Avira

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by JerryM, Apr 16, 2013.

  1. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,017
    Avira Beta Center goes Public Beta
    https://blog.avira.com/public-beta-avira-beta-center/
     
  2. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    3,102
    Avira Antivirus for Windows, version 15.0.32.6 has been released on October 2nd, 2017.
    https://www.avira.com/en/support-for-home-knowledgebase-detail/kbid/1699
    Download
     
  3. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,017
  4. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,017
  5. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    3,712
  6. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,017
  7. Tinstaafl

    Tinstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    524
    Location:
    USA
  8. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,478
    Likewise, everything updated automatically on two machines without any problems. I don't know what to think about the new GUI, aesthetically I don't care, but it doesn't seem to have anything new in terms of program control or configuration...
     
  9. aztony

    aztony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Posts:
    582
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Neutral stance on my reaction to the new GUI. Its not as though I spend an abundance of time gazing at interface. As long as the AV's efficacy is rock solid that's all I primarily care about. Pretty much leave it after setup.
     
  10. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,017
  11. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,017
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2017
  12. fmon

    fmon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,163
    Superior engine, nice GUI, but I still hate the idiotic ad pop ups. :thumbd:
     
  13. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,017
  14. Tinstaafl

    Tinstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    524
    Location:
    USA
    No ads on Pro! :shifty:
     
  15. porrkanon

    porrkanon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Posts:
    52
    so there are popup ads on avira free now? i was going to try it out but thanks for the heads up. wont try
     
  16. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    3,102
    Yes, the free version has (annoying) popup ads :)
     
  17. Tinstaafl

    Tinstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    524
    Location:
    USA
    Very small price to pay for excellent software.
     
  18. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,017
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2017
  19. porrkanon

    porrkanon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Posts:
    52
    thanks. sticking with bd free then, after all it works to perfection. the only reason i was thinking about trying avira again was boredom anyway
     
  20. Tinstaafl

    Tinstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    524
    Location:
    USA
    BD free is fine if it meets your needs. I am running it on one low priority PC. But for my main PC I choose paid protection, with support. ;)
     
  21. jsmith65

    jsmith65 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    USA
    I recently installed Avira (free) anti virus but can't find anywhere version information for it. There is no top menu (where Help used to have About section) and Help button just opens up to generic help book about Avira. So with latest avira antivirus how do i find its version?
     
  22. porrkanon

    porrkanon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Posts:
    52
    i use linux 90% of the time, windows only for gaming, its not even online except for starting steam and updating anti virus, so bd free is more than sufficient for me
     
  23. Tinstaafl

    Tinstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    524
    Location:
    USA
    The old UI with the top menu is located at : "C:\Program Files (x86)\Avira\Antivirus\avcenter.exe"
     
  24. Tinstaafl

    Tinstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    524
    Location:
    USA
    Agree. I use it on my gaming and home entertainment box. A couple of clicks to disable real-time protection, and you can't even tell it is running. Even with protection on, it seems to be a very low impact on performance. If I happen to need to use the web browser, or install anything, I usually set protection active.

    Also just drag any of your folders, or entire drive, and drop onto the BD GUI and you can do an on-demand scan with ease.
     
  25. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,017
    Avira taskbar icon -> Avira Connect -> Antivirus -> Antivirus UI -> "?" -> "About Avira Antivirus"
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 18, 2017
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. zapjb
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    1,003