Avira

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by JerryM, Apr 16, 2013.

  1. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,304
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    All is well Securon! Everyone is entitled to choose the solution which best suits their environment, GSicher (tongue-in-cheek) is an outstanding product with excellent detection rates… I know Avira has in the past made some dubious decisions which have triggered quite a reaction here at Wilders, at least within the context of their free version.

    Perhaps the strong reaction of some Wilders member have accomplished something, as currently Avira has eliminated some of the negative aspects that you’ve listed…
     
  2. KaptainBug

    KaptainBug Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Posts:
    484
    Uninstalled Avira free and rebooted to complete the uninstallation. It was supposed to clean all leftover files upon reboot. To my surprise, Avira OE was running in startup.. :argh:
    Good job Avira. This product has become a piece of **** and I'm not going to recommend this to anyone.
     
  3. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    i agree about removing the firewall. it should not be called a suite anymore and those of us who bought the suite WITH the firewall had it removed from us. i still like pro but did pay for the suite with the firewall.
     
  4. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,304
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    Out of curiosity I’ve compared my scan results UI with the one supplied by UncleSpellbinder at post #3079.

    USBinder Mine

    Scanned files: 440,824 558,416

    Scanned directories: 15,120 44,384

    Scanned archives: 4,298 5,712

    Used time: 2:27 1:12

    Objects scanned: 1,158 1,674

    Scanned: 0,8% 100%

    Seems to me that the scan actually took place almost in its entirety, it is only the cursor measuring the actual percentage that got somehow stuck on 0.8%
     
  5. LocoSec

    LocoSec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Posts:
    106
    Location:
    Germany
  6. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,677
    Before:

    Now:
    ........

    :isay:
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2015
  7. LocoSec

    LocoSec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Posts:
    106
    Location:
    Germany
    @anon

    As I told you: We haven't changed our prices within the period end of 2014 to beginning of 2015. NOW (as of yesterday) we're running a sale! So please see that between these postings are some days. Also I cannot say how long this sale is up and running.
     
  8. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,718
    Location:
    Gaia
    What sale?
    It's still 24 EUR....
     
  9. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,677
    AFAIK the normal price for Avira Antivirus Pro since the release of 2014* version was 23,95 EURO [from 19,95 -> 23,95 EURO]*.
    Now there are two prices: 23,95 and 29,95 EURO.
    So what I see is an increase from 23,95 to 29,95 EURO and not vice versa.

    -----------------------
    * 1. Why do the new products cost more?
    Created : Wednesday, October 16, 2013
    http://www.avira.com/en/support-for-home-knowledgebase-detail/kbid/1623
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2015
  10. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,304
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    The Avira's website shows US $30.99 here in Seoul which is 26.32 Euros (fluctuating of course). I hope the license still covers at least 3 house computers...
     
  11. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,748
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    I asked the same question recently on the new forum as well. Not out of frustration but rather curiosity. The answer I received was that such technology could actually slow down the scanning of a very large file and that Avira has no plans at present to incorporate such. I don't know if that is in fact true, but that's the answer I received.
     
  12. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    2,892
    so tragic to see how they ruined what once was a great product.
     
  13. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,748
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    It's not ruined for me yet at least.
     
  14. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    I used Avira almost exclusively from around 2002-2007. It wasn't expensive, and was a good product, but beyond that I noticed infected machines anytime Avira was installed - it was missing too much. I wouldn't touch it now due to several issues, namely slow scans, slowed booting of systems, and the lack of ATP needed for the advancing threat matrix. Avira simply hasn't stepped up to the changing market. Raw scanning of files it seems to have good detection, but it seems to totally lack in terms of other technologies like caching, fingerprinting, machine learning, and reputation. As such I wouldn't even consider running it.
     
  15. aaa839

    aaa839 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    253
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Hm...
    something already present in Avira
    caching(already present in xVDF,but not much improvement with scanning speed or initialization,, fingerprinting and machine learning(on APC,(A.I.) not local)local have an internal white list of windows files(if you are not turn on the integrity check system files) and reputation(URL Cloud,AND APC too)not Local.
    The questionable speed module was rootkit scan and archive scanning
    it increase a lot of the scanning time
    (Archive Scanning:still not fast enough on extracting(if you have new processor,still worst it seems not using multicore/multithread for extracting) because it need to extract it before scanning,when you have always updating your machine drive, you should find out your driverstore/filerepository folder have lots of the files which including self-extract too)
    Rootkit scan on some computer could stuck for a unexpected time(for a hours or longer)
    Even you have turn on optimize scan setting(which should let the scanner use more thread on multi-core cpu to improve the scanning speed)
    but it seems not working on vista or higher system....
    try to turn off and turn on to compare both result
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2015
  16. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,304
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    To each his own. What you are saying is purely arbitrary. Scans are not slow in my machines, dynamic tests in 2014 at AV Comparatives and AV Test have yielded results as good as and sometimes better than Kaspersky, after introducing their cloud technology (APC). “Avira simply hasn't stepped up to the changing market” is nonsense.
     
  17. aaa839

    aaa839 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    253
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Conclude what he means for
    AUC(Url-Cloud),APC(Protection Cloud),AIRS(Intelligent Repair System),
    was an useless,and avira has stepped down from the market
     
  18. Toni R

    Toni R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Posts:
    19
    The latest beta build 15.0.8.618 has just been uploaded to the beta update servers. If you are already a beta tester you will receive this update automatically.
    Not a beta tester yet but willing to join? You can apply here.

    Changes:
    • increased update frequency for the Free Antivirus (default is 2h, same as Antivirus Pro)
      • effective for new installations
      • existing installations remain unchanged but users could change interval to 2h manually (automatic change of existing installations probably with a future update)
    More details can be found in the changelog inside the BetaCenter.

    Let us know if you run into any issue.

    Thanks!

    Kind regards,
    Toni
     
  19. rookieman

    rookieman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    411
  20. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,677
    The first installer is "Avira Antivirus Pro" and contains the Antivirus module.
    The second installer is "Avira System Speedup, ISS" and contains the Avira System Speedup module.
     
  21. rookieman

    rookieman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    So these two files is for the suite?
     
  22. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,677
    Yes.
    --------
     
  23. DX2

    DX2 Guest

    I'm in the Avira Beta program. Trying out the Pro Business version. Nice and light so far.
     
  24. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,304
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
  25. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    lol at their "retail" prices over 100$ for the internet security
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.