AVIRA 8 Release Notes - Now released!

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Tommy, Mar 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,204
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    You running SP1 with your Vista?
     
  2. Nike_P

    Nike_P Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    Europe
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    the problem is i dont know if i have Vista SP1 on my PC or not, how should i check that?
    thnx.
     
  3. Jadda

    Jadda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Posts:
    429
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    Type "winver" in the startmenu search.
     
  4. Nike_P

    Nike_P Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    Europe
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    well i dont see anywhere on: "Winver" there where its written about SP1 or ServicePack1, can anyone give a screenshot how it shows that they have SP1 on "Winver" ?
     
  5. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,641
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    just click the main 'start' button, type 'winver' and hit the 'enter' key. You'll see "build 6001:Service Pack 1" if you have it installed.
     
  6. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,204
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    Or go to Control Panel>System. If you're running SP1 it will show there.
     
  7. Nike_P

    Nike_P Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    Europe
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    is that the reason why my PC freeze sometimes? because i dont have SP1?
    or could it also be because of Avira ver7?
    thanks guys.
     
  8. Diver

    Diver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,444
    Location:
    Deep Underwater
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    If the rootkit scan gives you trouble, turn it off and use gmer. This should be good enough for the time being.
     
  9. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,204
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    I don't know why your computer freezes using version 7 but no that's not the reason. Version 7 ran excellent on my Vista but of course that was before I installed SP1. I would expect that version 7 would have trouble running under SP1.
     
  10. Nike_P

    Nike_P Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    Europe
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    but will i be able to download SP1 thru the WindowsUpdate or must i manuly download it?

    avira..
     
  11. Diver

    Diver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,444
    Location:
    Deep Underwater
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    Vista SP1 is available on windows update. However, there are a few HD audio drivers that will prevent its installation, if you have them. Unfortunately these drivers are rather common and the OEM's that distributed them with new computers (especially Sony) have been slow to make official updates available.
     
  12. mnosteele

    mnosteele Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    192
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA USA
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    I can confirm that there is no issue with Antivir7 with Vista or Vista with SP1. I have installed this setup on many computers without a single issue. Most likely the issue is with a specific driver or other software installation rather than Vista itself.

    :)
     
  13. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,641
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    I didn't know that o_O
    Fortunately i didn't have any problem with SP1 and my Vaio laptop regarding to the audio drivers..
    (sry for off topic)
     
  14. ankupan

    ankupan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Posts:
    510
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    Hi,

    I installed Avira on my laptop and desktop, it is running great. Even speed is good too.
     
  15. Nike_P

    Nike_P Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    Europe
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    So will avira ver8 be released at the 14:th April at Monday? or not?

    Can anyone confirm this?
     
  16. cet

    cet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Posts:
    876
    Location:
    Turkey/İzmir
  17. Nike_P

    Nike_P Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    Europe
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    thanks, but i dont have SP1 on my PC yet.
    So i will wait until ver8 comes out and then i will fix SP1.
    But anyone that know for sure when ver8 avira will be released?
     
  18. Xenophobe

    Xenophobe Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Posts:
    174
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    I got infected while running Avira Premium (had to reformat) without visiting shady sites; I uninstalled.
     
  19. GES/POR

    GES/POR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,490
    Location:
    Armacham
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    What does that have to do with the topic thread?
     
  20. Xenophobe

    Xenophobe Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Posts:
    174
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    I'm sorry, that was off-topic. Just not happy. :p

    Edit: Others posted their experience with Avira and it wasn't thought to be off-topic.
     
  21. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,641
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    mmm.. days ago i've had a similar experience with my neighbour's computer but it wasn't a serious damage though.
    I've helped him with the cleaning and i ended up blaming him for the infection. It seems that he ignored the Avira alerts :ouch:

    what malware you had? just curious..
     
  22. Thug21

    Thug21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Posts:
    141
    Location:
    Illinois
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    Unfortunately, no AV is 100 percent and that includes Avira. Going to shady sites and relying on just an AV isn't enough these days.
     
  23. rookieman

    rookieman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    If I read this correctly you must wait on sp1 to install the new v8.What happens if you've already got sp1 installedo_O?
     
  24. Xenophobe

    Xenophobe Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Posts:
    174
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    I'm not sure. I was actually testing a LUA w/ SuRun setup (Avira was still running) and a "restart required" Windows Update dialog showed up without downloading/installing updates. Upon restart, Avira crashed and the internet connection was disabled and unrepairable.
     
  25. FRug

    FRug Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Posts:
    309
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    If you're "experimenting" with a tool that hooks god knows what in your OS and interferes with access rights, and suddenly things get messed up after an installation of system updates, I'd not be as quick to blame your AV software for the issues that arise :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.