avira antivir premium 7 question

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by sach1000rt, Jun 13, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sach1000rt

    sach1000rt Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    171
    Location:
    india
    Before any purchase i have some questions,
    Does avira antivir detects spyware?
    does it detects more virus than NOD32?
    Does it works flawlessly like NOD32?
    What about the heuristics?
     
  2. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Maybe this should have been posted in the other AV section?

    1. The Premium edition does detect spyware/adware etc;

    2. On-demand detection rates of zoo malware are better than NOD ( av-comparatives );

    3. Has worked flawlessly on my computer but may not on yours. You have to test it.

    4. Heuristics are very good but prone to false-positives on the highest settings ( see proactive tests on av-comparatives).

    Before purchase, run it on your computer for the trial period and then decide.
     
  3. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    I agree with Blackcat. It has run flawlessly on my computer, and seems very light.

    Try it, however.
    Best,
    Jerry
     
  4. tsilo

    tsilo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    376
    1. Avira have vest detection, both, viruses and as/apy
    2. yes it detects much more viruses than NOD32
    3. Yes, it's lighter than NOD32
    4. Have highet score in heuristic, but more FP-s.

    PS: you need post this thread here: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/forumdisplay.php?f=32
     
  5. cet

    cet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Posts:
    867
    Location:
    Turkey/İzmir
    I bought antivir premium and I am very happy with it.Low resource usage (only have 512 ram 6yrs old PC ) is my first concern.It works like a charm.
     
  6. poirot

    poirot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    299
    So low in fact that going from Avast-which i liked a lot- to Avira Premium in one pc of mine probably made it more secure and certainly a 20% faster.
     
  7. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Hi,

    I am testing this combo
    - Antivir free
    - A2 MalwareV3.0
    - DefenseWall

    Is blazing fast and will cost you 60 us dollar first year, lisence continuation 30us dollar a year.
     
  8. sach1000rt

    sach1000rt Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    171
    Location:
    india
    So it looks like avira is better than nod32? but
    avira antivir premium security suite is better or avira antivir premium edition?
     
  9. Londonbeat

    Londonbeat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Posts:
    350
    With Avira premium suite you get the antivirus, antispam and firewall. With the premium AV edition by itself you just get the antivirus with no antispam or firewall.

    Londonbeat
     
  10. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Another factor to consider -- NOD has HTTP scanning whereas Avira does not.
     
  11. De Hollander

    De Hollander Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Windmills and cows
  12. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    Does anyone know if AVIRA will scan Outlook email in an Exchange environment? From what I have seen, it only looks at POP3 email...
     
  13. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    The newer vrsion of Nod coming out will "clean" a lot better then Avira. Avira detects great but doesnt clean worth a crap.
     
  14. cet

    cet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Posts:
    867
    Location:
    Turkey/İzmir
    The answer is in your quote.If Avira detects great than is there a need to CLEAN
    o_Oo_O.:D
     
  15. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Cleaning all remnants can be important. Left behind garbage can cause issues down the line. So yes.
     
  16. MaB69

    MaB69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Posts:
    540
    Location:
    Paris
    Hi all,

    You seem very angry against avira :p Is it related to your last post in antivir forum ?

    MaB
     
  17. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    that and other emails I have sent today trying to get a simple issue resolved.
     
  18. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Actually it turns out, I am pretty stupid because I had what I needed all the time. I want to apologize to Avira.
     
  19. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,276
    Location:
    Earth
    Avira Preimium or Avg Suite hmmmmm im thinking AVG
     
  20. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,827
    Location:
    USA
    I'm not, I'm thinking avira antivir premium.
     
  21. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    I would like to trial the suite.
    I may be blind but I can't find the trial for this on their site.
    I even e-mailed them several times in the last week with no reply.
    Hope their support is better.
    Can anyone here help?
    Thanks, Dan:cool:
     
  22. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Hi Danny,

    Here is a link that tells how to get the trial.
    http://forum.antivir-pe.de/thread.php?threadid=15441

    I am not sure why they make it so complicated, but normally it is the Workstation that you test. I think the PM gets you the suite.

    Regards,
    Jerry
     
  23. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    Sorry, not much help. Gives no links on who to contact or addresses.
    Maybe I need new glasses but it seems very difficult to get.
    Do they want us to trial this?
    They did sent me an e-mail for the workstation trial but the attachment will not open nor can it be saved. Happened twice.
    Oh well, maybe someones trying to tell me something.:thumbd: ;)
    Thanks for your help, though.
     
  24. Doc Serenity

    Doc Serenity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Posts:
    105
    Danny9,
    I went to the Avira forum and did a search. They answered very quickly and I was given the info I needed.
    Bought the Premium AV and have no complaints at all.
    Good luck.
    Doc
     
  25. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Hi Danny,
    Why not go to the forum and ask how to get in touch with them so you can trial the Premium? Sorry I did not notice the omission.

    Best,
    Jerry
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.