Avira & Downloading Issue

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by varunit, Oct 6, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. varunit

    varunit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Posts:
    79
    Hello all I am using Avira Internet Security 2012. I had been facing this problem since version 10 and its repeating again in 2012 also. My normal download speed is around 30 KBps. When all the components of avira are enabled, I get only a max of 15 which is half of my original download speed. When I disable the internet and web protection components, I get my max speed again.:rolleyes: Anyone facing the same download slowdown problem ? o_O

    http://i.imgur.com/eyytX.jpg
     
  2. mike21

    mike21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Posts:
    416
    Have you tried to exclude from scanning Internet Download Manager?
     
  3. varunit

    varunit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Posts:
    79
    How can I do that ? o_O
     
  4. Slappy

    Slappy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Posts:
    11
    Disable web guard and check your speed again.
     
  5. varunit

    varunit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Posts:
    79
    As I had posted earlier, when I disable web guard, I can get my max speed.
     
  6. mike21

    mike21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Posts:
    416

    Settings>Expert Mode>Realtime Protection>Scan>Exceptions>Processes>Add


    But keep in mind that is not uncommon Avira to cause programs display inaccurate Internet speed, so to be sure that it actually trims your speed you have to monitor by yourself. For example download a file with web guard on and then again the same file with web guard off. At the end compare only the time that it took in both cases to download.
     
  7. vojta

    vojta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    In my experience, it doesn't hinder normal downloads, only fools the download manager display, as you say. But in multi-threaded downloads (like with DownThemAll, for example), only one of the threads runs normally, the rest are severely slowed down.
     
  8. varunit

    varunit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Posts:
    79
    The moderator on avira forum had explained me that it just fools the download speed in order to avoid time outs.
    This is the screen shot captured while downloading... While download speed is only a max of 21, Avira window shows that the actual transfer rate is 41

    http://i.imgur.com/19QOI.jpg

    I thought to do a comparison download test to find what's going on. But to my surprise, avira is not working as the mod explained..

    Here is the screen shot captured with all the web components enabled...

    http://i.imgur.com/2uexY.jpg

    This one is with all the web components disabled...

    http://i.imgur.com/Y7YMF.jpg

    o_O
     
  9. DOSawaits

    DOSawaits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Posts:
    416
    Location:
    Belgium
    The Avira webmodule will first buffer transfer, it will scan it internally, and forwards the traffic in smaller chunks to your browser/download manager/etc...

    Do you see your speed being only about half as fast as it should be during the first 50-60% of the download, when the whole file has been completely downloaded & buffered by the Avira web module, the last part will, when scanned, be provided as a much bigger chunk to your browser/downloader.

    In the end, Your actual download speed is only just a tiny bit slower than what you would achieve without the webmodule. It only "looks" being 50% slower during the first half of your download, and then your download will normally jump from about 50% to "Complete".;)
     
  10. zerotox

    zerotox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Posts:
    417
    Considering all the annoyance and nuisances related to Avira's web guard - their forum is full of these as well, and every time the already worn answer about the way the proxy filters the downloads, I think not installing it will save you more trouble than it will bring you extra protection. I don't say it's bad but instead of endless explanations why is speed not displayed correctly why (as I have asked in a similar thread) can't they, as have Eset and Avast and AVG done - tune up or even rewrite their web guard to work like theirs - in NOD32 you have the option to choose between filtering the whole files (called Active mode) or just pieces of them (by default), thus making the HTTP filtering almost unnoticeable. All these AVs have web-guards and filter traffic but do not have the issues Avira has and has been having for years now.
     
  11. jaodsvuda

    jaodsvuda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Posts:
    146
    Prolonging download of e.g. CryEngine´s free SDK (690 Mb) from usual 70-75 mins to 3 1/2 hours is a bit more than just a "displaying inaccurate Internet speed".I remember having same problem with GData 3-4 years ago.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.