Avira AntiVir ProActive

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by waters, May 13, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RejZoR

    RejZoR Lurker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Re: Avira AntiVir ProActiv

    Thats great news really. Good to hear that.
     
  2. Nizarawi

    Nizarawi Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Posts:
    137
    Re: Avira AntiVir ProActiv

    up up up
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2009
  3. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,641
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Re: Avira AntiVir ProActiv

    what about the PM I sent you yesterday :rolleyes:
     
  4. Nizarawi

    Nizarawi Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Posts:
    137
    macstorm

    i dont have theright to acces to the link

    only automatic redirection
     
  5. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,641
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    That means you need to be accepted as a betatester first.

    You only need to register one time, please be patient. In my case it took about one week to be part of the testers last year ;)
     
  6. RejZoR

    RejZoR Lurker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Any rough estimations on when this technology will end up in the final product?
     
  7. Leo2005

    Leo2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    Braunschweig (Germany)
    no idea. but i think it is mor realistic that windows 7 is released first ;)
    this beta is a very early version, stable but till now not able to detect many things and only available for xp till now. also the GUI is very limited so i expect big changements in this betatest.
     
  8. QBgreen

    QBgreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Posts:
    627
    Location:
    Queens County, NY
    A quality behavior blocker (as we all know it will be) integrated into the Avira lineup is fantastic. The fact that it will be in the free version is a real marketing whammy! Can't wait to check it out.
     
  9. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Now if they would only add the possibility of automatic operation in Personal too... this has been intentionally left out already from start, right? With that added, it would be perfect, and I would most probably be a full-time user, no doubt. ;)

    Still have not received an answer from Kees to my question, though... :p :D :) ;


     
  10. Shady92

    Shady92 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    Great news :thumb: So this new feature is like some sort of HIPS?
     
  11. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Apologise

    Proactive on medium level. It is not like TF, it is more like a midly configured drive sentry behavioral analysis.

    Compare it with the classification you get from Drive Sentry when encountering a program which is not in the black or white list.

    Only differences with DS is that Proactive does not throw a pop-up, but sends the file to Avira Servers. I have promised not to test malware on our security setup, so thrown away all samples and PoCs, can't tell you anything about the effectiveness of the current build in rule set.
     
  12. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    np, mate - thx for the answer. ;)

    So, does ProActive still block automatically if it's not in a list, or will that result in a prompt for the user? Do you know if unattended operation is also implemented for the On-access protection in that beta?
     
  13. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    All I can see is that it adds programs in the allow list. I have thrown away all malware and PoC's so can't answer your questions.
     
  14. Jin K

    Jin K Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Posts:
    105
    i will try to make a test today :)
     
  15. hogndog

    hogndog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Posts:
    632
    Location:
    In His Service
    Re: Avira AntiVir ProActiv

    You'll have to wait for a moderator to give you permission, just be patient.
    And no you can't get a link to the beta test, just be patient my friend.
    herr hschuette is the person to ask this permission, you can do that
    at the forum. No information at this time as it is still in beta, sorry mate.
     
  16. rookieman

    rookieman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    Is this only being tested in German at the moment?
     
  17. hogndog

    hogndog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Posts:
    632
    Location:
    In His Service
    Both German and English
     
  18. rookieman

    rookieman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    I never looked properly for it.Got it now thanks.
     
  19. progress

    progress Guest

    Are there any news available? :)
     
  20. Toby75

    Toby75 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    Posts:
    480
    I would like to know this myself...anybody have any idea when it will be incorporated?

    Thanks in advance,

    Toby
     
  21. tipstir

    tipstir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    SFL, USA
    Read this ...
    http://betatest.avira.com/products/products.php

    I thought this software had something like this already. Wow no network scanner and no Behavior Interceptor.
     
  22. sourav_gho

    sourav_gho Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    141
    Re: Avira AntiVir ProActiv

    hey how could you know about new version, could you please post me the link/thread discussing new tech. I want to know about it...
     
  23. hogndog

    hogndog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Posts:
    632
    Location:
    In His Service
    These things take time, we in beta know from day to day, to give any dates wouldn't help things along.. Have you tried to sign on as a beta tester? By doing that you could get closer and chat with the other testers. It doesn't cost anything, its absolutely free.. :D

    Hogndog
     
  24. Zombini

    Zombini Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Posts:
    469
    Re: Avira AntiVir ProActiv

    Ditto.. I am tired of them adding new crap.. sandboxing, vulnerability scan, POS. Went back to 2009.
     
  25. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,475
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Please stick to the subject from this thread and leave all other softwares out of the discussion. This is more then a friendly request.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.