Avira Security Suite Version 10 firewall

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by The Hammer, May 5, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Is it any good? Easy or difficult to configure? Does it stealth all ports?
     
  2. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    Grumble... (#1 and #1:cool:.
     
  3. Matthijs5nl

    Matthijs5nl Guest

    Stealthing ports means nothing, all firewalls can stealth all ports. So does my Windows 7 firewall.
     
  4. NoIos

    NoIos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Posts:
    607
    There are so many better choices out there. Some vendors, for marketing reasons mainly, had to have a suite. This made them create components of not equal value for their suites. They need much more time to produce balanced suites.

    If you have already bought the suite, you could probably think it's a waste to not use the firewall. I don't agree but I understand it.
    My suggestion is to use two separate products antivirus + firewall/hips ( choosing what you consider best of each sector and the products that fit best your setup and habbits ).
    Also consider using the OS native firewall, saving resources and money.

    In any case there are out there much better firewalls than Avira's.
     
  5. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Haven't bought the suite. However it was a consideration.
     
  6. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    :D

    I agree.
     
  7. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Partially, fully? Could you expand on this?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.