avira - spyware-Doctor -

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Ximi, Jun 5, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ximi

    Ximi Infrequent Poster

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Posts:
    40
    Location:
    Estern
    Hello.
    I use Avira, and when i scan it don't find anything, then i scan with spybot and it don't find anything eather.
    But then i thinked about spyware-doctor, and i sometimes download and just scan with it, because i can not have it on my pc it is to heavy.
    But everytime i download and scan with spyware-Doctor it found some spyware, but spybot or Avira never catch those.
    How come everytime i install again spyware-doctor it find something on my PC?

    here is a pic:
    http://img68.imageshack.us/img68/1348/screenshot012fh0.jpg

    screenshot012fh0.jpg
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 5, 2008
  2. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    well tracking cookies arent really malware so ignore those. just clean out temporary files.
    the rest look like false possitives.
    does spyware doctor still use false possitives to scare users in to buying it?
    then once you buy it and scan finds nothing?
    thats what they used to do.
    i would reccomand double checking with different scanner.
    try the ones in my sig
     
  3. EliteKiller

    EliteKiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,138
    Location:
    TX
    Spyware Doctor paid or the free starter edition? If it is the latter then it only has 1/3 of the definitions available. In any event both will net FP's (possibly to goad you into purchasing the program) and there are better free anti-spyware/malware apps available that do not slow down your pc.
     
  4. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    I have tried SD a couple times with the same problem of FP. I ditched it for good a year or so ago.

    Best,
    Jerry
     
  5. PierreF

    PierreF Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Posts:
    55
    SD makes your surfing much slower. I tried the Starter Edition and found the Google Updater leaves many traces in the registry. I will never use it again.
     
  6. MalwareDie

    MalwareDie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Posts:
    500
    If you clear your cache, there should be no detections... maybe.
     
  7. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Run a good history/cookie/junk cleaner, like CCleaner FIRST and then scan your computer. That's how I did it, 3 years back.
     
  8. computer geek

    computer geek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Posts:
    776
    Am I right in saying it uses virusbuster? I experienced malware every every time I installed this thing and nothing else can find it.
     
  9. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    'pctools antivirus' uses VirusBuster.
     
  10. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Hi, these must be reg enteries, no files. Can u confirm this?

    It,s easy to mislead the ordinary users by false positive reg entries as they can,t re-check. If these are files, anyone can upload them to Virus Total etc to know the truth.

    It,s just my suspision though.
     
  11. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    For now;)
     
  12. century

    century Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Posts:
    92
    My Dear Ximi,
    Are you using the free or the paid version of Antivir?
    If you are using the free version, then install Spybot SD or SpywareTerminator along with it. Also install SuperAntispyware free for on demand scan.
    In case of Antivir Premium, the paid version, which has antispy function, just go for SuperAntispyware free. I am using this combination with Online Armor free firewall & things are ok so far.
    However, you can additionally use ThreatFire free for mental peace & surf all the bad sites.
     
  13. Tareq Laskar

    Tareq Laskar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    Bangladesh
    Hello Ximi.

    The first category of infections are cookies. They are detected by many antispyware applications (not all) because they pose a minor (which may be considered negligiable) threat. But an antivirus application does not detect these so no detection by antivir. These detections are not fps.

    The adware advertising detection is also mostly cookies and registry entries. They are most likely not fps.

    Spyware known bad sites are sites you have bookmarked in your browser and will be removed if you choose to do so. They could be fps but it's better that you check that you have no spyware infested sites bookmarked.

    It would be better to know details about the last two detections, what were the files and where were they detected before making sure what to do with them.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.