Avira

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by JerryM, Apr 16, 2013.

  1. darts

    darts Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Posts:
    443
    Location:
    Netherlands
    There is no download link for the update 7 from Avira too installe it on top ?
     
  2. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    here are offline installers for avira update 7:

    av free version: http://personal.avira-update.com/package/wks_avira13/win32/en/pecl/avira_free_antivirus_en.exe
    av pro version: http://premium.avira-update.com/package/wks_avira13/win32/en/pepr/avira_antivirus_suite_en.exe
    av internet security: http://premium.avira-update.com/pac...2/en/iss/avira_internet_security_suite_en.exe

    changelog:

    2014-10-01: Version 2014, Update 7
    1. General Information
      Avira Antivirus for Windows, version 2014 update 7 has been released on October 1st, 2014.
    2. Improvements
      • Internal security improvements
      • Adjust description text in custom setup to state clear Avira Protection Cloud is also installed
    3. Bugfixes
      • Version info of avlode.rdf & avlode.dll missing on the Scanner Logfile & About Window
      • Quick scan profile description not correct
      • Updater: No mouseover hand displayed for the "Help" Icon
      • Fixed random Web Protection issue when downloading large files
      • Avira Control Center crashes sometimes without any user interaction
      • Avira Free Antivirus: After proceeding a product update without final reboot request the Online Essentials Launcher installation is offered two times
      • regsrv32.exe crashes when installing the server kit
      • Default width of version column in "About" dialog is too small to display complete version number
      • Avira Server Security: BSOD on HyperV Cluster
     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2014
  3. darts

    darts Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Posts:
    443
    Location:
    Netherlands
    This you can install over the old version?
     
  4. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,805
  5. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,805
    Your link are not for update 7 (Product version 14.0.7.306).
    They are for 14.0.4.672 version........... ;)

    Installer for Avira Pro downloaded and used in my laptop:
    Installed version was the v.14.0.6.570, run the installer => new version 14.0.4.672 !!!,
    auto update => back to 14.0.6.570 lol!!!

    @ all,
    Don't use the above mentioned link.
    Your current 14.0.6.570 version will roll back to 14.0.4.672 and then will auto update back to the 14.0.6.570 version!!! :eek:
    --------------------
    Version 2014
    14.0.7.306 is a step by step rollout, that's why the official download page remains with
    Version: 14.0.6.570 =
    http://www.avira.com/en/download/product/avira-antivirus-pro
     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2014
  6. darts

    darts Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Posts:
    443
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Ok i will wait then till i get the update :)
     
  7. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    you can but i prefer to quickly uninstall and reinstall
     
  8. Pat MacKnife

    Pat MacKnife Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    569
    Location:
    Belgium
  9. darts

    darts Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Posts:
    443
    Location:
    Netherlands
    But there is no downloadlink for this new version.
     
  10. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    the one posted is the most current download from what im being told. technically there is no 2015 version. there is just a newer 2014 version they named 2015 again this is from what im told
     
  11. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
  12. KaptainBug

    KaptainBug Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Posts:
    484
    do they still have the online essentials crap in the free version ?
     
  13. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,805
  14. Pat MacKnife

    Pat MacKnife Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    569
    Location:
    Belgium
    And then the day after you have it again, cancel and you have it again day after day ...... o_O
    Installed Avira Free (14.0.7.306) yesterday, it offers 2 times and i cancelled 2 times, today at start-up computer there it was again... how foolish, if you don't want to use it.
    For now only solution is to install O.E to use this AV or uninstall avira (you don't need to create an account)
    And it uses 25 Megs of RAM for something you don't want..... (no added value is this OE crap)
    Uninstalled avira AV
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2014
  15. Ray 1959

    Ray 1959 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2014
    Posts:
    4
    Anyone else having an issue with the taskbar icon no longer having any options but open avira and it only shows app store and manage apps? Had to create a quick launch with avcenter.exe to even be able to open it.
     
  16. Ray 1959

    Ray 1959 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2014
    Posts:
    4
    Avira service host was not started, started it via services.msc and the issue went away.
     
  17. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    yeah, knee jerk reaction by me, I apologize. Removed Panda Cloud with Antivirus Remover and it killed my network connection on PC. Had to reimage. Sorry Avira, my bad. :)
     
  18. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    hey trjam i think you need to turn avira back on :isay: (see your avatar)
     
  19. Austerity

    Austerity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Georgia / USA
    We all make mistakes :D

    Avira and Webroot are my all time favorites. Used Avira for years (mainly free)

    I do try other software, I like ESET a lot too and the new Trend Micro is good.
     
  20. redwolfe_98

    redwolfe_98 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Posts:
    581
    Location:
    South Carolina, USA
    what you are seeing is avira's "launcher", commonly referred to as avira's "online essentials".. somehow, it is suppose to take you to a "my.avira" webpage, for whatever that is worth..
     
  21. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,374
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    It might be a bit premature to talk about it, but Avira Pro installed successfully onto the newly released Win 10 Tech Preview (32 bit). It also passed the Eicar test both blocking with the Real Time and Web protection, which means it's working properly. I also would like to mention that the installer is the same as in the past, product version is 14.0.7.306.

    I forgot to mention that system impact is very light, turning off Windows Defender and installing Avira didn't make any difference (mail and Firewall modules are off)
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2014
  22. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,641
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    How do you like it so far?
     
  23. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,374
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    I'll be brief as it is off topic on this thread: I like Win 8 a lot and Win 10 is basically Win 8 + the reinstatement of the start menu, therefore nothing new really, but it will be released in 2015 therefore lots of things might change until then...
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/windows-10-announced.368734/
    My post #128
     
  24. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,641
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Thank you Osaban, I'll take a look on that thread and will see if eventually I try the Windows 10 Preview.
     
  25. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,374
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    Mac, you are always welcome...
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.