Avira

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by JerryM, Apr 16, 2013.

  1. Pat MacKnife

    Pat MacKnife Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    569
    Location:
    Belgium
    Is there going to be a change in this behaviour ?? or an option to opt-in that it will not asking again to install O.E ?
    As long this is going on i'm not using avira anymore ! i don't want to close this popup every day at boot-up anymore asking to install O.E
     
  2. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,787
    Stefan, you are the Administrator in Avira Forum.
    So if you forgot who the "redwolfe_98" is, let me remind you.
    He is one of the most helpful volunteers since 2006 (Date of registration: Nov 14th 2006), he is not just "an user"......

    -----------------------
    Poor Avira free users.........
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2014
  3. Cmhelper

    Cmhelper Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Posts:
    155
    Location:
    Tettnang
    No, it is an intended behaviour and i collect and communicate all feedback internally.

    @anon You are right. He is helping others within the Avira community since a very long time and we are interested what he and all are saying about us. All valueable feedback is taken serious.

    Please let me know exactly why you deny the installation of the OE client, do you miss an option or is it because of the changed usability?
     
  4. aaa839

    aaa839 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    253
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    @anon You are right. He is helping others within the Avira community since a very long time and we are interested what he and all are saying about us. All valueable feedback is taken serious.

    Please let me know exactly why you deny the installation of the OE client, do you miss an option or is it because of the changed usability?[/QUOTE]
    maybe more adverts or promote
    As the replacement of Avira tray icon(AVGNT)
    why oe client(avira launcher)they need to install for the products,
    what benefits when installed it
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2014
  5. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,787
    Make up your mind, the one post it's opposite to the other.

    --------------------------
    Why? My post it's one more "This is a personal opinion from an user"
    why you are interested to "such a subjective point of view."
    --------------------------
    Anyway, to reply your question:
    I have the Pro version (paid), on another PC with the free version I run away as soon as the OE saga started.
    OE it's useless for me because all that I need it's a plain AV.
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2014
  6. Cmhelper

    Cmhelper Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Posts:
    155
    Location:
    Tettnang
    @anon No, it is not the opposite. It is all about objective and subjective comments. Value can taken from objective comments like the last from aaa839 and you with concrete examples. I will come back to you with an explanation.
     
  7. aaa839

    aaa839 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    253
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Well,I still don't think avira should using "push" method to force the user install the avira launcher as the promotion of OE
    just took back with the ASK how was the review when it introduce,push update with force install is not work in nowadays
    this method just let more customer leave avira to choose other AV
    As the result it just let the OE turn back as the ASK (Web Guard Promotion)fail in customer review

    Why not bring a windows promote in one of the update,for all first(New) installation and current installation(update)
    Let the user choose what they want to keep and use
    Using Legacy GUI(AVGNT) or the Modern GUI(Avira Launcher)
    Bring the voice to the meeting with products manager for change his mind on doing that...

    I could say an example just review Avira partner in China(Qihoo) or others software in China too
    it always bring many useless or garbage software(but avira lack with detection with this type adware or PUP...)it have some trojan behaviour,install some software which you didn't want but you don't know How to stop or no way to stop it.although it have digital signature along with those garbage software...
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2014
  8. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,787
  9. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    im REALLY HOPING they dont make this launcher mandatory at install. i have expressed this to the ceo directly and will be MANY less users of avira from i hear around if they make this mandatory. avira needs to maintain the full custom installer its one of the things that imo makes them better than so many others out there.

    i for one do not want nor will i use the launchpad thing. i simply dont want it. period. plain and simple.
     
  10. aaa839

    aaa839 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    253
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Bad news
    Today Avira announce the "real" movement to Avira Answer
    Avira support forum has been shutdown at 12:00 3th of September

    All the support question and answer in forum required to post again to Avira answers
    (Don't know why they doing this so fast after they announce it will be transfer it near end of this year)
    http://forum.avira.com/wbb/index.php?page=Index
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2014
  11. guest

    guest Guest

    Really Avira? At least you can archive them for knowledge base.
     
  12. aaa839

    aaa839 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    253
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Sure,,However,on the other hand it just make worse for all users except European country....
    because no asian language in avira answer
     
  13. Cmhelper

    Cmhelper Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Posts:
    155
    Location:
    Tettnang
    Don't worry. As announced on 9th of July this year, the Avira Forum is currently migrated to the new platform in meaning of recent user profiles and recent content.
     
  14. Cmhelper

    Cmhelper Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Posts:
    155
    Location:
    Tettnang
    Avira Answers support currently only DE and EN as interface language but you can write in any language.
     
  15. KaptainBug

    KaptainBug Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Posts:
    484
    Avira 2015
    -http://blog.anti-virus4u.com/2014/09/avira-antivirus-suites-2015-products.html
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 3, 2014
  16. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    a recording softwareo_O this is an antivirus not a audio program... i mean reallyo_O
     
  17. Austerity

    Austerity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Georgia / USA
    As long as I have the option not to install any of it, i'm fine with it.
     
  18. phyniks

    phyniks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Posts:
    258
    What about the Free version? :sick:
     
  19. aaa839

    aaa839 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    253
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Something may not necessary
    I use red to quote which I think is not necessary for antivirus company
    Drive Lock Private - German encryption software - protection for up to 3 GB of your personal data
    Audials Radiotracker - offers legal recording of online music and internet radio stations
    Avira System Speedup - improves PC performance(Please redesign UI and take a windows 8.1 certification(comparities improve)
    Antivirus Pro for Android - offers advanced protection for smartphones
    Laplink PCmover Express - helps with migrating a PC
    (If using Windows 7 we could use windows easy transfer)

    SuperEasy Driver Updater - scans your PC for outdated drivers, keeps them up-to-date and speeds up the system
    (This is not necessary because most of this type of software not provide the correct uptodate device driver)


    Technology should upgrade or back
    (Core Change)
    ProActiv x64<not using hook,using mini files filter(spy filter)
    APC for all scan profiles and always connect not just using trigger
    Status indicator,for APC
    OE Launcher and Legacy Launcer switch
    More redesign GUI(Bigger fonts and Button)
    Secure Backup
    Enhanced AHeAD
    Option for Generic Repair
    Avira FireWall(base of WFP and WSK)
    Reduce system footprint(memory and CPU consumption)
    Reduce I/O Cause improve whole realtime protection performance
    reduce the scanning time and scanning archive time
    More control with web protection ignorance
    easy to choose for action when finding the virus on ondemand again

    No this change no improvemtn even switching to v15
    it just a "vesioning" products...

    Also
    Cloud and xVDF already bundle in v14
    I don't know why they said it was "new"

    if no core improvement or news
    just like the introduction when v14 is coming in Beta
    no real improvements..
     
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2014
  20. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,787
    +1

    Avira 2015: Bells and whistles only............
     
  21. aaa839

    aaa839 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    253
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Yes
    whistle blower
    "New" means "OLD/Existing"
     
  22. Cmhelper

    Cmhelper Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Posts:
    155
    Location:
    Tettnang
    Hi,
    This article just announce a new bundle. It's the same as announced on amazon.com.
    Please be patient for the announcement from Avira :)
     
  23. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,787
    Fom the 1-user license on multiple devices =
    http://www.avira.com/en/support-for-home-knowledgebase-detail/kbid/1658
    http://www.avira.com/en/support-for-home-knowledgebase-detail/kbid/954

    To the 1-user license on 3 devices =
    -----------------------

    Question: What about the working 2014 1-user license on multiple devices?
    Avira will upgrade to 2015 version all the working devices (i.e. : a current 2014 1-user license works on 5 PCs) or only 3 of them?
     
  24. Cmhelper

    Cmhelper Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Posts:
    155
    Location:
    Tettnang
    Good question @anon, i will come back to you with the official proceeding for the license convertion.
     
  25. aaa839

    aaa839 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    253
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    We hope more exciting core change will come(but i think may not)
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.