Avira

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by JerryM, Apr 16, 2013.

  1. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,590
    Mistake again.

    The Web Protection (former name: WebGuard) it's the same for paid and free version,
    in free version you have to install the toolbar in order to get the Web Protection.
     
  2. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,718
    Location:
    Gaia
    I think they changed that....I'll try to find some posts about it.
     
  3. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,590
  4. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,718
    Location:
    Gaia
    No...it is not that.....
    If I remember correctly, they deactivated some feature in Free version after a while...
     
  5. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,590
    Few minutes ago=

    http://i.imgur.com/xw47oz2.png

    Avira Free with Web Protection......
     
  6. avman1995

    avman1995 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    900
    Location:
    india
    The block was generated because eicar was in AV signatures and hence web protection blocked it,wasnt blocked because of site blacklisting since that feature isnt in free version.
     
  7. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,590
    Please re read:

    Anyway, lets wait Stefan to clarify the matter.

    NB: The screenshot taken only to prove that Web Protection (if you install the toolbar) exists in Avira Free.
     
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2013
  8. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,718
    Location:
    Gaia
    It does exist but is not that powerful as in Paid version....
     
  9. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Then put some money on the table, and problem solved :D
     
  10. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,718
    Location:
    Gaia
    Hmmm....are bitcoins ok?
    :D
     
  11. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    No idea...:)
     
  12. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,718
    Location:
    Gaia
    Let's wait for Stefan to confirm this....
     
  13. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,226
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    Some reason I can't run Avira at all. Windows keeps reporting its not a valid Win32 application.
     
  14. Stefan Kurtzhals

    Stefan Kurtzhals AV Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Posts:
    702
    I actually don't know after all the changes in the company what is current in the free and in the paid products regarding the web guard. :doubt:

    The web guard has the following abilities:

    - checking the URL against a local blacklist
    - checking the URL against an online blacklist (external service, but might be already no longer in use)
    - engine scan of the traffic before it reaches the browser

    There is a project in development for an own URL cloud/web reputation etc. but I have no idea about the time table.
     
  15. Circe

    Circe Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Posts:
    144
    Location:
    Cheshire, England
    Complete uninstall and download Avira again from another webpage, filehippo etc.
     
  16. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,226
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.

    I want to JUST install it to try on the netbook but I can't install it even since that pops up. I got it from File Hippo and Avira's site and the same thing.
     
  17. johnyjohn

    johnyjohn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Posts:
    126
    Hi,

    To clarify, the Web protection is the same for all consumer products.
    The only difference is that Internet Security WebGuard uses, in additition to the local URL database and engine scan, an external online database for parental control if it is enabled as those categories are not included in Avira local database.
    However installing the toolbar is required in the free version for WebGuard to work.
     
  18. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,590
    Many thanks for clarification johnyjohn! :thumb:
    -------------
    @ true indian, @ siketa:
     
  19. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,295
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi

    Any News for Avira 2014 available
     
  20. aaa839

    aaa839 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    253
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Stefan the first url cloud has been include in the avira toolbar v6/7
    start at v7 of the toolbar,the web site safty advisor has been replace from using CallingdID to Avira own URL Cloud
    The online blacklist(IBM Proventia WebFilter ) may still here but it may only in Internet Security(Safe Browsing module)
     
  21. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    Back to my true love, Avira.:D
     
  22. guest

    guest Guest

    But...but...but...but... o_O

    Was it the online installer or the offline one?
     
  23. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,590
    v13.0.0.4045 :thumbd:

    In recent days, Avira is very slow
    http://forum.avira.com/wbb/index.php?page=Thread&threadID=155550

    High CPU usage- avguard.exe
    http://forum.avira.com/wbb/index.php?page=Thread&threadID=155330

    AVGUARD.EXE - Very high CPU Utilization
    http://forum.avira.com/wbb/index.php?page=Thread&threadID=155475

    ^^ This is a known problem and will be fixed in the next product update ^^

    Windows says Avira Desktop is not active (but it is!)
    http://forum.avira.com/wbb/index.php?page=Thread&threadID=155325

    Action Center (win7 x64): Avira Desktop reports that it is turned off.
    http://forum.avira.com/wbb/index.php?page=Thread&threadID=155421

    red windows security alert on bottom taskbar
    http://forum.avira.com/wbb/index.php?page=Thread&threadID=155536

    --------------------------------------

     
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2013
  24. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,976
    I think your true love is cheating on you... :D
     
  25. 0strodamus

    0strodamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,051
    Location:
    United Surveillance States
    As they should! :thumb:
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.