AVIRA 8 Release Notes - Now released!

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Tommy, Mar 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    Yes, the umbrella is pretty but that is not the point. I can't believe all of you love the sluggishness of the GUI now. It takes forever to open and the reason is because of that damn splash screen. Avira said that was the reason already! But they refuse to fix it. :(

    Plus, now it is Tuesday afternoon in Germany and STILL NO TECH SUPPORT AT AVIRA FORUM SINCE LAST FRIDAY. UNACCEPTABLE FOR A PAID PRODUCT. You are all sheep and that is why all the AV vendors get away with murder and we have such bad products to choose from. :(

    Obviously, the best solution these days is to strive to get other security products so we no longer need AV as none of them are good anymore.
     
  2. FRug

    FRug Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Posts:
    309
    Where do they state that? I've never read that anywhere. I tried it with deactivated splash, and it takes _exactly_ the same amount of time to load the GUI: 2-3 seconds for me, depending on which of my systems i try it with.
     
  3. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    958
    If you think no av is good then that says it all.
     
  4. Leo2005

    Leo2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    Braunschweig (Germany)
    cause an av can only be god if it has a gui that pleases mele.
    i cannot read this discussion anymore about the gui. it wont be changed till the next version. same for the splashscreen. if you have such a big problem with this change the av, but do not insist always on the same things. there are much more important features for an av then gui and splashscreen.

    and for the tech support on the avira forum. they were even online on the weekend. when visiting the forum in the week you'll see at least one avira supporter online.
     
  5. The_Duality

    The_Duality Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Posts:
    276
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    Well, I have to agree with Mele if I am honest. The new GUI, pretty as it is, is quite slow and unresponsive compared to the old one. Im getting random guard service crashes, and my 2 page, 25 reply thread on the issue has now been relegated to the forum's second page. It is full of people having the same issues. I posted everything they wanted, i.e. log files, HJT logs, etc, and still nothing. Pretty poor support if you ask me, considering the bug is crippling - not just a random GUI bug.

    Im afraid the time has come for me to move on. Great detection results in tests mean nothing to me if the product doesnt work. Next time it crashes, it may be just in time to let in a nasty - you never know. Good job im using a free 6 month license, and I didn't have to shell out for it.

    I am under no illusion, however, that it is not a good AV - it just doesn't work for me. I hope everyone else doesnt get the issues I experienced.
     
  6. subset

    subset Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Posts:
    825
    Location:
    Austria
    Agree, let's take a look at more important features like packer support :ouch: or self-protection :p or active infections treatment :gack:

    Cheers
     
  7. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,641
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    :thumb:

    TOO MUCH complaining about a 'splash screen' o_O
     
  8. Killtek

    Killtek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Posts:
    100
    I understand you and some others are having issues with crashing (and it sucks), but what about folks like me that have ZER0 problems with WebGuard and the application as a whole. I have SafeSpace and Threatfire running alongside Avira without any slowdowns or crashes. Are we the minority?

    As for the GUI being slow.. seriously, 2-3 seconds to come up isn't torture. Honestly how many times do you need to go into the GUI? Once you fine tuned everything.
     
  9. The_Duality

    The_Duality Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Posts:
    276
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    You are probably the majority - otherwise this entire forum would be filled with Avira bashing ;)

    Avira is a great program, its just not working for me - probably some sort of incompatibility that I am yet to discover.

    I understand where you are coming from with the GUI - but it is not the wait that annoys me, its the "feel". It just feels slow.
     
  10. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    958
    Just use what is right for you.I tried avg 8 yesterday and for me that was slow.There was a delay in page loading that i dont have with Avira.Other than that i like the looks of avg and i prefer the way it is set out ,but back to Avira because i will not use anything that causes slowdown.
    Do i moan about avg,no because it works for others but not for me, so i move on and get on with life.
     
  11. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,641
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    the 'free' version?
     
  12. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    I think the masses speak for the excellence of this product.;)
     
  13. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    958
    Yes free version,looks great but slow and i will follow comments to its progress
     
  14. Killtek

    Killtek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Posts:
    100
    You know the Germans, they like the industrial look and feel :)
     
  15. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    I open the GUI 5-6 times a day! What do you mean you don't need to go to the GUI? Contrary to what Avira would like us to accept, the GUI is important. I stated from when I first got Avira 7 that a main reason was because of the GUI. So, of course, I would be upset when it got changed so much. I also stated another main reason I got Avira was because it didn't have a bunch of gunk like Norton and many others do now. Now it has gunk, especially the Suite, and the PCmag reviewer has slamned Avira for having a poor Suite and stated correctly, as I have, that Guard is outstanding but the rest of Avira needs more work.

    Yeah, let's focus on more "important" things...ok...where's the 7zip support...we still don't have it probably because Avira spent time on a new GUI that wasn't needed. LukeFilewalker needs a lot of work but Avira sticks a crappy backup thingy in the Suite instead. There are other important things like allowing us to run a full scan and not having to be glued to our computers throughout but get a report with the scanner asking what to do at the END OF THE SCAN like every other AV in the world does already. And where is the protection for Avira..yeah, I can't kill Guard from Task Manager...well that is just a beginning of protection.

    Where is better cleaning ability? Avira is FANTASTIC as far as Guard goes but if you already have an infection and get Avira or get a virus before Avira has detection...cleaning is poor. Why not leave the ver 7 GUI and concentrate on other stuff that is important? The reason evidently is because some people expect a new GUI every year and will slam an AV if there isn't a new one...like the PCmag reviewer who slammed Avira for the ver7 GUI that I think is much better than the new one. He evidently falls in the camp of change for change's sake rather than change because it is needed. Evidently, the folks in the change for change's sake only rule much software...including Microsoft with the disastrous Vista that gets more disastrous every day.
     
  16. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,980
    Is it safe to assume that if there were something better, you'd be using it? :)
     
  17. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    I am. I'm using XP. :D (and my free Vista Ultimate disks should be here today and will likely gather dust on a shelf). :p
     
  18. Bunkhouse Buck

    Bunkhouse Buck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    1,101
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I disagree. I am talking specifically about removing the nosplash screen via the registry fix. It works- it is indisputable. However, I am no longer using Avira, as I have some other technical issues with both the Premium and the Suite. Dr. Web runs better on my systems.
     
  19. rookieman

    rookieman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    I had a Vista problem that's why I couldn't get it working.I got that fixed and installed the new version,I do get a small slow down with Webguard.I turned it off and it seems to be running fast.Is there a way you can tune Webguard?
     
  20. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    Look at what you wrote. "Small slow down." Now I get none but even if I got a "Small slow down," would that not be worth every penny of what the scanner can do. You cant tune it but it works very, very well. So a small trade off but essential in my view.;)
     
  21. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    One last thought, it works so well for me that I uninstalled Sandboxie with it.
     
  22. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii

    That removes it on boot. I like it on boot because I seldom boot so it is not irritating and it is pretty. I just want it gone on the GUI and it does not remove it on the GUI. I was told in the beta forum by Avira that there was no way to remove it on the GUI.
     
  23. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    Nope. It wouldn't be worth it. Proxo is worth it. Any AV's web scanner is never worth it. Get Proxo instead. Then you see no ads and you have considerable protection and you see the web the way YOU want to see it...not like some webmaster thinks you should see it. And Proxo is free. Proxo doesn't interfere with speed tests either.
     
  24. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    958
    I agree ,a slowdown for me would not be worth it,but what you fail to understand is not everyone has this problem.
     
  25. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,294

    You seriously have wayyyy too much time on your hands if your opening the GUI that many times a day! Configure antivir and be done with it! You shouldnt need to mess with settings on a daily basis. Thats very abnormal,are you paranoid or whats the deal?:doubt:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.