AVIRA FREE

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by EASTER, Nov 15, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,631
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for that, Sul. I did exactly what you suggested and it works like a charm... except a giant Avira nag screen pops up immediately after the download, prompting me to purchase the Premium version.
     
  2. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
  3. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,631
    Location:
    USA
    Excellent link! As soon as I have time I will try it and post back. Thank you! :thumb:
     
  4. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,977
    I thought I had tried this a while back and it didn't work, but perhaps I did something wrong. I assumed it needed the scheduler service running to run preupd.exe.
     
  5. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,537
  6. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    Nope. I never use the scheduler service. Preupd.exe always works. I also use the SRP fix as well. Actually, I wrote a script that updates for me. I put it in my 'startup' folder. When I boot, it checks. I can pass a couple parameters to it to set how many days of the week to update. It also examines the files currently in place, so that if I reboot, it does not start the update if files are current. Has worked well for some time now.

    Sul.
     
  7. robinb

    robinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    NJ
    the script has worked for me in xp pro and xp home also, and i have not used the scheduler service at all

    robin
     
  8. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,631
    Location:
    USA
    preupd.exe produces an incremental update, correct?
     
  9. ChrisBUK

    ChrisBUK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Posts:
    86
    You can get a different antivirus program for cheaper than Avira free? :eek:

    If you're talking about the premium version, I think it's one of the cheapest AV's around and well worth it.
     
  10. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    Just as per the normal update sequence, it will first look to see what the top most layer of updates is available. If it is a program update, it gets it. This could contain program changes as well as virii update. Else it could be a monthly, weekly or daily, depending on which is needed. Usually it is daily, and not sure of the criteria, but it auto determines if you need the larger ones.

    Sul.
     
  11. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,631
    Location:
    USA
    I configured it to not download product updates. I like to check around the forums a bit to see if there are issues before I update the program.
     
  12. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    I have been using Avira Free now for almost 3 years. I have not had a bad update that I am aware of. But then again, it rarely shows itself anyway, so I may not have known. FYI.

    Sul.
     
  13. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,631
    Location:
    USA
    I'm really enjoying running this program on-demand. Thanks to those who helped me with my questions. :thumb:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.