically send a copy of infected files to quarantine prior to automatically deleting or disinfecting. Now there is the option to schedule scans of running processes which I set to do after each update. All of this is completely automated. Now that is freedom that most other free antivirus programs can not do.
     
  6. theshadow247

    theshadow247 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Posts:
    323
    Location:
    ontario.canada
    I am able to set them up scheduled to update several times per day.


    i would love to hear how to schedule the classic version to update more than once a day with manualy updating..
     
  7. MalwareDie

    MalwareDie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Posts:
    500


    If you got Avira classic a long time back, you could set a job from that time to do so, as long as you dont remove that job and you can no lnoger edit the freuquency.
     
  8. theshadow247

    theshadow247 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Posts:
    323
    Location:
    ontario.canada
    thanks for clearing that up.i have a new copy. that i can only set to update once a day...
     
  9. MalwareDie

    MalwareDie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Posts:
    500
    Maybe if you have an instant messaging accout maybe i can send all my avira files to you so that it auto updates every 8 hours 30 minutes. I am not sure if this works though lol.
     
  10. pilotart

    pilotart Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Posts:
    377
    Create as many "new jobs" on your Classic's Scheduler Page as you want, for different times of the day.

    Look at {VDF History} to get an idea of some good times to set, look on your Windows Date and Time Properties; Time Zone list, but Ontario is GMT -5 and AVIRA Servers are GMT +1 so add six hours from your local time to convert to AVIRA local time for those 'new job time settings.

    Remember to leave the AntiVir Default jobs, just un-check them and check your new ones.

    It will take a reboot before your schedule will be in effect (this is true after so much as 'peeking' at Schedule Page:D ).

    I have never seen an avnotify on this WinXP System since application of Shek's fix for WinXP Pro/Win2k last Spring, it is allowed on my Win98, but WebWasher offers to 'filter-list' it.
     
  11. theshadow247

    theshadow247 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Posts:
    323
    Location:
    ontario.canada
    tha
    ts ok.MalwareDie.mine updates after 8 houres enyways.thanks again...

    hi.pilotart.we posted at the same time.i just set up the updates to every hour.thanks....
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2007
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.