Avira and CIS

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by blacknight, Jan 30, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,821
    Location:
    Europe, UE citizen
    Sorry, probably there is already some post about this, but I can't find it. Does Avira run together CIS totally enabled, or I have to disable Comodo av ?
     
  2. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,014
    Yuo must disable one of the Av .It is with every other Av running a realtime scanner.
     
  3. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    im running the exact setup as u are saying, Avira + CIS(AV NOT INSTALLED, i chose to not install it at all just to be safe, not just disable it)
     
  4. renegade08

    renegade08 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Posts:
    432
    Can some tell whether is having problems with download speeds with Avira, compared to other AV's.

    When i run some other AV's i.e. e.g i have download speeds of 300 or 320 KB/sec, while using Avira previously(1 or 1,5 month ago) my download speed dropped for 33%, to around 220-230 KB/sec and now dropped to 180 KB/sec. which i find a great difference.

    And is this related with combination of AV with other security software such as in this case Comodo?
     
  5. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    It's the Http scanner. It doesn't actually slowdown anything, the download speed looks slower, but the download ends sooner.
     
  6. Max Zorin

    Max Zorin Former Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Posts:
    103
    Hi. I have never noticed any slowing of DL speed with Avira (premium).

    I imagine any slowing will be due to another application - firewall possibly.

    MZ
     
  7. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,109
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Both will run togther but disable real time Comodo AV to avoid conflicts n slow downs.
     
  8. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    LOL ive noticed that, a fill is like 50% or 75% done then all of a sudden the download finishes, never really stopped to think about it till u mentioned it
     
  9. renegade08

    renegade08 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Posts:
    432
    Interesting.
    I will have to check this again with Avira Premium, although i have some doubts.

    Thanks emperordarius.
     
  10. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    This is actually a great combo. I was using Avira Free and CPF with D+ for over a year and never had any problems. Now, I'm using CIS exclusively without Avira.

    Ice
     
  11. 3xist

    3xist Guest

    Rule of thumb: NEVER use 2 AV's at the same time. The AV in CIS is architectured to work with the Firewall & Defense+, hence running an AV beside it would cause conflicts as well.

    Cheers,
    Josh
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.