Avira 2013

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by darts, Sep 19, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,158
    I installed Avira 2013 Free with Custom Settings but didn't got the option to install the toolbar & there was no toolbar installed too.

    I dont know if Default Settings install the toolbar automatically or gives the option to install.

    Atleast here with custom settings no option to install the toolbar & no automatic toolbar install.
     
  2. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,118
    the best thing about Avira is that when you are buying a certain product there are no hidden costs . Take for instance ZoneAlarm and the worst of all AVG. You buy the premium version which costs a devil and then they say you have pay for the regular modules such as Family Safety or PC Tune Up or The Android AV ........
    Avira is :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: for me
     
  3. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,565
    I would assume so. I will probably wait until then myself. I have Avira Internet Security 2012 paid edition.
     
  4. Syobon

    Syobon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Posts:
    469
    Avira never had a good suite IMHO, the free version however is indisputably the best and worth the ads.
     
  5. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,565
    There are bug fixes on the way for 2013. I'd hold off before upgrading.
     
  6. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,597
    Agree.
    In fact, the same is valid for whatever product (cars included): better wait after the official release.
     
  7. Stefan Kurtzhals

    Stefan Kurtzhals AV Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Posts:
    702
    I am very unhappy about this, too. The APC detection rate is great, but the product integration of it is just the most minimal possible. Sigh! I was hoping to get more advanced APC elements out with a service pack later this year, but Win8 support got higher prio. Maybe I have to yell a bit more at people to get priorities changed :rolleyes:
     
  8. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    be careful about that yelling Stefan.;)
     
  9. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,597
    Is your new avatar a communist flag?
     
  10. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,265
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    I just want to report that I had Avira Premium 2013 for a couple of days with everything enabled except the mail guard, and it is really very light and fast. I usually have Avira on demand, but I think I'll keep this version resident as it doesn't affect my computer performance.
     
  11. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,597
    Did you experience some issues in your couple of days?
     
  12. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,737
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    o_O I'm sure you didn't mean to say that. This isn't a political discussion.
     
  13. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,265
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    No issues whatsoever. With past versions there was always a slight albeit noticeable slowdown with the web guard, with this version there is really no delay. Speed is my first concern, as detection has always been excellent with all Avira versions. Last but not least it seems to play well with Sandboxie (of course with other machines results may be different).
     
  14. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,265
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    You probably will, but when the time is right I would still prefer to uninstall manually the old version, clean up leftovers, and install the new version.
     
  15. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,737
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    I like your plan.:)
     
  16. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,995
    I used revo uninstaller (moderate level) to uninstall avira internet security 2012 and then tried the avira registry cleaner http://www.avira.com/en/download/product/avira-registrycleaner

    After scanning with the registry cleaner I saw it had detected many avira entries missed by revo (or possibly not detected by revo because of the moderate setting as opposed to advanced mode). There were also entries detected by the avira cleaner for bitdefender, eset, gdata and norton.
     
  17. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,850
    If you install then uninstall the toolbar, does the popup come back?
     
  18. RejZoR

    RejZoR Lurker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Idiotic decision which will steer off many users...

    Plus they seriously have to add automatic threats cleaning. It's 2012 for god sake and less knowledgeable users get confused even by a rather clear popup.
    I mean, i wouldn't install this on anyones computer because i'd be unsure if they'd click Remove button or not...
     
  19. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,265
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    I've always used the dedicated Avira registry cleaner after manually uninstalling Avira, and it has always found 3 unimportant entries leftover. In my experience The Avira uninstaller does a good job, but it's better to check with another tool if possible.
     
  20. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Yes, it's always a good practice to run the Avira reg cleaner after uninstalling the program and prior installing a new version. I even go further and run jv16PT's own reg cleaner before applying Avira's one ;)
     
  21. carat

    carat Guest

    Do you mean it's impossible to autoquarantine malware in Avira Free? :doubt:
     
  22. RejZoR

    RejZoR Lurker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Correct. You have to manually click Remove, otherwise the crap is just left there.
     
  23. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,597
    ditto
    You just have to follow some simple steps.
    From Avira's forums:
     
  24. Sealord

    Sealord Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Posts:
    46
    In Antivirus Premium installer, one of the first things it does is try to connect with Ask.com. Even if you decline the toolbar options, you still end up with 3 files signed by Ask.com in the program folder, one being the installer. No way to delete them permanently, they will turn up again when Avira updates.:thumbd:
     
  25. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,201
    That's not good at all.

    Can you say which files/how you determined that they were signed by Ask.com ?

    I never know or pay attention, unless I get an UAC prompt in Windows 7.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.