Avira

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by JerryM, Apr 16, 2013.

  1. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Avira seems to have fallen out of favor. Some years ago it was at the top, or close. However, its detection rates went down. The 2011 Detection Tests by AV-C indicated it was sub-par compared to the top ones.

    Evidently Avira took it to heart, and recently it has returned to being a top tier AV. But I still do not see much discussion of it.

    Who is now using Avira, and what is your assessment of the internet security version?

    Thanks,
    Jerry
     
  2. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,228
    Location:
    North Texas
    Hi Jerry...if I'm not mistaken, they had a very good showing recently...I need to look back and see. Where is trjam when you need him...that is his old love!
     
  3. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    AFAIK the problems with AVIRA have to do with slow development, Windows 8 support and certain features like the cloud and ProActiv (behaviour blocker) not being implemented fast enough (AFAIK ProActiv still doesn't work on 64-bit). For a general user, I think it's still serviceable, though one may also want to try other options.
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2013
  4. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,228
    Location:
    North Texas
    Jerry...the AV Comparatives...Real World Protection Test March 2013 and File detection Test March 2013 had some of their results.
     
  5. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Yes the 2013 tests showed excellent results, but if it does not work on 64 bits I would not be intereted
    That would be in line with Firecat when he stated "slow development."

    It is a shame sometimes, "How the mighty have fallen."

    Thanks for the comments. There is no reason for me to consider it over some other applications.

    Jerry
     
  6. drhu22

    drhu22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Posts:
    343
    Firecat get youre facts straight before posting important info. Avira does in fact work on 64 bit windows. Im using it alongside Private Firewall, Sandboxie, and Dnscrypt on W7 Ultimate 64 bit. Its running light and fast with no problems, as well as less popups than in the past. The only peeve was the online installer which was slow, but there is an offline version here...
    http://www.avira.com/en/download/product/avira-free-antivirus
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 16, 2013
  7. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Avira is still one of my top 3 products. Its protection level is stellar.
     
  8. Kyle1420

    Kyle1420 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Posts:
    479
    doesn't avira free have an annoying nag\pop up window?
     
  9. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    I think Firecat was referring to ProActiv. The firewall is constantly quizzing the user though whenever a new program or process is encountered or so I'm told. Not intelligent like Norton or Kaspersky.
     
  10. oliverjia

    oliverjia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,517
    I am using the IS. Yes the free av is annoying because there are too many nagging windows.
     
  11. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,214
    It works perfectly on my Windows 8 (64bit). The only reason that I use it on demand is that I suspect it might delay reboots with Shadow Defender. My new computer boots in exactly 12 seconds, this time doesn't change even with Avira fully installed.

    ProActiv? No, it hasn't been implemented yet on 64 bit, but one should consider that other applications had problems with Windows 64 bit versions (Defensewall is still 32 bit only, Sandboxie states that its 64 bit version isn't as secure as its 32 bit).

    If someone uses a layered defense, IMO ProActiv isn't really necessary. I don't know why Avira has slowed down its development but I can speculate that a few years back it has rushed ProActiv into new versions with negative consequences: unacceptable slowdowns both at start up and browsing, all sorts of conflicts with other applications. I personally prefer slow improvements which usually come without serious issues.

    Avira Premium 2013 installed perfectly on Windows (64bit) and so far I have no problems after 2 weeks. Finally its detection capability is well known to be among the best with a low impact on system resources.
     
  12. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Thanks.
    Jerry
     
  13. drhu22

    drhu22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Posts:
    343
    On rereading Firecats post you may be right (you have to read closely)... however it looks like JerryM (op) left with the impression that 64 bit is not supported at all, which was how I read it at first.
     
  14. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,947
    Location:
    USA
    I think they shot themselves in the foot recently by putting adware in the free version. I remember there was a big fuss over it here at Wilders. I always used the paid version so I don't know what the free version had in it that was so annoying. I did use the free version of Avira back in the day because the only version there was was free! It was a great AV then. I loved it. NOD 32, and Avira were the only AV's i used. Now AV companies are learning from one another so there does not seem to be huge gaps in technology between the companies like in the past when NOD 32, and then shortly after Avira were both blowing the competition away on AV Comparative proactive test.
     
  15. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,228
    Location:
    North Texas
    I ran it for 2-3 weeks on this Win 7 x 64....just fine.
     
  16. VectorFool

    VectorFool Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Posts:
    280
    Location:
    India
    Yeah the popup nags were very annoying
    but there exists a registry tweak that allows you to do away with the Popup ads and also enable the webshield without installing the toolbar :)
    i used it last year and it worked (on my friend's PC)
     
  17. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    I have license for the IS,but honestly,it feels like it slow down a little my laptop.So i choose the free version and i installed it without the toolbar and web protection,as my browser is sandboxed and don't really need it.About the update pop-up...yep,you can disable it in gpedit on the right Windows OS.And i set up my Avira free to update every 2 hours.Once or twice a week a tiny pop-up appears in the bottom right corner to offer you their paid protection,which as i said,i already have.Other than these,it's fast,light and my laptop feels like no AV is installed.Despite some results or others opinion,i trust Avira and i feel safe with it.:thumb:
     
  18. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,085
    This.

    ---------------------------------------------------
    A) May 2009 => Avira ProActive (32-bit only)
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=242137

    B) Feb 2012=>
    C) April 2013 (after 4 years) => Avira ProActive 64-bit? Not yet!
     
  19. Stefan Kurtzhals

    Stefan Kurtzhals AV Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Posts:
    701
    Detection of zero minute malware is still not there where it should be, but with the coming 2nd phase of the Avira protection cloud integration (beta starts soon) the detection will improve dramatically - not in on-demand scans, though.

    2.0 of the behaviour blocker with a better rule system and 64 bit support is still on the road map, but with the better integration of the APC, there is actually less need for it. I favour blocking of malware before it can execute instead of blocking it during execution (even if you have a sandbox or rollback system). We also are working on adding another detection module into the APC beside the existing AI that works similar to a behaviour blocker.
    Keep in mind that a behaviour blocker also has some disadvantages: the hooks slow down the system, they can cause stability problems with certain 3rd party software, you cannot monitor all system behaviour in 64 bit as in 32 bit anymore - and as any local detection/protection methods, malware writers do attack and bypass it.

    There are more interesting items on the near roadmap, improvements for initialization speed, scan speed (e.g. for boot time), RAM usage, updater.
     
  20. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,085
    I noticed that you mention that not only here, but in on other threads too.

    There are many "registry tweaks" for many software.
    I think that here we talk about the program itself, not for the so called "registry tweaks" :rolleyes:
     
  21. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,085
    Avira will stop bundling crapwares* (on free and paid versions**) or not?

    *ask crapware

    ** =
    http://i.imgur.com/5WvFZxL.png
     
  22. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    I don't think Stefan will comment on that, although I hope he does. Not his department.
     
  23. Stefan Kurtzhals

    Stefan Kurtzhals AV Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Posts:
    701
    /me dreams of uncommenting a specific ADWARE/Adware.Gen detection rule... :rolleyes:
     
  24. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,085
    Got it?
    =
     
  25. Antimalware18

    Antimalware18 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Posts:
    417
    What drove me away from Avira was the falling detection rates a few years ago, on top of that the lack of a zero-day module AND on top of that some major inconsistencies in detection with the free version...

    Let me explain. I used to test Malware in VM's on a crap PC (dont anymore because a lack of time and no crap pc anymore...)

    When I was testing Avira Free I would use Malc0de database because it shows VT reports of malicious files and VT shows which Database version the detection was from. When the VT DB version matched that of the DB version on the machine and I downloaded the file to test the protection the file WAS NOT detected. I repeat with matching DB versions WAS NOT detected. I am sorry but that was completely unacceptable even more so then mess-ups with FP's like the recent one with Malwarebyte's.

    Now, If someone could somehow tell me for these testing results I had as well as the implimentation of a zero-day module (BB, Cloud) In the free version I would be happy with using this AV again. But it would have to do ALOT to impress me because I'm a avast! aholic :D
     
Loading...