Avira 12

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by trjam, May 11, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    that is why they are called employees.;)
     
  2. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    here you go, the start.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,748
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Yes indeed including one who regularly posts here.
     
  4. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,545
    I just hope that these surprises are useful, practical things that add marked improvement to the protection, and not fluff just to look good, or overlap. If they're intent on making a sandbox it should be in the suite only, as I'll bet 90% of stand-alone AV users that care to use a sandbox use Sandboxie, or the one in Comodo D+.

    "Best of both worlds" sounds great to me, but too many times have I seen great, light products like Avira bloated down and ruined in the quest for "progress". I'm all about change if I feel it's true progression, and not regression. They've certainly earned the benefit of the doubt to me thus far though. I've got my fingers crossed.
     
  5. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,748
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Actually I would use the sandbox in the Av as I don't like th install a lot of products on my system and I don't use sanboxie.
     
  6. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    Avira dont do sandboxies.;) If you want one then Sandboxie is really the only one to consider, so why build your own into a suite. I told you, Avira is going a different route this time around. Some may think it is the same, until, they see the results it can accomplish with detection. Nuff said, NDA and all.
     
  7. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,748
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Ok until then. The proof is in the pudding as they say.:ninja:
     
  8. markusg

    markusg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Posts:
    248
    but sandboxing is the future.
    avira takes, as every time, longer to see it, but in 5 years, when all other companies have an own sandbox, avira will also start to develop such an feature.
    some years ago, i remember persons saying, avira do not neet proactive protection.
    now they have this modul, most time useless, but they have :p
     
  9. Kernelwars

    Kernelwars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Posts:
    2,155
    Location:
    TX
    now about the proactive thingy is it working I mean for the 64 bit folks:( I got a license till 2013 :mad: :mad:
     
  10. markusg

    markusg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Posts:
    248
    ok, its working, this is all, or is in this forum somebody get an detection with this modul?
    i tested it against some malware and never got an alert from proactive.
     
  11. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,282
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    Actually this is also how I feel nowadays, but if you are only relying on an AV to protect you, you should at least have some imaging software when things get out of control.
     
  12. Matthijs5nl

    Matthijs5nl Guest

    I am relying only on antivirus products to protect me. All I got is a system image which is around two years old (after laptop setup) and the hidden recovery partition setup by my laptop vendor. Also I got My Documents backed up on a USB stick. That's all. In my eyes it is still very well possible to rely only on antivirus products. In my eyes it is actually possibly to solely rely on any type of security product. There is simply no match to safe computing/internet habits.
     
  13. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,282
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    You are perfectly right, but if something feels wrong with my system I instantly restore an image (10-15 minutes tops) and that's it, I'm never going to find out for days on end what has happened, too time consuming, and not worth my precious time.
     
  14. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,666
    Thanks for the link. I just applied myself as well. :)
     
  15. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    - II -

    :D
     
  16. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,748
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    I use the one in Win 7 and my Dell has some proprietary stuff also.
     
  17. dawgg

    dawgg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Posts:
    818
    Where did Avira see the credit-report tools work?

    A bloat? Yes
    A suprise? Yes
    I suppose we have to settle for 1 out of 2 correct guesses (or information from a reliable source) :p

    Source: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=304959, http://www.avira.com/en/press-details/nid/523/news/id-watchdog-agreement-avira
     
  18. Kernelwars

    Kernelwars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Posts:
    2,155
    Location:
    TX
    lol good feature:D
     
  19. windowsdefender

    windowsdefender Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Posts:
    98
    I have signed up to be a beta tester and they do not have it (Avira 12) out yet.
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2011
  20. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
  21. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,589
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Did you get the mail regarding the same cz I received a mail from Avira regarding invitation for beta testing their product but it was not Avira v12 as you have specified its SP2 of Avira 10 itself

    regards,
    icr ;)
     
  22. windowsdefender

    windowsdefender Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Posts:
    98
    Most likely not.
     
  23. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    Avira 12 is not even ready yet. If you have registered and logged in, you will see downloads, and what is there is for Version 10. But some of these beta tests are also for in preperation of 12.
     
  24. windowsdefender

    windowsdefender Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Posts:
    98
    I just realised that, sorry:oops:
     
  25. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,666
    Yeah was wondering about that. I'm waiting for beta 12 to drop before I do anything with 10.

    Any ETA on when it will drop?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.