Avira Antivir PE Premium and Anti-spyware

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Kielty, Dec 23, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kielty

    Kielty Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Posts:
    139
    Location:
    The Emerald Isle
    I use Antivir PE Premium and was wondering how good is the anti spyware component? is there a need to run anything else in real time with this piece of software?
     
  2. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    check the PUPS test in AV-Comparatives
     
  3. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    IMHO, if you use a non-IE browser then running AntiVir Premium by itself in real-time should be sufficient. Running a HOSTS file may also help.

    Recent results over at av-comparatives and av-test.org indicate that AntiVir has an excellent detection of spyware.

    IME, most AS programs in real-time are memory/resource hungry and rarely catch any type of malware. Just use a free on-demand AS scanner as an occasional background check.

    I run the Premium version by itself on one of my systems, together with K-Ninja, and I have only ever found a few cookies.
     
  4. Kielty

    Kielty Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Posts:
    139
    Location:
    The Emerald Isle
    Thanks, thats put my mind at rest. Most of the real time anti-spyware i have tested are very resource hungry and i wasn't keen to run one in addition to Avira.
     
  5. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
  6. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    For the average user antivir's adware/spyware detection is sufficient enough. Do an on demand antispyware scan from time to time and you'll be right. I recommend superantispyware free or a-squared free.

    On my other computer all i use is antivir premium + ghost security suite. I back that up with a-squared free and mcafee standalone virus scanner.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.