Avira

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by JerryM, Apr 16, 2013.

  1. DoctorPC

    DoctorPC Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Posts:
    813
    Sadly, I found it an inconsistent fix myself.. Inexcusable Avira has this bug as long as it has had it.
     
  2. Inside Out

    Inside Out Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Posts:
    421
    Location:
    Pangea
    Yup, it's embarrassing that even the bunch of corrupt frauds called G-Data, despite their extreme cluelessness, are more proactive about fixing bugs these days. Avira have no, zero, nada, zilch, zippo excuses to stoop even lower.
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2014
  3. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    Does Avira 2014 Free use a lot of memory? There are 6 processes that use 160 meg of ram? Just curious. The last time I used this AV it was a lot less.

    thanks
    Ice
     
  4. fblais

    fblais Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Posts:
    1,249
    Location:
    Québec, Canada
    Maybe I'm lucky, but I never had that slow boot-up problem with Avira.
    Did you check that you don't have leftovers from other programs uninstalls?
    Sysinternals' Autoruns is great to check those things.
     
  5. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,545

    Well to me personally, these good GOOD things, not bad. I've never been a favor of the concept of the cloud... sending your files out over the web to be examinded has a potential for abuse, and a potential for abuse of privacy as well. And not a fan of these real-time AV's adding a bunch of features/fluff to their products and making it bulkier/bloated/heavier. My model concept of a real-time AV is what Avira used to be years ago. Just a resident File Guard and not much else, along with top notch detection rates. I've never trusted the cloud and consider it a potential abuse of privacy. It had top notch detection rates, was as light as a feather, and played nicely with everything else. That's what I look for.

    But now they are feeling pressure (from the public or otherwise) to "keep up with the Joneses", and take away from what made it truly exceptional in the first place. And they never will catch up because they're so far behind other products now with that model in mind.

    Avira v6 (I think) was my favorite AV ever. It was just the type of product I mentioned above, before adding a bunch of bloat (mentioned above) that I had other layers to combat.
     
  6. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,552
    Avira Antivirus Suite 2014, 39.8 MB of RAM=
    http://i.imgur.com/PsulObR.png
     
  7. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    Thanks. Here are the results that I have:

    upload_2014-4-22_16-6-55.png

    It seems the AV is taking up more memory than it should. The system does not seem sluggish but just wondered why the memory was high.
    thanks
    Ice
     
  8. FleischmannTV

    FleischmannTV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,094
    Location:
    Germany
    I wouldn't regard the worst case scenario of uploading a suspicious executable file to the cloud as an invasion of privacy. If documents and the likes were involved, yes, but this? Definitely not - and for what it's worth: a program doesn't need a cloud to spy on you. All it needs is file system access and an internet connection. Your browser can do that.
     
  9. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,272
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    I have no idea why people are complaining so much, particularly in the wake of the latest developments which have raised Avira's detection capabilities to compete with the top tier of AVs. Even the free version has benefited from the addition of APC , which makes it arguably the best free deal at least in terms of detection. I suspect that no matter what improvement is implemented some people will always try to split hairs...
     
  10. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,272
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    Luciddream, do you realize your reply is to a post by Firecat dating April 17, 2013? Lots of things happened to Avira in one year, and Avira is not behind any product at the moment.
     
  11. Taliscicero

    Taliscicero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,439
    Maybe its not the antivirus companies, maybe its just you.
     
  12. aaa839

    aaa839 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    253
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    sometime complaning can make perfect
    don't just think all the complainer are banter or hater of Avira first
    Avira has going improve itself,we can seen it
    but we can't accept Avira sometime doing the things which is bad with the user or the program itself
     
  13. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    i feel i can complain when i own 15+ lic's i cant use till they fix the ridiculously slow boot up times. i cant leave my laptops on all day i will not carry them around in a sleep or hibernate state so for me to have to start them up each time i get to a client would take literally forever which is why i cant use it until its fixed. i feel i have every right to complain as i PAY for it. i do not use any free av and do not on ANY pc i or my business owns.
     
  14. spywar

    spywar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Posts:
    583
    Location:
    Paris
    You are talking about Avast v6 for having been your favorite AV because it was a simple AV without bloat.
    But today, Avira is the only one in this direction. They are doing what most people want, a simple AV that can deal with live malware (considering APC that dramatically improves zero day identification) without any bloat.

    "sending your files out over the web to be examinded has a potential for abuse, and a potential for abuse of privacy as well"

    Then I hope you disabled cloud uploading features of Comodo Firewall. :cool:
     
  15. aaa839

    aaa839 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    253
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Well Avira for me love and hate
    sometime they doing the things which is good>Implement APC for all avira products,My Avira cloud website manager,Secure Backup,Speedup free for all past Internet security users,

    Hate>some bugs contain more than a years or longer didn't fix,bootup speed worst one by one version(perfect is v8~10),support not well,Kb not updated,scaning speed worst(rootkit and cannot using muti-core cpu thread completely),removed the whole Avira firewall removed and not rewrite,then implement an useless windows firewall management module which is nothing improve witout current windows firewall but buggy with users!,not implement 64bit(Proactiv),Sandbox....
     
  16. Witttr

    Witttr CEO Avira

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Posts:
    15
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi All,

    I continue to see boot time issues in this forum, which we are trying to narrow down on more, as it seems not to be effecting everyone. For those, who have paid for licenses, would you send to me privately your support case numbers? It would help me zone in on the issue specifically with the teams. You can use my company address: travis.witteveen (at) avira.com.

    Regards,

    Travis
     
  17. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,024
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    I see that Inside Out must get his usual snipe in on G-Data. He now posts these in ANY thread now. He will be posting about how poor the program is in the Paragon sub-forum and all thing Unix section next ! :blink:

    He must be related to one of the Mods here as anyone else would have received at least a warning about his constant trolling (over 7 months now) of G-Data.
     
  18. DoctorPC

    DoctorPC Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Posts:
    813
    I will re-install Avira this week, and see how the boot situation is, and report back. But before it was unbearable how badly it impacted the boot times of Windows 8.1x. Literally 12-17 second boot times, dragged out to 2-5 MINUTES when Avira was installed, and this was on FRESH 8.1 installs, as well as seasoned installations, so it wasn't isolated.
     
  19. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    ill do the same. but i can say the boot times as of mid week were still HORRIBLE.
     
  20. DoctorPC

    DoctorPC Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Posts:
    813
    I can forgive a 10 second or so increase in boot times. But when we get into the 'minutes', things are out of hand.

    Which is why I run Immunet3 w/MBAM now.. Great protection, absolutely no delay in boot. I'd love to put my Avira licenses back on, but that boot time increase!
     
  21. gyl

    gyl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Posts:
    21
    hello,here is the message i've got from avira support to resolve boot problem;i've not tried'it's in French)

    ~Private communication removed~
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/help/terms
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 28, 2014
  22. Witttr

    Witttr CEO Avira

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Posts:
    15
    Location:
    Germany
    Thanks. May I ask what version you are using?
     
  23. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,552
    the "netsh winsock reset" workaround is only workable on Windows 7 and below........
    http://forum.avira.com/wbb/index.php?page=Thread&postID=1271322#post1271322
    --------------
    http://forum.avira.com/wbb/index.php?page=Thread&postID=1272409#post1272409
    http://forum.avira.com/wbb/index.php?page=Thread&postID=1272413#post1272413

    Starting with version 2014, windows 7 as well as windows 8 is not use LSP as web protection filter platform
    http://forum.avira.com/wbb/index.php?page=Thread&postID=1272414#post1272414
     
  24. Witttr

    Witttr CEO Avira

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Posts:
    15
    Location:
    Germany
    yes, I know, I was asking what Avira product version is being used. Is it 14.0.3.350? You can find it in the Help Menu and About submenu.

    Thanks,

    Travis
     
  25. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,552
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.