Avira Web site - Looks like it's down?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by sneakybit, Aug 19, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sneakybit

    sneakybit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    I typed in http://www.avira.com/
    What I get is a blank page and no matter what I try the site just will not load.

    Is there any official news from avira?
     
  2. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    It works for me. I am able to goto support and even check my licence info.
    I am putting my ping attempt below for reference :

     
  3. sneakybit

    sneakybit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    Thanks, I just tried again and the site loads fine. I guess it was something to do with my setup.
     
  4. s4u

    s4u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Posts:
    441
    No no
    It really was down

    Website down for maintenance
    Hello,

    because of unexpected maintenance our websites are down. All pages will be online asap.

    Thank you for your understanding.
     
  5. hex_614

    hex_614 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Posts:
    155
    Location:
    Manila, Philippines
    avira is always like that. the last time thier site was down in june i think, it was 2 weeks down. can't even download updates.
     
  6. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Working well for me.;)
     
  7. s4u

    s4u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Posts:
    441
    Yep same here. Good to see you back, Jeff ;)
     
  8. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    yep, guess I am just doomed.;)
     
  9. GES/POR

    GES/POR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,490
    Location:
    Armacham
    oefff
     
  10. GES/POR

    GES/POR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,490
    Location:
    Armacham
    2 weeks, is dat a joke?
     
  11. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Maybe they were hacked?
     
  12. FRug

    FRug Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Posts:
    309
    That's bullshit, and you know it. Their website never was down for two weeks. Ever. Not even for 2 days... This thread is about the website and not any issues you've been having with their free-version download servers on release change day at peak times when 50 million people hammer their update servers.

    No there was an issue with version numbers of downloads/MD5s being displayed on the website incorrectly causing confusion with some people who did manually verify that their downloads were correct, so they took it down and fixed it.
     
  13. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    LOL this thread just needs to die off already. the site is up works fine. so do the updates. end of story. :ninja:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.