Avira-Scan problems

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by danny9, Jan 29, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    Hi,
    Been using Avira premium for several weeks now and have been quite impressed.
    However, today I tried to scan my computer.
    1st, the Rootkit scan. Will not complete. Stops at 23.9% at this file:
    C:\ documents and settings\ network services\ ...\ desktop. ini
    A search of their forums show users with similiar problems but with different files. The only way to get out of this is using the Task Manager to stop the service.
    2nd problem, A full regular scan does complete and shows the report results.
    The problem here is the exec. will not shut down. Keeps running at 50% cpu and cannot kill it. The only I was able to stop it was to reboot.
    Tried again, same problems.
    Did a full uninstall and reinstalled. Same problem.
    Can't help but wonder if the last engine update had anything to do with this.
    The scans prior completed with no problems.
    Is this just me or is anyone else having like problems?
    Thanks, Dan :cool:
     
  2. s4u

    s4u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Posts:
    441
    did you try and ask at the avira forum?
     
  3. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    No, not yet though there are a few posts with some like problems.
    One suggested a chkdsk scan. It corrected some files and it was said the Rootkit scan work afterwards. I tried it but my results were clean.
    I just came here because of the number of avira users and to see if any others had similiar problems.
    Just a hunch that it was the engine update of yesterday that maybe caused the problems. If so, it would affect others.
    Thanks for the reply, Dan
     
  4. Graystoke

    Graystoke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,502
    Location:
    The San Joaquin Valley, California
    danny9............That is why I don't use Avira any more. When I ran a full system scan, it would always stop during the rootkit scan. It would stop at a file, which I can't remember the name of right now, but usually around the 67% area. I checked at the Avira forum and found others had the same problem. I was given suggestions such as make sure there are no other AVs installed, or do a complete uninstall of Avira, run CCleaner, reinstall Avira. None of those suggestions helped.

    Over time, I would wait a month or so, and give Avira another try, but with always the same results. I even tried Avira beta 8. Same problem there also. If you find a fix, please let me know.
     
  5. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    I posted both problems in their forum. We'll see what happens.
    I already tried all the fixes you did with no luck.
    If anything, I'll go back to AVG pro which I have a license for and has been flawless since I bought it last Aug.
    Tried Avira because of the 6 month trial of the premium. Started out great.
    Dan :cool:
     
  6. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    just to rule out an issue, open command prompt and type chkdsk /f /r

    You wouldn't be using dual core CPU by any chance?
     
  7. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    To answer the second question first, Yes it is a dual core CPU.
    Dell Dimension E520, Pentium D Processor 915 with Dual Core, 2.8GHZ.

    Your first suggestion, that does not start a chkdsk scan, does it?
    Thanks, Dan
     
  8. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    It will start a fix and repair chkdsk when you reboot, to me it looks like a hd error that should be fixed by that.
     
  9. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    Did you try what was suggested at Avira forum? Separating the rootkit scan from the full scan?
     
  10. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    I did a full chkdsk scan. Came up no problems, clean. :)
     
  11. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    Separating it does work without problems. 1 down. :)
    However that does not solve the other problem that the Avira exec. continues to keep on running after the full scan is completed.
    I have to reboot to shut it off.
    Any suggestions on that one?
    Thanks
     
  12. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    Good...at least one solved. I can't run the rootkit scan with the full scan. I can with the beta but I don't have the beta on my main machine so it may be the beta fixed the problem or it may be my main machine has some something that just doesn't like the rootkit scan (not a rootkit either)!

    Your second problem is very strange. I sort of did a double take when I first read your post about it. Which process exactly is that you can't kill in Task Manager? Is it avscan.exe? (Not that it should be ok to have to do it there...of course not). I'm curious. What happens when you try to kill it in Task Manager? Several Avira processes protect themselves from termination now but Lukefilewalker shouldn't be one of those and that is what is running when you do a full scan. What happens if you use process explorer instead to try and kill this process?
     
  13. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    Believe it's the avscan.exe. It can't be killed, that's why I've been rebooting.
    Sorry, I have to run out for a couple of hrs.
    Thanks, Dan :cool:
     
  14. computer geek

    computer geek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Posts:
    776
  15. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
  16. Graystoke

    Graystoke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,502
    Location:
    The San Joaquin Valley, California

    danny9.........After separating, did you run just the rootkit scan? Did it make it all the way through?
     
  17. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    Yes, it made it all the way thru with no problems. :)
     
  18. Graystoke

    Graystoke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,502
    Location:
    The San Joaquin Valley, California

    Good news. :) Thanks danny9.
     
  19. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    Your Welcome Graystoke. :D
     
  20. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    I had the same problem ~Off topic comment removed. - Ron.~ Was just trying out Antivir. Whats with the 5 processes anyways?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 29, 2008
  21. Graystoke

    Graystoke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,502
    Location:
    The San Joaquin Valley, California
    I installed Avira SS, and separated the rootkit scan from the regular scan. It did solve the problem. :)

    After the rootkit scan was finished, the report stated it found 5 hidden objects. It didn't say what it did with them. I posted about this at the Avira forum. Hopefully I'll get an answer.
     
  22. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    There are hidden objects that are not rootkits. Microsoft's Personal Folder is one of them.
     
  23. Graystoke

    Graystoke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,502
    Location:
    The San Joaquin Valley, California
    Never mind. All straightened out at the Avira forum.
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2008
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.