AVG virus scanner and Activity Monitor

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by fluffy, Jan 8, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fluffy

    fluffy Guest

    I just did a scan of my hard drive with Webroots Spy protection program and it found Activity Monitor version 2002 in my AVG virus detecter. I quarantined it and then deleted it.
    I reopened AVG and it automatically redid the update. I rescanned it was there again. I unistalled the program rescanned no problems. Downloaded the newest version reinstalled it and rescanned. The Activity Monitor was back. It is part of the program as far as I can tell.
    I didn't like what I read about this Activity monitor... Am I being overly cautious or is this really going on?
    Anybody heard of anything like this, all I've heard are good things about AVG
     
  2. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,331
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi fluffy,

    I have a very hard time believing AVG would hide a key-logger in their program. For a second opinion, go to our downloads section and download Spybot S&D.
    Make sure to update before you run it. This program should detect Activity Monitor as well.

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  3. controler

    controler Guest

    When I surfed on into Webroots site I find they also produce an activity monitering program. Isn't this IRONIC? ;)

    "Here’s how Webroot WinGuardian helps you control online activities

    Monitor Internet and computer activities including:

    web sites visited
    chat room sessions
    programs run
    games played
    screens viewed
    and more "
     
  4. TEL

    TEL Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    25
    I have AVG 6 installed but disabled & removed from start up.

    Still avgserv.exe launches at startup & runs as a process. No conflicts yet. So I leave it.

    Is this what is referred to?

    TEL
     
  5. *Ari*

    *Ari* Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Posts:
    431
    Location:
    Finland
    Tel

    I wouldn´t recommend to do that. AVG is supposed to run at start up for boot section.
    avgserv.exe is that component for autoupdate, I think that can be removed from startup.

    *Ari*
     
  6. TEL

    TEL Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    25
    Hi Krusty

    Disabled AVG. Using another AV.

    Are you sure avgserv.exe is the auto-update component?

    Thx

    TEL
     
  7. *Ari*

    *Ari* Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Posts:
    431
    Location:
    Finland
    Tel...

    I should have had more knowledge before I answered.....AVGSERV9.EXE stands NOT for autoupdating. It stands for Background monitoring for AVG anti-virus.

    apologizes for incorrect reply :oops:

    *Ari*
     
  8. TEL

    TEL Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    25
    Krusty et al :)

    Yes, it would be interesting to know more about what 'avgserv.exe' does.

    For example, does it collect system info to return to Grisoft? If you run Faber Toys on this .exe there is module info.

    Maybe some one knows?

    TEL
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.