Avira AntiRootkit Tool 1.3.0.1 released

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by SUPERIOR, Mar 21, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SUPERIOR

    SUPERIOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Posts:
    161
    Location:
    Syria
    Code:
    http://dlpro.antivir.com/package/antirootkit/win32/en/avira_antivir_antirootkit_en.zip
    
    PS : it's not standalone tool ...you need avira product installed on your computer to run this :((
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2011
  2. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
  3. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Actually its a standalone tool. If you have avira product installed you will know what rootkits are harmful.
     
  4. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    Thanks! :thumb:
     
  5. Kernelwars

    Kernelwars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Posts:
    2,155
    Location:
    TX
    Thanks my good friend:)
     
  6. SUPERIOR

    SUPERIOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Posts:
    161
    Location:
    Syria
    you are most welcome guys ...

    um.... you cant run it if u dont have avira installed, how can i call it standalone tool? o_O
     
  7. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    I got this lovely error:
    One of the Avira AntiVir Desktop version 9 products must be installed first. The application will exit.

    Not only does it require Avira to be installed, it also recommends an outdated version :p
     
  8. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,127
    Location:
    USA
    Got the same message here.
     
  9. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    I'm still trying to figure out what's the real purpose of this anti-rootkit tool? :rolleyes:
     
  10. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Sorry for the confusions I created. Actually previously it can be run without an Avira Product installed.
     
  11. mick92z

    mick92z Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Posts:
    499
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Edit sorry
     
  12. mick92z

    mick92z Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Posts:
    499
    Location:
    Nottingham
  13. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
  14. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    i dont think Power Eraser requires a Norton product to be installed to use it.
     
  15. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    This is the exception, not the norm.
     
  16. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    That's not my point. mick92z seemed to be questioning the need for it at all. The point was that Eraser is a utility that can be used in addition to or separate from from the Av as pretty much everybody scans for rootkits nowadays.
     
  17. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Not anymore. There was a thread around here listing vendors that have something similar.
     
  18. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    well hes right, Norton power eraser isnt really targeted for just Norton users to use, Avira's is absolutely pointless since it only lets u use it with an Avira product installed making it useless as a standalone scanner.
     
  19. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    As a standalone for non Avira users yes, correct, as a suplemental tool for Avira users thats another question.
     
  20. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    By this I meant Avira being the exception. Where is that list of scanners?
     
  21. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
  22. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    I'm pretty sure that all of them with the exception of Avira are standalone scanners.

    Should've included more details to my previous vague statement to avoid confusion.
     
  23. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    I'm sure you're right Post #6 in the link I provided mentioned this list http://www.kernelmode.info/forum/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=10
     
  24. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    well i guess the question is then, is the standalone rootkit scanner any better than the rootkit scanner in Avira, and if it is, why would they make the rootkit scanner inside the product intentionally worse.:doubt:
     
  25. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Perhaps less "aggressive" would be a better word than worse. Here's a thread on Norton Power Eraser https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=294862&highlight=Norton Power Eraser
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.