Avira Trojan/agent Detection

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Dark Shadow, Jun 4, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Hi guys some news for the Avira crowd,Tonight I just picked up a Trojan Agent, Yea some fun at last.Here is the not so great part. It was undetected from the Guard Err,but my weekly schedule scan kicked off and the good news Avira found It during the scan and guarantined it. looked for its location Not there so I restored it to confirm it was there and yes it was.Now avira detectecd It again.I assume the guard this Time since I did no further Scan.I guarantine again and deleted It.Went back to that location and Its Gone.I repeated another scan Nothing.
    So even though Avira missed it on the fly it sure nailed it on the demand scan and wiped it out.
    Nothing so special here just wanted to share that Avira handled it well In the end.Ps just to add it was Not False.
     
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2008
  2. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    Sometimes protection misses things. You need to scan everything to download. A friend of mine, with NOD32, downloaded a lot of ---stuff, infected, and didn't scan them. It resultet in a full system scan with 10,000 detections. too bad that at that time NOD32 gave a pop up for each virus found.....destructive,
     
  3. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Hmm :cautious:... thanks for sharing your experience.
     
  4. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    I have No clue where I got it though,I dont surf porn nor open emails of unkown, I do not download music/movies and the last download was mamutu yesterday and scanned after with avira Nothing then.I did not have returnil on at the time which probably would not have happen if I did.But No worrys, not that I want to be infected but I dont worry that Much.
     
  5. Stefan Kurtzhals

    Stefan Kurtzhals AV Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Posts:
    701
    It might have been an installer/SFX (NSIS, MS CAB). Those are not scanned on-access because it would slow down the system way too much.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.