Avira stopped updating?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by tonyseeking, Dec 17, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tonyseeking

    tonyseeking Former Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Posts:
    406
    Anyone else experienced Avira AntiVirus problems with update? It just loops and then finally says unable to connect to server. Been happing for 4 days now. :thumbd:
     
  2. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    nope, havent had that problem yet.
     
  3. Niels

    Niels Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    466
    Location:
    Belgium
    I am not using Avira but you should allow the update process in your firewall sometimes after an update of your firewall some rules get messed up.
    Be sure that the update proces is allowed to connect to the internet but you also need to be sure that the update process (I mean the part that is needed for avira to update) can listen on any ports and to any ip-address that should normally solve your problem. I only know how to do that in my firewall. I think that you need to edit that firewall rule. If that fails try this press the windows button together with r now type: cmd press enter. Now type this ipconfig /flushdns press enter. After that type exit and press enter. Reboot your pc.

    I don't know if you can select alternative update servers. Maybe you can try that.

    Kind regards,
    Niels
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2008
  4. Murack

    Murack Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Posts:
    23
    Location:
    Italy, Sicily
    hi

    if u have avire free, servers are often busy and slow

    I advice you to update in late evening

    Alternatively, you can update manual:

    donwload from here the vdf file

    then,from the control panel of avira, selecting "update-> manual update" and select the vdf file you downloaded the first

    finish :D

    Regards
     
  5. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    Just updated the Free Avira and no problems so far. Check your firewall
     
  6. Big Apple

    Big Apple Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Posts:
    724
    That's the main reason I switched to Avira Premium, too often having trouble with updating!
     
  7. progress

    progress Guest

    That's the reason why I switched to AVG 8.0 :p
     
  8. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    No probs at all on my machine (personal edition).

    Gerard
     
  9. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    It depends on where he lives. The key is to update between 1AM to 430AM, German time, when much of Europe is sleeping. Germany is Greenwich Mean Time (UTC) +1.
     
  10. Murack

    Murack Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Posts:
    23
    Location:
    Italy, Sicily
    I do not trust much avg (see the numerous and dangerous FP Recently)

    Regards :)
     
  11. Murack

    Murack Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Posts:
    23
    Location:
    Italy, Sicily
    I agree

    excellent clarification

    ps: I'm living in italy :D

    byez
     
  12. progress

    progress Guest

    Yes, the same like Avast or Avira ;)
     
  13. Murack

    Murack Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Posts:
    23
    Location:
    Italy, Sicily
    sorry, but I do not agree

    Avg in this year had at least a couple of very dangerous FP for the system (do you remember of "aaaamon.dll", "user32.dll"?)

    Avira not....

    I use Avira for a year, and did not give fp so dangerous

    In the last report of av-comparatives of this year (Retrospective/ProActive Test of november): Avira 17 fp, Avg 21 fp......

    Regards :)
     
  14. progress

    progress Guest

    It's a fact that Avira and Avast also had some dangerous FP, so let's stop the discussion here ... *puppy*
     
  15. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    But, I ask again, at what percentage of a total base tested, is considered excessive. I asked IBK the size that was used, but he remains silent. If you detect 20 FPs out of 40 WOW.:eek: But if you detect 20FPs out of 10,000, is that really worse then the vendor who detected 7.:doubt:
     
  16. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,293
    ROFL

    I've had Avira on my systems from windows 98 to Windows Xp now from version 6 to now version 8,I've hardly EVER gotten false postives. All settings are on HIGH as well.

    Sorry I'm missing out on all the fun I guess :D
     
  17. Hiker

    Hiker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Posts:
    268
    I agree, I've been running Avira for a year now and have only had one false positive. I also have scheduled updates 6 times a day and rarely have any problems. That said, of the 6 updates, usually only 3 or 4 actually update, with the rest reporting up-to-date.
     
  18. Murack

    Murack Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Posts:
    23
    Location:
    Italy, Sicily
    why?

    we are only exchanging their impressions and opinions

    I've Avira from september of 2007, e in this year I have not had FP so dangerous like Avg....

    tell me one example of FP Dangerous of Avira.....thanks :)

    ps: I want to stress that it is true that Avira have FP, but in this year Avg deteriorated about FP

    Regards :)
     
  19. progress

    progress Guest

    Avira FP for example: winlogon.exe, svchost.exe :rolleyes:
     
  20. Murack

    Murack Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Posts:
    23
    Location:
    Italy, Sicily
    ok, when?

    I tried to track this resounding dangerous FP on the web...but I have not found anything

    Can you bring back some news from a site?

    Certainly I do not ever given me these FP......Since I installed Avira (from september 2007) ...

    Perhaps I was lucky or I have a short memory....

    But I would say that behind these names, there are very often rootkit....o trojan...

    Regards :)
     
  21. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,293

    Never had these as false postives either so,I'ma thinking unless you provide us with some proof,your claims are null and void.
     
  22. progress

    progress Guest

  23. Murack

    Murack Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Posts:
    23
    Location:
    Italy, Sicily
    well, I think that old story of one year and a half is very little relevant

    you can not evaluate an antivirus product based on old data of nearly two years

    You remember that in those two years, came out two new versions of avira (from 6 to 8 )

    and soon released the 9 (already in beta)

    I want to point out that:

    1. avira undoubtedly suffers from FP

    2. in the past year, Avg deteriorated much about FP

    Regards
     
  24. progress

    progress Guest

    So every AV can give you a dangerous FP, in 2009 it could be Avira, Avast or AVG! There is no perfect AV ;)
     
  25. Murack

    Murack Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Posts:
    23
    Location:
    Italy, Sicily
    I agree

    and what this means?

    This means that you must choose the virus with fewer defects

    Avira, in this years, has steadily improved about FP

    instead, Avg is getting worse

    Furthermore, Avira is the top recognition

    Avg not.....

    maybe in a few years, the situation is the opposite, but today is not so

    then this your claim is wrong:
    Regards :)

    PS: IMHO
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.