Avira

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by JerryM, Apr 16, 2013.

  1. kdcdq

    kdcdq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Posts:
    813
    Location:
    A Non-Sh*thole State
    Hey anon, do you think anyone at Avira realizes that the Pro version has not been updated with newer malware definitions since the new release on Feb 14th?!? :isay:
     
  2. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,424
    o_O

    https://www.avira.com/en/support-vdf-history
    ;)
     
  3. Tinstaafl

    Tinstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    625
    Location:
    USA
    I got the latest VDFs today. Better check your event logs.
     
  4. kdcdq

    kdcdq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Posts:
    813
    Location:
    A Non-Sh*thole State
    Sorry gents! What I MEANT to say was that the Avira Pro full offline installer has not been updated with newer malware defs since the new release on Feb 14th. I just downloaded it again, and the 14th is what shows in the Digital Signatures.
     
  5. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,424
    .....and got the latest VDF with the first auto VDF update (which take place after installation).
    So, what's the problem?
     
  6. kdcdq

    kdcdq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Posts:
    813
    Location:
    A Non-Sh*thole State
    [QUOTE="anon, post: 2740926, member: 131962
    ... So, what's the problem?[/QUOTE]

    It is NOT a problem! Simply an observation. Avira previously was updating the installer at least once a day and often several times a day with updated defs; they simply stopped doing so on the 14th for reasons unknown.

    On the brighter side, I just noticed that a newer version of Avira Pro was released today, Feb 27th, according to their website.
     
  7. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,424
    ok.
     
  8. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,424
  9. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,424
  10. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,424
    Avira's Privacy Pal is already available via Avira Launcher Connect.
     
  11. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,424
  12. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,566
  13. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,605
  14. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,424
  15. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,424
  16. Tinstaafl

    Tinstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    625
    Location:
    USA
    I think that I already have those bases covered on Windows. Would be handy on Android, though! That's the biggest privacy leaker I have ever seen! :argh:

    I only see a Windows version on the site.
     
  17. marcuskng

    marcuskng AV Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Posts:
    63
    Not all of it can be changed directly in Windows alone. Give it a spin, the colleagues in that team uncovered quite a few spots that you may have never thought about. If you really want to get an in-depth look, try the custom expert settings.

    Just some example views:

    upload_2018-4-4_18-35-39.png upload_2018-4-4_18-37-29.png
    upload_2018-4-4_18-37-53.png upload_2018-4-4_18-38-7.png
     
  18. drhu22

    drhu22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Posts:
    371
    I must be blind, cant find how to get to the expert settings... help?
     
  19. Hiltihome

    Hiltihome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Posts:
    735
    Location:
    Baden Germany
    Me too.
    Guess you have to register, or even pay for it...
    No thanks
     
  20. drhu22

    drhu22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Posts:
    371
    If that's the case, I think I'll nope out of this one too... what a pain. Shouldn't have expected differently, though Marcuskng could have made that more clear.
     
  21. m0unds

    m0unds Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2015
    Posts:
    151
    I'm a paid customer, but this is how you get to expert settings (assuming the free product can do it, anyway): click the profile selected for privacy protection (Basic, Enhanced or Personalized) on the first screen, select "Personalized" and click the pencil on the second screen. Click "Expert view" at the bottom of the third screen.
     
  22. drhu22

    drhu22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Posts:
    371
    Already uninstalled... can anyone confirm one way or another on the free version?
     
  23. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,424
    Fixed, it's ok now.
     
  24. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,424
     

    Attached Files:

  25. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,424
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.