Avira 2012 BETA

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by MrGSM, Sep 8, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MrGSM

    MrGSM Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Posts:
    142
    Location:
    Morocco
  2. Coccinelle

    Coccinelle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Posts:
    211
    Location:
    France
    Are the Proactive work finaly on x64 bit?
     
  3. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    605
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    what are the improvements over version 11 ?
     
  4. pykko

    pykko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Posts:
    2,236
    Location:
    Romania...and walking to heaven
  5. pykko

    pykko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Posts:
    2,236
    Location:
    Romania...and walking to heaven
    The link MrGSM provided says it.
     
  6. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    There is no 11.
     
  7. johnyjohn

    johnyjohn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Posts:
    126
  8. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    605
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    sorry i mean avira 10 :D
     
  9. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,136
  10. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
  11. pykko

    pykko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Posts:
    2,236
    Location:
    Romania...and walking to heaven
    There aren't any other changes in Avira 2012, which is why I'm deeply disappointed.

    They've skipped version 11 and version 12 (2012) should have get something more than a new GUI and some minor improvements. :(
     
  12. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    814
    Looks more like a bunch of bug-fixes that should have been in a regular patch a long time ago rather than a new version.

    Which is too bad, since Avira is really my all-time favorite AV, at least version 8 and 9. Can't say I like the direction they are heading, though.
     
  13. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    No real improvements whatsoever ?

    It used to be a good product. Detection rates are still high, but the absence of a sandbox, behavior blocker or any other features than signatures/heuristics makes the product rather limited.

    It does seem that Avira is focusing on the money/marketing insteading of trying to improve their product. (Uniblue, Ask etc.)

    Other companies have done the same, and that strategy didn't work out for the customers.
     
  14. siberianwolf

    siberianwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Posts:
    516
    the old interface was much better.
     
  15. pykko

    pykko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Posts:
    2,236
    Location:
    Romania...and walking to heaven
    Fortunately Cloud scanning and improved HIPS will come, but not in this final version...

    Regarding the GUI, I like this better than version 10. You have rapid access to all functions and settings, which is great.
     
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2011
  16. iwod

    iwod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Posts:
    708
    I like the new GUI. But with no features, i think Avast will still be king of Free AV.
     
  17. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967
  18. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Does it still have custom install (at least in free version)?
     
  19. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Yes it does.
     
  20. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    o_O If I read this correctly I need to use Custom Instalation mode to get all the features? "The new release makes the installation of our products even easier and straight forward. We have kept only the most important things in the Express installation and placed all other features in the Custom installation mode." That doesn't sound right.:doubt:
     
  21. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,219
    Yes, one would expect a bit more considering they skipped a whole version, on the other hand I reached the conclusion that really to switch to another company is not going to improve my security.
     
  22. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    With your setup you are less dependent than some others on your Av, wouldn't you say?
     
  23. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,136
    does someone know the new feature of the free version?
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2011
  24. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,219
    True, any good AV would pass muster within my setup, and would not be entrusted to deal with new malware. But even if we consider one of the best players at the moment, ahem... Norton, how can you fully rely on it with its FPs and the fact that it doesn't catch everything? The point I'm trying to make is that any AV used alone is a kind of Russian roulette. I suppose I got attached to Avira after all these years!
     
  25. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    LOL. Yes well we all have our pets don't we? Time to spin the chamber, I mean go on line again.:D
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.