Avira 2013

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by darts, Sep 19, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. KoRnGtL15

    KoRnGtL15 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Posts:
    45
    Excellent. Tyvm!
     
  2. Sealord

    Sealord Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Posts:
    46
    Reading the info Avira puts out on Protection Cloud, they say:
    "A list of file locations frequently targeted by malware is generated (similar to that used in a quick scan with a regular antivirus).The list includes running processes, programs that run at start-up and services.
    The hash (a digital fingerprint) of each file is generated and sent to the Avira Protection Cloud, which is then categorized as “clean” or “malware.”
    Unknown program files are uploaded to the Avira Protection Cloud for analysis."

    That sounds like a lot of stuff going up into the cloud - not just suspect fingerprints. What have you noticed or am I reading this wrong?
     
  3. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,029
    Location:
    United States
    Oh, you're one of those privacy-concerned fellas? That's okay, the cloud is safe. After all, where is all the trust you put into your AV? *puppy*

    Or what if security companies secretly uploaded personal data during scans even prior to the cloud power?! That would be pretty weird, huh? Better than handing in your data for free smilies, am I right? :rolleyes: :D
     
  4. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,737
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Not my experience there.
     
  5. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,737
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    No changes to the firewall I guess?
     
  6. KoRnGtL15

    KoRnGtL15 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Posts:
    45
    Question as I am now trying out 2013 Premium. This might be a really stupid question as well but here it goes. Under Real-Time Protection and Action on detection. I want to use the automatic feature. Would the optimal setting be "Deny Access" Avira is kinda vague. Does it still remove the actual virus if detected? Or it just blocks it from getting onto the system? Or does it remain on the system and just deny's access to it?

    Deny access

    If this option is enabled, the Real-Time Protection only enters the detection in the report file if the report function is enabled. In addition, the Real-Time Protection writes an entry in the Event log, if this option is enabled.


    As for my automatic settings with system scanner. I set it to the following.

    Copy file to quarantine before action
    Primary action: Repair
    Secondary action: delete

    Also just to be clear and see if I have this right. System scanner settings is for when doing on demand scans right? And real time protection scanner is for say surfing the net in real time? I would imagine if something is missed. That is when the system scanner should pick it up when doing a direct scan?
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2012
  7. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,265
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    IMO the automatic feature is good for the 'System Scanner' as if any malware is found it means that it managed to enter the system therefore it has to be neutralized/repaired and deleted eventually. That is a routine that can be done automatically, and you don't have to supervise physically the scan (boring too).

    The 'Real-Time Protection' I keep it 'Interactive' because whatever happens I'm present and can judge whether to ignore or deny access. Sometimes you know that what you are downloading is detected as a FP, and you might want to ignore it. Furthermore I want to know in real time what is causing the problem.

    If you don't want to be bothered with queries, in 'Automatic' I think the best choice is 'Copy file to quarantine before action' and 'Deny access', which means the malware won't have access to the system. You can try your setup with the Eicar test: http://www.eicar.org/85-0-Download.html

    You are right with your last point, if something slips in with the real time protection it will eventually be picked up by the system scanner later assuming that in the meantime a signature might have been prepared for that specific malware. I hope this helps.
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2012
  8. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    can someone tell me the most current released build number?? i know it was 2681 and then i got a email saying it was updated to 2688 from the beta build but id like to know what officially is the current 2013 build version?? maybe stephan can answer this question
     
  9. KoRnGtL15

    KoRnGtL15 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Posts:
    45
    Thanks so much for the input. In the end though. The virus would still remain on the system correct when using deny access? Because using the copying option to quarantine. Avira says the following.

    Copy file to quarantine before action

    If this option is enabled, the Real-Time Protection creates a backup copy before carrying out the requested primary or secondary action. The backup copy is saved in quarantine. It can be restored via the Quarantine manager if it is of informative value. You can also send the backup copy to the Avira Malware Research Center. Depending on the object, more selection options are available in the Quarantine manager.

    Essentially getting back to deny access. If I use that and copy to quarantine. I would have 2 copies remaining on my system correct? Only with deny access. The file cannot run?



     
  10. chriswiles

    chriswiles Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Posts:
    209
  11. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,565
  12. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,565
    So you still having issues man? Or is everything ok now?
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2012
  13. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    2681 the official build, just released to the masses. 2688 for the ongoing internal beta testing.
     
  14. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    still issues. they seem to have now something to either do with it trying to update while going to sleep or something conflicting with convertxtodvd / or dvdfab. still trying to pinpoint which though it could be both
     
  15. Sealord

    Sealord Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Posts:
    46
    I have Product Version 13.0.0.2688. Came thru regular update this morning, as far as I can tell.

    Using regular AV Premium 2013.
     
  16. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,565
    Guess I will wait a bit before installing.
     
  17. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,597
    There's an ongoing Beta?
    hum...
     
  18. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,565
    Indeed there is.
     
  19. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,265
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    Why 2 copies? Quarantine is a very safe area for any AV, and after checking the file you can always delete it if you wish.
     
  20. KoRnGtL15

    KoRnGtL15 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Posts:
    45
    Think I am reading to much into it. Thanks again and settled on said settings you advised.
     
  21. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Yep.

    Actually, all software it's in a way a sort of endless beta process.

    That's why they are constantly "patched" and upgraded in the process :D
     
  22. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,597
    Yes, I understand that.
    But I only knew about private betas, public betas, release candidates... this sounds like secret beta
    It's somewhat new to me... and reinforces the idea that the official release of Avira 2013 is a beta in disguise.
    I'm staying with v12 for now; and watching closely.
     
  23. AJNorth

    AJNorth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    California, USA

    With few exceptions, Softpedia have shown themselves to be quite reliable at alerting subscribers (free; sign-up required) to newly-updated versions of Avira Free A/V (and virtually all other software they list): http://www.softpedia.com/get/Antivirus/AntiVir-Personal-Edition.shtml .

    Avira's own site for downloading the latest version of their free A/V (as well as versions 12 and 10), along with full documentation, is: https://www.avira.com/en/download/product/avira-free-antivirus .
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2012
  24. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Nope it's not private, it's the same previous beta available on the betacenter :thumb:
     
  25. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,265
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    I have 2688 which I downloaded from their website, it is the official release.
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2012
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.