Avira

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by JerryM, Apr 16, 2013.

  1. FRug

    FRug Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Posts:
    309
    Actually Raymond CC is wrong. The drop in downloads is due to them not linking to download.com as a mirror any longer, but instead offer a direct download from the website.
     
  2. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Credits for that, that's something more vendors should consider to do. :thumb:
     
  3. 0strodamus

    0strodamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,051
    Location:
    United Surveillance States
    Decided to uninstall Avira Premium and guess who immediately attempted network access? You guessed right, "C:\Program Files (x86)\Avira\AntiVir Desktop\apnstub.exe".
    So much for the argument that the files are just innocently sitting on your hard drive. Good riddance. :thumbd:
     
  4. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,959
    Yep, interesting.... :)
     
  5. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,038
    Strange i never experienced any outbound requests when i uninstalled avira for a brief time...

    Question..

    If you did not trust the files then why did you not just block them or uninstall them prior to uninstalling avira...

    Thanks.
     
  6. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,849
    Neither did I, what has happened at times was a connection to Avira asking the user the reasons for uninstalling the program...
     
  7. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,959
    Yeah, that seems most likely....
     
  8. 0strodamus

    0strodamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,051
    Location:
    United Surveillance States
    The Avira uninstaller did try to open the usual webpage as you guys have noted. However, apnstub.exe did make an outbound DNS attempt which I of course blocked (it also did this when I installed Avira a few weeks ago). I have installed and uninstalled Avira Premium over many versions in the past and version 13 is the first to do this. The log is below and if you're not seeing similar behavior, perhaps it is time to consider using a different firewall. :)

    Code:
    2013-06-17 11:38:57 	ask	access to network	C:\Program Files (x86)\Avira\AntiVir Desktop\apnstub.exe
     
  9. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,959
    Does anyone know what "apnstub.exe" is supposed to do?
     
  10. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,960
    =
    July 1st 2011
    Avira SearchFree-Toolbar - What is the use for apnstub.exe?

    Noted..... but personally, I don't believe them anymore.

    ---------------------------
    btw, on AV-C Whole Product Dynamic Test, Avira goes lower month by month.......

    http://chart.av-comparatives.org/chart1.php?chart=chart2&year=2013&month=5&sort=1&zoom=3

    Compromised: Nov '12=0,4% --> Dec '12=1,6% --> March=1,7% --> April=1,8% --> May=2,5%........
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2013
  11. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,959
  12. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,038
    This is only 1 testing organisation...immaterial.
    I will add this is where testing companies do seem to have a tight grip on user buying decisions and i believe the more money vendors pay these companies the better the results.

    Anyway i have been very impressed with avira free,s performance so far and the detection rate seems very good and that is a result from my own test and not a company test.
     
  13. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,960
    That was your 6 months test or another?
    .
     
  14. drsavant2000

    drsavant2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    America
    Avira's New Browser Toolbar Sucks!

    Avira's new browser toolbar robs between 1-4 mbits/s. I'm rebuilding a win 7 box, and during Avira installation I clicked the check box for web security like every other unsuspecting soul, but luckily IE10 asked me before activating it automatically and I declined. Luckily when I reactivated it I saw all the boxes popping up asking for permission to send information to this web site, and that website - there were at least 7 different websites gleaning information from that one toolbar. One or two looked legit, the rest didn't.

    Luckily I had done several speed tests before I activated Avira's toolbar, and I noticed a dramatic decrease in speed. I deactivated the toolbar, and finally had to uninstall it, but still it was leaching off my internet somewhere/somehow (or just slowing it down a bit). Luckily I had installed AX64 Time Machine and I simply restored to the image before I installed Avira. Viola! My Speed came right back to where it had been.

    Not believing Avira would do something this ridiculous I installed Avira again trying to see if I could activate web security without the toolbar, but no luck, and the speed decrease returned. After another restore speed came right back up again!

    I'm not really impressed with Avira's new policy of chaining customer's to their new toolbar. (I honestly don't see why they force the new toolbar on us? The old web security worked just fine without the toolbar. Users ought to have a choice.) AV Comparatives winner of 2012 is Bit Defender, so this is the one I'm going to test next.
     
  15. Taliscicero

    Taliscicero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,439
    Re: Avira's New Browser Toolbar Sucks!

    Having a toolbar won't do this. Having an AV that scans HTTP traffic can cause overheads, but this is all AV's that scan HTTP and not just Avira. Also the Avira toolbar is not forced, Its optional.
     
  16. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,021
    Re: Avira's New Browser Toolbar Sucks!

    its toolbar (co-op with ASK) ever was fake security and made more trouble than usage in firefox.
     
  17. 0strodamus

    0strodamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,051
    Location:
    United Surveillance States
    Re: Avira's New Browser Toolbar Sucks!

    Not another Avira toolbar thread! :) I agree with your assessment. FYI, this has been rehashed ad nauseam here.
     
  18. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,201
    Re: Avira's New Browser Toolbar Sucks!

    I agree with the OP that the practice is wrong.

    Would you please tell us to which 7 websites information is sent ?
     
  19. Antimalware18

    Antimalware18 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Posts:
    417
    Re: Avira's New Browser Toolbar Sucks!

    OT: The bluntness of the thread title made me laugh out loud

    On Topic: it didnt bother me that much when i used avira.
     
  20. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    Re: Avira's New Browser Toolbar Sucks!

    sadly if you want the free version its something you have to deal with. this is why i dont use free av software because of ads or toolbars etc (as well as many other free programs that include this junk), in the pro version you can uncheck it during the install. but imo i feel the company has every right to add whatever they want in the free versions they are allowing people to use the software for free after all. i dont mean to offend anyone but there are a lot of free programs i dont use for this very reason.
     
  21. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,631
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Re: Avira's New Browser Toolbar Sucks!

    Wonder 1st post and you just have opened another thread for the same silly "toolbar" theme again :thumbd:

    Next time read carefully the software vendor's policy before attempting an installation.
     
  22. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,960
    Update 13 [v.13.0.0.3736] start to roll-out today, 24.06.2013, 10 AM CET+1.

    The update will take about a week to roll-out to all users, all products, all supported languages. So, don’t worry if you can’t see this change immediately.
    ---------------------------

     
  23. phyniks

    phyniks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Posts:
    258
    Thanks for the info
     
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2013
  24. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,201
    Second part: removal of options.

    While I cannot know what exactly is going to happen, I suspect that many experienced users are not going to like that.

    'More and more people during these years have increased their knowledge in using computers and have a better understanding how antivirus software is helping them to be safe. The difference between the “average user” and the tech-savvy user has started to disappear.'

    Nonsense.

    Most people won't understand at least some of the advanced options.

    Which would mean it's likely that options will disappear.
    Marketing vs. producing and developing an advanced AV ?
     
  25. ZeroDay

    ZeroDay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Posts:
    714
    Location:
    UK
    As regards changes Avira could make I'd say this is way down the list of importance.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.