Avira

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by JerryM, Apr 16, 2013.

  1. gyl

    gyl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Posts:
    21
    you may adress your complain to:


    Avira Operations GmbH & Co. KG



    nabil benazzi

    Support & Services



    Avira Operations GmbH & Co. KG

    Kaplaneiweg 1

    88069 Tettnang, Germany

    customerservice.fr@avira.com

    my boot time is now ok (windows 8.1 64 bits with avira security suite
     
  2. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,552
    • Created : Monday, June 14, 2010 / Last updated: Thursday, October 17, 2013
    http://www.avira.com/en/support-for-home-knowledgebase-detail/kbid/1556

    • Created : Monday, June 14, 2010 / Last updated: Tuesday, January 7, 2014
    http://www.avira.com/en/support-for-home-knowledgebase-detail/kbid/1005

     
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2014
  3. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,552
    The famous and long time awaited Update 4 (Product version 14.0.4.614) released today.
    -----------------------------
    Today my Avira Antivirus Suite updated to Product version 14.0.4.614 stable:
    1) In first reboot = same as before, no improvement.

    2) In second reboot = noticed a minor improvement in boot up speed, also the umbrella in taskbar opens a bit earlier than before.
    I have to wait for the next 3-4 reboot in order to see if the improvement will remain or not.
     
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2014
  4. darts

    darts Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Posts:
    443
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Is this a Beta update or a normal update?
     
  5. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,552
    "Today my Avira Antivirus Suite updated to Product version 14.0.4.614 stable"..........
     
  6. remco8264

    remco8264 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Posts:
    28
    Hi,

    Lately I have been using Avira Pilot (part of Online Essentials) to help family members with their computers.

    But yesterday I noticed that the setup file (which is downloaded after the Pilot invitation is accepted) now automatically installs the AntiVirus, whereas it used to only install Pilot.

    Does anyone know if this can be configured?

    Thanks in advance,
     
  7. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,552
  8. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Afternoon! When I checked out the Bug Fix in the change log document there is nothing mentioned regarding the Boot Up Problem! Sincerely...Securon
     
  9. Pat MacKnife

    Pat MacKnife Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    554
    Location:
    Belgium
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2014
  10. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,552
    Yes, it is =
    Avira Free Antivirus 14.0.4.614
    http://www.softpedia.com/get/Antivirus/AntiVir-Personal-Edition.shtml
    --------------------------
    You have to wait=
    If you wish, you can update manually:
    Download and run the 14.0.4.614 installer -> during the installation process select the "Repair/update" option -> Done.
    Note: Your configuration settings will remain the same.
     
  11. Pat MacKnife

    Pat MacKnife Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    554
    Location:
    Belgium
    Thank you anon, updated succesfully to latest version :)
     
  12. aaa839

    aaa839 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    253
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Sock news
    Qihoo may accurate Avira and it's core technology
    (AntiVir Engine)!
    In my point of view,I hate qihoo very much and don't want Avira and it's engine being a substitute of Qihoo
    Qihoo privacy questionable company and it's action with competitor>OMG
    I don't comment on this situation,if MRs witteveen have interest please reply
    if you know chinese go here and watch
    http://business.chinadaily.com.cn/2014/0430/1387500.html
     
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2014
  13. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,552
    There is a relationship since 2011=

    June 20, 2011:
    Qihoo 360 to partner with Avira, MarbridgeConsulting.com reports
    http://finance.yahoo.com/news/Qihoo-360-partner-Avira-theflyonthewall-1703639432.html

    Qihoo 360 partners with Avira to share anti-virus technologies
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/thre...vira-to-share-anti-virus-technologies.303811/

    [Off-topic] Qihoo 360 partners with Avira? True?
    https://forum.avira.com/wbb/index.php?page=Thread&threadID=134094
    -----------------------------
    New CEO Brings Avira New Direction, New Energy
    Aug 30, 2013
    http://securitywatch.pcmag.com/secu...new-ceo-brings-avira-new-direction-new-energy

     
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2014
  14. aaa839

    aaa839 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    253
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Partner yes OEM technology

    Still questionable with accural

    Not only Qihoo
    l Kingsoft Tencent Baidu also OEM Avira technology
     
  15. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    Just curious but does this seem like the normal working set memory? I'm using their mobile AV and really like it.
    thanks
    Ice
     
  16. Drew99GT

    Drew99GT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Posts:
    340
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    Is the update supposed to come through the update servers for the free version? I've tried updating all day and it hasn't updated to the new version. Thanks
     
  17. Pat MacKnife

    Pat MacKnife Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    554
    Location:
    Belgium
  18. phyniks

    phyniks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Posts:
    258
    As far as I know,the main improvement will be reached by the new database format(xvdf).
    the new engine (8.03.16.0 ) is also used by older versions(like 14.0.3) and can use "the XVDF"(plz correct me if I m wrong)

    so,when the new database comes through,will we see major improvement in all Avira versions or it s just 14.0.4?

    thanks in advance
     
  19. pb1

    pb1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Posts:
    682
    Location:
    sweden
    Hi

    How about the slow start up time with Avira has it gotten any better with this latest release ?
    On my laptop it took about 2min or more and that from c:a 1min with the former one .
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2014
  20. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Morning! pb1...like you... my concern is has anything been done to improve the serious issue regarding the unacceptable boot-up issue! Cmon folks...surely someone can share there user feedback...as to whether Avira has done anything at all in dealing with this issue. Sincerely...Securon
     
  21. Drew99GT

    Drew99GT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Posts:
    340
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    I can confirm a major issue; Firefox 29 and Avira Browser Saftey do not like each other! On a great many pages, Firefox will stop responding and report a script issue that relates to ABS/Avira.
     
  22. Pat MacKnife

    Pat MacKnife Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    554
    Location:
    Belgium
    I suggest that you use the feedback button from ABS to tell avira about your problem so they can adjust the browser safety,
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2014
  23. Witttr

    Witttr CEO Avira

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Posts:
    15
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi guys,

    I've requested to send information about your boot problems to me a couple of days back (case number by Avira, or other relevant info). I provided my direct e-mail address for the request too (travis.witteveen (at) avira.com). Until now I have received from the members here, beyond a copy of an LSP topic (which is no longer an issue in the current version), nothing. Sadly, we are not able to reproduce the extreme slowdown in boot time discussed in this forum. We need to know more about your system configurations, operating system version, etc... in order to help.

    I therefore ask one more time, please for those complaining about system boot time, contact me either here or directly, so we can resolve.

    Thanks,

    Travis
     
  24. Witttr

    Witttr CEO Avira

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Posts:
    15
    Location:
    Germany
    btw, the one exception was zfaktor.

    thanks.
     
  25. guest

    guest Guest

    Hello there,

    I've just sent you an email, please check it. Thanks!
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.