Avira

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by JerryM, Apr 16, 2013.

  1. KaptainBug

    KaptainBug Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Posts:
    484
    Agree with most of your comments, but I do realize that they have to make money somehow. So as long as they don't remove the safe search from google I will use it. If they are removing google and just keep ASK then yes this will become pretty much useless addon and all the effort they put in making this addon will be totally waste.
     
  2. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,631
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
  3. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    discounts are great if they would fix the boot up issue. i would be running it on a whole bunch of systems.
     
  4. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,734
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Under Web Protection/ Scan/Blocked requests /Web filter /Spam URLs are not checked off by default. Should I enable?
     
  5. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    personally i find things like safe search and similar from other companies useless. imo i can usually tell the difference between a ad junk site and a real one and if not then the web filter is there and if not the real time filter is there, and if not etc etc etc... almost every av has more than enough layers of protection for me not to have nor want a check mark or a thing giving me a green yellow or red light etc. personally i turn those things off and dont use them anyway.
     
  6. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,734
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Works here too. Thanks also to anon.
     
  7. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,485
    April 17th, 2013
    New engine 8.3 [stable] released:
    New engine supposedly improves initialization, am I the only one who can't see any sensible improvements in terms of performance?.
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2014
  8. nikkho

    nikkho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Posts:
    25
    Location:
    Spain
    Neither me. It even seems slower than old 8.2 throught.
     
  9. aaa839

    aaa839 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    253
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    that is normal because 8.3 still using the old non-optimized nvdf,8.3 engines need the xVDF to make it have top performance,both item cannot be seprate itself

    Something I need to talk too
    The current optimize scan option in the scanner setting has been broken,
    it need to get repair,At the currency situation,the scanner will not have any significant performance boost on multi-core CPU either you turn it on or not
     
  10. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    i also dont see any real improvements either. i still have the boot up slowdown not sure if that was supposed to help that issue though or not.
     
  11. Stefan Kurtzhals

    Stefan Kurtzhals AV Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Posts:
    702
    The new engine which supports the features that bring the speedup was released ahead of the product update that actually enables and uses those features (XVDF etc.) - so you still have to wait until update 4 to see the effect.
     
  12. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,485
    Thanks for the clarification!

    Re:
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=2348295&postcount=1454
    Any comments?
     
  13. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    thanks Stefan
     
  14. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,237
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    Thanks, although I can't really complain about my booting up time, however any improvement is welcome...
     
  15. phyniks

    phyniks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Posts:
    258
    As you know,Baidu is using Avira's engine alongside his owns

    I dont wanna talk about detection(which Avira is far better),but about performance,Baidu is surprisingly faster and more responsive than Avira.


    Scanning, cleaning,file access,programs launching,every thing.

    how is this chinese company using Avira engine better than the ownerso_O?
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2014
  16. Inside Out

    Inside Out Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Posts:
    421
    Location:
    Pangea
    Then it means Baidu aren't using all of it in the first place, especially if the Avira engine update problem is still there.
     
  17. phyniks

    phyniks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Posts:
    258
    they have had options for that(Avira on real time or just on manual scan)
    enabling Avira engine on realtime Prt. made the software heavier but still not as much as original Avira antivirus.
     
  18. Stefan Kurtzhals

    Stefan Kurtzhals AV Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Posts:
    702
    In our testing, during Engine/VDF updates there is no scan gap that malware could utilize. Only when there is a product update that contains new versions of 2 certain files, the file guard service is restarted.
     
  19. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,485
    That means whatever it's written here:

    http://www.cs.sjsu.edu/faculty/stamp/papers/topics/topic8/spe2197.pdf

    re Avira & their testing, are all lies by intention?
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2014
  20. garrett76

    garrett76 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Posts:
    221
    There is another difference too between Avira and Baidu.
    Baidu does not use all the signatures of Avira: it lacks completely of Adware and other pups' detections. You can notice that if you try to download some files from malc0de (which is full of this kind of files). The same files are detected by Avira as Adware, unwanted app. etc, but not by Baidu. Or better, you can open the Avira settings file in Baidu folder (don't remember exactly the file's name because I uninstalled Baidu) and you will see the lack of such programs. That's one of the reasons because Baidu has worse results than Avira in tests, along with his delay in updating signatures.
     
  21. Inside Out

    Inside Out Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Posts:
    421
    Location:
    Pangea
    Thanks for the clarification.
     
  22. garrett76

    garrett76 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Posts:
    221
    You're welcome. It's a pity that Baidu has limited signatures, because otherwise it would be on the same level of Avira in detection, plus it has hips protection...
     
  23. Stefan Kurtzhals

    Stefan Kurtzhals AV Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Posts:
    702
  24. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Afternoon! Stefan...Forgive me for sounding like the proverbial broken record...on this subject...is Avira currently looking into fixing the unacceptable situation in regards to Boot-up times and Delays. Is this a Windows or Avira problem? And is this problem in relation to the users version of Windows? I'm currently using Windows 7...is the issue also currently prevalent in Windows 8.1? Why I'm concerned is...I never encountered this problem when Avira had it's own Firewall...just when the new product line was introduced...and the supposed integration with Windows firewall. And regarding a different topic...is Avira utilizing some form of cacheing to cut back while running full systems scans. Because while running a full system scan it takes beyond 2 hrs...while other apps I use only take eighty minutes to forty five minutes to complete a full system scan. Wondering if you had any info in regards to my question. Sincerely...Securon
     
  25. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,485
    I was already aware re the date and the tested versions (Avira Antivirus Free, Premium and Internet Security 2012 and 2013).

    Your answer means that the vulnerability was present in previous (tested) versions 2012 & 2013 but solved in current 2014 version?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.