Avira protection cloud beta

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by MDRockstar, Jun 7, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MDRockstar

    MDRockstar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Posts:
    14
  2. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,559
    Is this just an on-demand scanner, or full AV?
     
  3. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    On demand sensitive file scanner (like HitManPro scans autorun locations) see pic,
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Off to a good start with no False positives.Looks pretty good but Its slow unlike HMP.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jun 7, 2012
  5. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    No probs whatsoever with this first v0.0.1.3 beta, just scanned my system and uploaded 19 files to the cloud :thumb:
     
  6. treehouse786

    treehouse786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,388
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Better change my signature to 10 on demand scanners
     
  7. Stefan Kurtzhals

    Stefan Kurtzhals AV Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Posts:
    701
    This one contains the new detection AI. Looking forward to see if it does has false positives. I am not expecting people here to catch live malware with it as the regular Wilders reader should know how to keep his/her machine clean. :cool:
     
  8. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    True :D
     
  9. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,559
    It wasn't slow for me. Scan took less that 30 seconds. Four files uploaded to cloud.
     
  10. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Two consecutive scans I did and it stays in prep for scan for several minutes, I thought it was froze and after it started then maybe two minutes give or take to complete the cloud scan.
     
  11. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,935
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening ! Is this to be a stand alone app much like HMP or WSA ? Just scanned and it's as advertised super quick and nimble. The scan took no longer than a minute or two max. It's a very minimalist app,no settings or configurations...but maybe that's due to the fact it's a beta stage implimentation. Sincerely...Securon
     
  12. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    I just installed it on another system and first scan results a couple of minutes.clean but nothing shows for file names,category,status,uploads or hash.o_O
     
  13. Stefan Kurtzhals

    Stefan Kurtzhals AV Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Posts:
    701
    Then all the important PE files on your system are known to the APC (Avira Protection Cloud) and everything scanned is clean.

    This will stay a standalone tool, just offering a 2nd opinion quick system scan. The cloud will of course also be integrated into the other Avira products.

    I have this too on one of my computers, which operating system is this? The initialization is not that efficient yet. We took some code from the generic repair from AV12 for this.


    No false positives so far, anyone?
     
  14. yaslaw

    yaslaw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Posts:
    167
    Location:
    Poland
    So far only polish IM AQQ (aqq.eu) and his plugin seems to be suspicious for this scanner.

    Beside that, no FP on my machine.
     
  15. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    very fast in deed ..
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Stefan Kurtzhals

    Stefan Kurtzhals AV Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Posts:
    701
    yaslaw, the FP on IM AQQ is confirmed, 2 DLLs are detected.
     
  17. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
     
  18. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,276
    Location:
    Earth
    so will this replace needing an Av all time? Uploading 47 files oh dear, i hope thems clean?
     
  19. treehouse786

    treehouse786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,388
    Location:
    Lancashire
    what is 'WSA'?
     
  20. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    WEBROOT SECURE ANYWHERE i believe
     
  21. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,219
    No FPs, and it was very fast, 1 minute! Is this normal?
     

    Attached Files:

  22. tgell

    tgell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Posts:
    1,073
    Will the scanner be free once out of beta?
     
  23. Stefan Kurtzhals

    Stefan Kurtzhals AV Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Posts:
    701
    No, this is just a 2nd opinion scanner, it does not replace a regular AV.
    About the 47 files, did they got a status back from the cloud or did they stay "unknown"?
     
  24. treehouse786

    treehouse786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,388
    Location:
    Lancashire
    cheers for confirming,

    @secureon, hitman pro is an ondemand scanner and WSA is realtime scanner.
     
  25. yaslaw

    yaslaw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Posts:
    167
    Location:
    Poland
    Another FP - total commander ultima prime (tc up.exe) is detected as suspicious (http://tcup.eu/)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.