Avira flags wise registry cleaner as fraudulent

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by DVD+R, Jun 26, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    Is this true? I was under the impression this was supposed to be one of the most regarded registry cleaners, but try accessing it when using Avira Antivir Premium, and you will be blocked from entering the site

    http://www.avira.com/en/support-fraud
     
  2. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    I wouldnt touch Wise. The first and last time I used it it took my whole HD with it. The only one I would use is CCleaner if I were to use one.
     
  3. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    814
    It's not blocking it for me, Avira Premium every threat category checked.
     
  4. carat

    carat Guest

    I guess the best registry cleaner is "Uniblue power mega registry booster" according to Avira :D Ha ha :D
     
  5. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,072
  6. Spruce

    Spruce Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Posts:
    291
    How brilliant to block Wise and partner with Uniblue and allow (i guess) RegistryBooster :argh:
     
  7. carat

    carat Guest

    Well done Avira :thumb: :D
     
  8. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,072
    I didn't remember that :D lets see how much time takes to move Avira to the rogue av lists :D
     
  9. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    I wouldn't mind if my AV blocks all registry cleaner sites, but of course that's not for everybody.
     
  10. century

    century Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Posts:
    92
    Sorry to see the acclaimed & respected Avira resorting to questionable tactics. But why, oh why they have to go this way? Surely people at Avira know that they are losing faith of the people.
     
  11. steve1955

    steve1955 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Posts:
    1,384
    Location:
    Sunny(in my dreams)Manchester,England
    I do love the paranoia on here:-anybody thought it may just be a glitch:-a false +ve??
    but makes for better story if you can cause suspicion doesn't it?
     
  12. johnyjohn

    johnyjohn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Posts:
    126
    Hi,

    Please update your Avira product as I cannot reproduce this. If the detection still occurs, please post the corresponding lines in your webguard.log file.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.