Avira Product Update

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by QBgreen, Jul 17, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. QBgreen

    QBgreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Posts:
    627
    Location:
    Queens County, NY
  2. Killtek

    Killtek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Posts:
    100
    "The scanning throughput has increased by up to 20 percent compared to the previous versions"

    "Now the users can enter their activation code during the installation of the product. The license gets automatically installed if an Internet connection is available."

    DOUBLE SWEET!!!!!
     
  3. Arup

    Arup Guest

    Best gets better.........
     
  4. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    nice update.. don't know what they changed but the web is ziping around faster then it was. maybe a change. before I had a delay, now there is none.
     
  5. Arup

    Arup Guest


    I agree on the web scanner........its zippier with my Opera as well.

    http://www.avira.com/en/company_news/release_for_windows_and_isa_server.html

    Tettnang, 17th of July, 2008 – The antivirus specialists from the IT-security company Avira released new versions of its protection software for Windows Server and Microsoft ISA-Server. The release delivers enhanced performance of the products. The scanning throughput has increased by up to 20 percent compared to the previous versions. Avira has also simplified the installation routine of its products.
     
  6. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Very true.

    I've had a much quicker scanning time than usual after the huge update earlier today :cool: :cool: :cool:
     
  7. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    605
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    anyone about knows detail changelog ? ....
     
  8. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,293
    :thumb:
     
  9. Bunkhouse Buck

    Bunkhouse Buck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    1,056
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I found the web scanner (unfortunately) slows down the start of playing back *.wmv files using Windows Media Player on my machine. Since the web scanner is redundant (the Guard is the power and crux of Avira AV) I uninstalled the Web Guard. I would suggest any others that have the same problem to do the same thing.
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2008
  10. pykko

    pykko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Posts:
    2,236
    Location:
    Romania...and walking to heaven
  11. robinb

    robinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    NJ
    i uninstalled Avira free only because when it updates it pops up with a annoying ad to purchase it. The problem with this is most of my clients are "newbies" and would not know what to do when this happens.

    I also do not like that it doesn't scan emails when they come in. I am surprised at this because most of my clients use their computers for emails and surfing the internet and if it doesn't scan emails then how do i know they are protected.

    I did like the fact that it uses very little memory and it does allow you to schedule a scan.

    I installed AVAST free to see how that goes for my clients.
    And then there are pluses and minuses about this too. There are too many things going on and the interphase is horrible. It looks like a media player and unless you know what you are doing is so hard to configure.

    Yes it scans emails but it doesn't do a scheduled scan and there is no way my clients are going to be able to figure out how to scan it themselves.

    It also is a bit bloated.

    I wish Avira would take off this ad and put in email scanning in their free version. I think it is an up and coming software.

    I still like AVG free over all of it but right now AVG free (not the pro) is having some problems opening (it crashes when you double click the icon) and after talking with Grifsoft they tell me that the fix for this would not be until October after they had me do some testing for them.

    I cannot wait till October and leave my clients who really cannot afford to purchase an antivirus program now with a crippled AVG. I have 6 of them on AVG free on xp home sp3 (that is where the problem seems to be on) and I need to put them on something right now and not leave them with nothing at all.

    I still have AVAST free on my test computer but i am not thrilled with it.
    I was more thrilled with Aviria but i am still leary of the fact it doesn't scan emails.

    robin
     
  12. rothko

    rothko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Posts:
    579
    Location:
    UK
    i downloaded Avira Premium to test it out, how can i tell if what i have downloaded is the latest version with this update?

    Product Version is showing as: 8.1.0.362 dated 11/07/08

    thanks
     
  13. Bunkhouse Buck

    Bunkhouse Buck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    1,056
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Here is what it should be as of 7/18/2008 9:14 AM Pacific Time:

    Product version 8.1.0.362 07/11/08
    Search engine 8.01.01.11 07/17/08
    Virus definition file 7.00.05.138 07/18/08
    Control Center 8.00.70.08 07/18/08
    Config Center 8.00.70.03 07/18/08
    Luke Filewalker 8.01.04.07 07/18/08
    AntiVir Guard 8.00.01.26 07/18/08
    Filter 7.00.02.06 07/18/08
    AntiVir MailGuard 8.00.00.42 07/18/08
    AntiVir MailGuard helper service 8.00.02.00 07/18/08
    AntiVir WebGuard 8.00.15.00 07/18/08
    Scheduler 8.00.00.16 07/18/08
    Updater 1.02.10.34 07/18/08
     
  14. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    There is a very easy way to get around the Nag Screens. search around the forums or look on Google.
     
  15. Edwin024

    Edwin024 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Posts:
    1,000
    Why don't you provide your clienst with a licensed Avira Premium? €14.95 a year isn't that much, is it? And the renewal is quite easy!
     
  16. stormymorning

    stormymorning Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    Bookmark this site
    http://www.avira.com/en/threats/section/vdf_info/index.html

    and you will always know what the latest update is. Engine updates can be found in the announcement section of the Avira forum. Do use the very active forum: they are very helpful & will answer every one of your questions.
     
  17. Big Apple

    Big Apple Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Posts:
    724
    Read the thread about Rising Antivirus and that might be an option for you to install! It's free ;)
     
  18. EliteKiller

    EliteKiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,138
    Location:
    TX
    Since you're the consultant it should only take about 10 seconds to disable the skin mode.

    How can they afford to pay you then....or do you work for peanuts? ;) Avira Premium is only $27 yr.

    The Avira guard will still detect an infected attachment as soon as the end user tries to run it.
     
  19. Malcontent

    Malcontent Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Posts:
    451
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio USA
    I believe you can disable the skins in Avast (the media player GUI). That will leave a much simpler GUI for your clients.
     
  20. Sportscubs1272

    Sportscubs1272 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Posts:
    340
    Seems like the product activation information is blank when I open the main screen from the system tray. I have to double click the information box to get the correct expiration date.
     
  21. De Hollander

    De Hollander Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Windmills and cows
  22. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I will always love Avira, but they are learning how to finally learning about customer service about a year to late, as others have.
     
  23. Sportscubs1272

    Sportscubs1272 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Posts:
    340
    Yes, that's exactly the same thing I have been experiencing. That's good that they will fix it soon. So they have improved on the clean-up of malware?
     
  24. De Hollander

    De Hollander Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Windmills and cows
    Look at it from the bright side, they are learning ;)


     
  25. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    At least it aint like some comps. that have been around 25 years and charge for sucky support. or a company that always blames every other software for screwing up your computer instead of there's.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.