Avira suite and slow down.

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by trjam, Oct 5, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ever since the web module was put into the suite, and I click om the tray icon to open the GUI, it has a very distinctive delay that was never there. It is becoming a real pain to have to click on it, to go into the GUI to mark email spam or not.:thumbd:
     
  2. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    I never noticed any difference myself, in all versions I just double click on the tray icon and it takes a few seconds to load the GUI. Nothing seems any different in the suite....
     
  3. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    thanks, must be on my end.
     
  4. lsyao

    lsyao Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    the same to me
     
  5. The One

    The One Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Posts:
    246
    Testing Avira as we speak and I feel a slight slowdown as well.
     
  6. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Found my issue and it wasnt related to Avira. This is such a top notch suite. And the best is yet to come.;)
     
  7. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum

    So what was causing the problem?
     
  8. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    Didn't think it was Avira, I am having no troubles here with the Suite, the http scanner is the best I've seen as far as it's impact on browsing, here it's like it's not even there... No slowdowns anyhow... Good news...
     
  9. Arup

    Arup Guest

    Yep,one of the most unobtrusive of the suites out.
     
  10. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    Avira definitely ain't slow, from my basic performance tests its the 2nd fastest so far.
     
  11. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Needed a bad defragging. I swear you need to defrag Vista every day.
     
  12. Leo2005

    Leo2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    Braunschweig (Germany)
    well vista does this automatically every week as far as i know.
     
  13. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,522
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Glad you're sorted.



    Sorry. But thats funnier than *** to this recent Linux (PCLinuxOS - http://www.pclinuxos.com/) convert. :D
     
  14. Big Apple

    Big Apple Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Posts:
    724
    Very new to me.......I don't have that problem at all. Just having Vista defrag with it's own standard schedule (once a week) and it runs like silk!
     
  15. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    Likewise here. Since the first initial defrag, it has only been showing 2-4% fragmentation daily. I have it set to defrag every Wed at 2am.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.